We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquillity at his best”
Review of Castle Bijaipur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Bijaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Tranquillity at his best is the best description for this hotel in this peaceful lovely village. We stayed here as 1 night as part of a tour group. And this is one of the most memorable places we stayed. We had a spacious room at the third floor with wonderful views over the village at the back and courtyard on the front. We would have liked to stay a few days longer. Friendly staff, and you can ask for nearly any favor and they will make sure you will get it. The food was excellent, and the show was good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuwaPutaruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 253 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for 1 night here as part of Intrepid's Classic Rajasthan tour and it was like heaven! It felt like a castle .... looked like a castle too .... so relaxing!! Fabulous room on the 2nd floor, even the toilet had a view if you wanted to open the stained glass windows! Little alcoves with paintings, super large bathroom and bedroom with twin beds, large marble verandah outdoors with wide alcove seating and a swing seat .... bliss! Courtyard drink area and large pool (did have some bugs in it but the staff cleaned them off when asked). Poolside drink service and lots of other choices of things to do to relax or explore. Only complaint was that our wifi was really slow in the foyer because the reception guy was on the internet ALL the time, he was checking out trip advisor I could see the screen :( it was a relief when he occasionally went off his internet sites.... Also enjoyed their camp out night at Panngarh, the tents were very luxurous with carpets, western flushing toilets and good showers, all next to a beautiful lake abound with bird life.

Room Tip: 2nd floor for views, if you are on the 3rd floor you might find the steps a bit hard, but the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubaanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

From the flower strewn welcome to the best Baingan Bharta this is a great place to stay. Spacious rooms and bathrooms and all sorts of extras to keep one busy. I went on an extremely worthwhile bird watching walk with a local guide early one morning. The village itself has much to offer for photographers - local people ironing, tailoring etc on the streets. I bought some great scarves and fabrics at local shops. less hectic than buying in the crazy big cities!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNEES13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights between the Taj Lake Palace Udaipur and the Rambagh Palace Jaipur.The initial culture shook was soon overcome by the friendliness of the Maharaja and his daughter Princess Yukti.We soon became friendly with the tall unsmiling but ever attentive waiter Yogi.Dont forget to spend a night at the lake side tented camp.Tents with ensuites and very comfortable .This is a great place to spend a few days quite different to the cities.Highly recommended.My rating is based on a three/four star hotel.

Room Tip: good views from second floor.Ask for heater if cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whalemush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent... and why not?!? The coziest place we could have imagined 'this' side of Chittorgarh. The Maharajah and his d-in-law the Maharani are what the Dutch would call 'gezellig' -- friendly and welcoming, and somehow 'cozy', as is the whole property -- the rooms, the halls, the courtyards, the pool (although it was too cold for a dip when we were there), the gardens; but also the staff. There's room for improvement with regards to the menu; what they did serve tasted very good and the service was warm and professional. If we are ever in that area again, we will definitely book a room. Definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I was travelling with my mother and we stayed on the second floor with the blue tones in the common area which overlooked the pool area. This is a place where you can enjoy doing nothing as I did, otherwise you can do horseriding, etc. The walk into town is interesting bypassing pigs and cows down the narrow lanes.. the old town isn’t where you would expect to find a castle, however it did remind me of a small Kasbah as it had a lot of areas to look around at once inside. The air conditioning was great (both fan/ac) and beds comfortable. The optional extras were a bit expensive for India standards. I did try to hire a bike but unfortunately the bikes aren't new and the seats are rusted in so they cannot be adjusted. They do charge for WiFi and computer use and the computer screen is hard to view. Stick to the beers at the restaurant because other options are too hard or you might get flat soda water. I also stayed at their luxury tented camping site about 1hrs drive from the castle which I cannot fault and is run by the same people!!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor in the main building but be aware there are stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gl0balTraveller_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was the nicest place we stayed during our Intrepid tour. It was our one day for true rest and relaxation. Our room was lovely as was the pool area. The massage was really nice; however I suggest sticking with a body massage as the head massage wasn't what I thought it was going to be (lot of scratching and shaking vs. massaging). The food was buffet style (tasted good); therefore it wasn't very local. The food catered to more of an international crowd, not so much for folks looking for the real thing. Either way, the fire at night and the little band was amazing. Overall, I would definitely come back here in a heartbeat. You may want to ask for a room away from the main area. We had to walk through a family’s living room to get to our rooms which was slightly awkward.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingOYEster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
14.8 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
152 reviews
14.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
13.6 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
138 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
28 reviews
8.5 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Bijaipur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Bijaipur

Address: | Village Bijaipur, Chittaurgarh 312001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Chittaurgarh
Price Range: $69 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castle Bijaipur 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 350 year old Castle set amidst the Vindhyanchal hills. The Castle is run as a heritage hotel by the ruling family. The Castle enjoys a scenic location as it is surrounded by hills, lakes, forests and farms. Facilities include: Swimming Pool, Massage, Jeep Safari, Horse Rides, Yoga, Birdwatching, Tribal tours, Cultural evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Bijaipur India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing