We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have a dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Begu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Begu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I have a dream”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived in Fort Begu and discovered a place like nowhere else in Rajasthan. Like our driver said when I asked him if he knew this place before : "it's the first time but here it's different, not commercial"!
Sincerely we fell in love with this palace, his maharajah and his family. It was a dream for one day. Their hospitality, their project and the hope to return once again there when the paintings will be renovated are a gift to our family. Thank you Mr Singh and thanks to your son and also for all the members of your team.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandre_stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
83
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
india
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

a great old fort and a quaint old palace is what one will experience here.the rooms have that old feel but with all modern ammenities.the usp of this place is the hospitality of the owners.one is realy pampered here.the food is great.sightseeingtrips into the village are interesting and the menal temple complex a must see.those interested in history a feel of an old fort and palace should not miss this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivektigershark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

It's hard to describe properly the fabulous time we had in Begu.

The property is just wonderful. Everything has been restored with taste. The room we had was fabulousely decorated. One of the best room I ever slept in.
The most important thing is the warm welcome we received from the Singh family. Ajay and his father, the maharaja were so nice. It was just amazing to listen to the Begu property history from the owner themselves. All the staff was great.
What else to say? The best hotel we ever slept in. I wish Begu and the Singh family best of luck with their restoring projects. We will be back for sure in a few years.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was simply perfect: a splendid hotel, luxurious but cosy rooms, and a warm welcome. Feels like home (but a wonderful home) ! We had a great time and wished we stayed longer. A big thanks to Ajay and Mr Singh, and we hope to be back soon to see all your projects came to life. Merci pour tout !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chifoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed at Fort Begu with a friend for 2 nights in February 2012. We were planning to visit Chittorgah and found this place on trip advisor. By the description and rating we realised this would be a very special place, the highlight of our trip. And so it was!
Although a bit further away from Chittorgah than we thought (about an hours drive), we were so happy to travel "the extra mile". Because "going the extra mile" is what our amazing hosts Mr. Singh and his son Ajay did for us!
When we arrived in the evening, the lit up Fort took our breath away. After a warm welcome and a tour around the slightly confusing building, we were served a drinks and snacks in the romantic court yard, where we heard the brief history of the family, fort and region. Immediately, we felt like part of the family. We were served a wonderful home cooked meal and then retired to our beautiful, authentic suites. Bed & bathroom are state of the art, but the rooms still have the feel of several hundreds of years ago, when they were built. Beautiful wall paintings and antique furniture catapulted us back in history. We slept and felt like princesses!
The next day we got an amazing breakfast outdoors, were handed roses by the landlord and couldn't help but feel "jinxed" by the magical atmosphere, the beautiful peacocks and parrots flying around and the remnants of ancient Rajastan splendor.
We soon changed our plans for the day and decided we needed to explore Fort Begu and the properties that belong to it. Ajay took us on a tour that ended with a fabulous little picnic at the very own lake palace ruins.
After visiting Chittorgah in the afternoon, we were welcomed with another fantastic home cooked meal, Mr. Singh's very own Rogan Josh. Yummy!
We took an evening stroll through the little village on the outside of the fort walls and were accompanied with some members of the lovely, friendly and very helpful staff.
The next morning, unfortunately we had to leave straight after another awesome breakfast, but decided that we will definitely have to return again soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montpellier
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a magic place. The Fort is exclusive, and you will be treated as VIP. The hotel is in fact a real Maharaja palace in the old Fort of Begu, partially transformed into 5 star hotel. You will be welcomed by the Raj himself and his son and the perfectly professional staff. The rooms are coming out of a romantic indian dream, while keeping authenticity and not turning into an indian Disneyworld. The place is a real enchantment. I strongly recommend the experience, out of the classical Jaipur-Udaipur-Jaisalmer tour in Rajasthan. At last, the food there is, by far, the best I had during our tour in Rajasthan (truly exceptional, with organic vegetables from the Fort garden!!!).

Room Tip: the raj will pick the best room for you and you can trust his taste, or they will give you the choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at Fort Begu for 3 nights inculding new years eve. As most of the reviewers we also spent a very special time at the Fort with the family taking personally care of everything. The suites are beautiful and the bathrooms are designed with great style and luxury. Mr. Singh and his son Ajay did every effort to prepare an unforgettable new years eve with musicians from Bundi, champagne and chocolate cake at 12 o'clock with even some fireworks - only for the 4 of us! Unforgettable also our walk trough the village with "captain" Arjun, getting in contact with a lot of village people. Also the visits of the fields and villages in the area and last but not least the visit of the lake with the old summer palace, a magical place. After 3 days we felt like being part of the family. We will remember our visit as one of the best highlights of our tour through Rajasthan, as a very personal and familiar experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phototravellerbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
10.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
24.3 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
118 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
19 reviews
14.5 mi away
Castle Bijaipur
Castle Bijaipur
#1 of 31 in Chittaurgarh
234 reviews
15.4 mi away
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Begu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Begu

Property: Fort Begu
Address: Raj Mahal, Chittaurgarh 312023, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Begu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Begu India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing