We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Fort Begu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Begu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Certificate of Excellence
green bay
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with parents, bumpy ride forms chittor garh, excellent large room for parents, and extra bed for myself, fort begu is a old fort around 300 years old, the present owners are gradually bringing the place up to its former state with renovations to the old palace, the small lake palace that we visited for sunset has great potential, the walk from the fort is around 6km and is worth the walk through the villages, the food was excellent, the rooms were excellent, service was top notch, I hope in the future the other properties will come in line, a day visit to the Mahela temple ruins was worth the visit, the waterfalls were a mere trickle but swell up during the monsoons, the fort is worth a visit for a 1 or 2 day layoff from the hustle bustle of udaipur, Bundi and Kota are not too far away also

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papooatagra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
86
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I have discovered this hidden gem, secluded in a remote village, by chance. We were looking for a place not far from Chittaurgarh for a couple of nights and we came across this indescribable magic spot of Rajhastan that made our holiday. We were welcomed by Mr Singh and his son Ajay in their majestic fort. Mr Singh is the 24th Raj of Begu, an area of about 500 villages, former minister of agricolture, so we have been welcomed in an heritage hotel, inside an aristocratic family and looked after directly by them, like we were part of the Royal family ourselves. This is not a classic hotel, this is also a trip back in time that is recommended to history lovers and people that are looking for something that is not commercial. All the suite are maintained in the original style and restored brilliantly.
You'll get to visti the fort, the breathtaking step wells, the village, the ruins of another palace by a lake that is stunning and Arjun (a lovely and friendly employee that will look after you and help with everything) will take you for a walk in the village outside the fort's walls. Mr Sing and son will escort you in al the tours that are part of the experience and explain everything exceeding any expectations as they are part of history themselves. Remember you are not visiting a fort, you are stopping in one!
Our table was located carefully for breakfast, lunch and dinner, always in a different part of the fort, so that we could enjoy different views. The family is also very proud of the food that is serving, recipes are passed from generations and it is authentic Indian cuisine like you will never taste anywhere else. Mr Mac will look after your meals.
Mr Singh and his son will have a drink with you before and after meals. My husband is english and into history, so he really enjoyed the conversations about the dynasties, their traditions, etc... I am Italian and I am attracted also to religions and the spiritual side of India, and Mr Singh had a lot of stories to tell about that as well.
Do not expect any similarity to the other hotels where you have been in Rajasthan or anywhere else, this is an experience, authentic, do not expect the perfection of a modern hotel or a completely restored old building, some parts have been left untouched.
This stop made our holiday, we were enchanted.
Not to be missed!
(I never write reviews, I have little time, in fact we stopped in Fort Begu on November 2012, so it took me a long time, but Fort Begu deserves a good review, so better late then never!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, USA
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I were lucky enough to select Fort Begu for a two day stay. It is sightly off the most well-traveled route but that is part of the charm of the lodge. Everything about the Fort says "the management cares about the customer experience" and any request is met with "yes we can and yes we will". The evening of check in the owners showed us some of the local remains of the Fort area and then took us to an idyllic old palace on the lake. This palace on private land was the setting for our sundowners and what a place it was. Watching the sun go down and enjoying the company of fellow guests and the owners made for a memorable evening. Dinners are preceded by drinks in the courtyard followed by a splendid full course dinner of excellent quality. We hated to leave. One caveat: for those expecting five star luxury this amy not be your place. This fort is being renovated and is a work in progress. Don't let this deter you as the experience is memorable. Also, since most accommodations are accessible only be steep steps one should contact management to see if this is suitable for those with mobility problems.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountainmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My daughter and I were recommended to stay at Fort Begu and what a wonderful idea from the time we arrived to the time we left it was an experience we will remember and talk about for a long time. The family Mr Singh and his son Ajay treat guest as they are part of their Royal Family. The rooms are really amazing and very well planned. Just to sit in the room and take in all the history that is in them is truly an experience. The books that are supplied for you to read or look through are a very lovely thought so that you can get an insight into the history of India and the fort. The food is out of this world, for a person who does not have a strong pallet for the spices, in the end was looking forward to each meal as they had been prepared with so much care and having Mr Singh explain them to me gave me an understanding into Indian cuisine which I have grown to like very much. Ajay guided tour of the mausoleum and the beautiful lake palace where we watched the sun go down - a wonderful sight- , the step wells and walk around the town and the unveiling of some of their 300 year old paintings in the princes palace was just a treat to be hold. Fort Begu is a fort not to be missed in anyone visit to India.

Room Tip: Any room in the Fort would be an experience as they all have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Fort Begu is a rare and special place. If we're honest it was not quite what we were expecting - its not the super slick and polished experience offered by many of the grand heritage hotels. Instead Fort Begu provides a rare window into the history of a grand Indian family - authentic, intimate, generous and personal.

The enthusiasm of our hosts was inexhaustible - as if we were the first guests to ever visit. It was clearly important to everyone that we were enjoying the experience. Our room was amazing - utterly beautiful, full of fascinating books and complete with a huge glamorous bathroom. No wonder it has featured in magazine style sections.

The fort itself is one of a kind. Its not shiny and pristine but wears its age on its sleeve. Gently and sensitively it is emerging from a tough recent history - with its many gems being slowly uncovered. There are other sights to be discovered on day trips - temples, the family mausoleum and a beautiful lake palace. Well worth staying a few nights to allow time to go exploring.

Have to challenge an earlier reviewer that said that breakfast was 'nothing special'. You have to be kidding. Fort Begu completely undersells (and sorry everyone who follows this review - underprices) its food. By far the best we tasted in India. This is home cooking at its best - family recipes prepared with care and pride. Just ensure that you have a healthy appetite.

As others have said Fort Begu is not the Umaid Bawan or the Lake Palace - its much more - living and breathing, full of personality and charm

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My teenage son and I stayed at Fort Begu for 2 nights during our recent trip to Rajasthan.

Living in a 600 year old fort as guests of an Indian royal family was a very special experience and one which we will always remember with great affection. The fort is what I would describe as a mix of classy "shabby chic" and faded grandeur and therein lies the charm. The owners have made a conscious (and wise) decision to retain the property in its original state rather than go down the route of an expensive make-over; in this respect it is interesting to note that earlier in our trip we stayed at a similar style of property called Devigarh, near Udaipur. By contrast, Devigarh, former home of the Raj of Delwara has been fully restored with cutting edge interior design but, for us, it felt very impersonal as if the soul of the place had been lost in the process. At Fort Begu the juxtaposition of modern facility and old world charm is perfectly balanced.

There are five well appointed suites, each has a large bathroom with power shower and individual character; some have elaborate faded painted walls, others have mirror work and painted glass, all have amazing views over the surrounding area. We stayed in the Meg Niwas suite which consisted of four rooms and a terrace, including a small sitting room with a selection of carefully chosen books on Indian art and culture. The guest lounge/ dining room is stuffed with ancestral portraits and antique artefacts. There is plenty of scope for relaxation and a large garden.

However, the real magic of Fort Begu is the personal contact with the family. Mr Singh and his sons Maha and Ajay were excellent hosts and we wanted for nothing. As the 24th Raj of Begu (Begu estate encompasses around 500 villages), Mr Singh is extremely proud of his heritage and will regale you for hours with tales of his ancestors, his upbringing and his time as a minister in Indira Ghandi's government. We were captivated by his stories and found him very endearing. His account of his investiture at age 8 which took place on a caparisoned elephant inside the fort really brought the building alive and transported you back in time.

He is also a real "foodie" and places a lot of importance on ensuring that the guests are well fed (understatement)! Yoghurt comes from the family farm and the vegetables are organic from the estate garden. During our stay we got to sample a varied selection of dishes we had never tasted before and the food, ably served up by Mac (with his trademark white gloves and smile), was excellent. We were joined by the family for pre dinner drinks and canapés in the "coloured glass" courtyard and then dined separately in the garden against the backdrop of the palace which is lit up at night. There are in fact several dining options enabling you to enjoy a different aspect of the property (breakfast can be served in the dining room or on your terrace).

The support team is headed up by the very likeable Arjun; he has a good rapport with the guests and oozes enthusiasm (his favourite word is "capture", your cue to take a photo). For me, the village walk was a definite highlight. The local village is charmingly chaotic, with cows, pigs, villagers and merchants all vying for space. The many colourful market stalls, the old havelis and the characterful faces are a photographer's dream (tip - make sure you bring an extra large memory card). The villagers do not see many Western faces so during our walk we amassed quite a following of people who came out of their homes and shops to greet us. We visited some of the families in their houses and it was an enriching experience with many smiles exchanged on both sides. Just bear in mind that Arjun has many friends and he wants you to meet them all, so you may find (in the nicest possible way) that your village walk extends much longer than expected!

During our two night stay Ajay took us on two excursions which were included in the tariff. The first trip was to the Menaral complex of temples. These once belonged to the family but have since been claimed back by the government as they are over 1000 years old. There is a nature walk and waterfall adjacent. The second trip was to the family's summer palace in an unspoilt lake-side setting. Now ruined, we sat at the highest point in the tower and had tea and biscuits, soaking in the atmosphere and watching the sun come down; that felt very special.

Another plus is the trip to and from Begu. On the way you will see little cameos of rural life - herdsmen with their goats/ buffalos, women collecting water/ carrying firewood on their heads, the ox plough, the bullock cart, the tinsel festooned tractor, the roadside chai shop, haymaking etc. We were fortunate to see water drawn from the well by oxen, a sight which is seldom seen these days.

Coming to Fort Begu is a rare nostalgic trip back in time and I highly recommend that you incorporate a 2 night (minimum) stay into you Rajasthan itinerary. We came en route from Udaipur via Chittogarh fort (well worth a visit) and then travelled on to Bundi (2 hours) for one night before going to Jaipur. Like a previous reviewer we too like to try out new experiences and places but I have to say that we would not hesitate to return to Fort Begu and indeed look forward to our next visit. Thanks once again to the family and all the back room staff for their superb hospitality, please don't change a thing, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladylumpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,233 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you like to be teated as a personal guest of a Royal Family, do come here.The personal care and attention of Rawal Sawai Hari Singh, his son Ajay Raj Singh, their families and their devoted staff is truly outstanding. Brilliant, authentic food, served in the ancestral hall or on the lawn in front of the Palace; silver service standards (the food-and-beverage manager - or should I say the Chamberlain) Mac serving with white gloves; drinks in the evenings with the hosts in one of the courtyards... I don't know where to stop!
The visit to the ruined Rajgarh water Palace with sun-downers high up on a turret, a walking-tour with Arjun in the town of Begu and the step wells, still owned by the family and in pristine condition, are just some of the highlights to be seen.
The five units available for guests' accommodation are stunning, soft-renovated suites of rooms, retaining all the historic features, including bay-windows and murals. Not to forget: The state-of-the-art bathrooms! (the best I encountered in all of Rajasthan)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
10.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
24.3 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
123 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
21 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Kirti Plaza
Hotel Kirti Plaza
#5 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
29 reviews
14.5 mi away
Castle Bijaipur
Castle Bijaipur
#1 of 34 in Chittaurgarh
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Begu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Begu

Property: Fort Begu
Address: Raj Mahal, Chittaurgarh 312023, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fort Begu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Begu India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing