We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Fort. Wonderful Welcome. Fabulous Food”
Review of Fort Begu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Begu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Biot, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fort. Wonderful Welcome. Fabulous Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

At Fort Begu you're living in the Arabian Nights. 5 star comfort, 5 stunning romantic rooms, big beds, marble bathrooms. Our room in à turret had original Rajasthani mirror panels. No TV in the rooms but they're so romantic you won't want tyo watch CNN. Every where you look is another beautiful scene. Peacocks, especially in thé evenings. Food is great and every meal was served on a different stunning terrace or court yard. The Begu Family, Father and sons Maha and Ajay are perfect hosts: fun, charming and looked after us like treasured friends. The delightful Arjun is always there to help. He took us on a 2 hour village walk. this is a treat not to be missel. Arjun knows every one and we were greeted with smiles. The family's temples and ruined lake palace are fascinating. Visit the 11th century temples at Mahanal, with beautiful carvings (some erotic). Begu is 30 minutes from Chittorgarh with thé biggest fort in Asia and 2 hours from thé beautiful lake city of Udaipur. To really appreciate Fort Begu do what we did and spend at least 3 nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and all are different. Some have huge domes. All have their own private te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
85
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I am sharing my experience as an Indian traveler who has immense respect for the Rajputs of Mewar. Rawat Sawai Hari Singh was coronated at an early age of 8 due to circumstances. He has done well to retain this magnificent proper and given an opportunity to the current generation to have a glance at history. This visit reminded me of a period some 4 decades back when a similar attention was given to guests by my grandparents. I will only request Indian travelers to be aware of the fact that Rawat Sawai Hari Singhji is royal blood , He goes out of the way to take care of his guests but that in no way must be mistaken as a business gesture. That is his culture . If he confirms your reservation at the hotel , you will not be a client but a guest. This stay is not comparable to a hotel stay , it is on a different plane. If you are a keen student of Indian History , you will do well to visit Fort Begu This shall be an experience of a life time.. I went to stay here because I had pilgrimage in my mind and I have come back enlightened.

Room Tip: Talk to Kunwar Ajay Pratap . Tell him about yourself . He will be more than happy to guide you in ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were enchanted with Fort Begu. World travelers for close to 40 years, the time we spent here ranks as one of our peak travel experiences. If you are interested in stepping into a living history book, Ft Begu is for you. So far the Singhs have renovated 5 rooms with taste and sensitivity, modernizing with an eye to preserving the feel of the 400 year old palace inside a fort. Our room, with its white pillars, mirrored inlay frescoes and big comfortable bed, was delightful, although we did not spend much time there (by choice). Mr. Singh and his son Ajay are charming and thoughtful hosts who are delighted to spend time personally providing tours of the fort, nearby village and summer water palace, as well as an 11th c temple complex. This is a corner of rural Rajasthan untouched by mass tourism, where shopkeepers invite you into their homes and no children beg for pens or candies. The food is fantastic, mostly organic and based on secret family recipes artfully prepared by Mrs. Singh, with breakfast served in a different location to provide a special view each morning. Imagine being waited on at meals by a Maharajah..."let me find you a succulent morsel...!" Peacocks roam the extensive grounds,with its lovely gardens full of scented roses. The staff, headed by the delightful Arjun, is attentive and prompt to respond to any request, and escorted us up the steep stairs to our room every night.
Mind you, this is not a modern 5 star hotel, but the experiences we had here were so memorable that we still can't stop talking about it. If you want more than just another hotel, stay at least 2 nights in Fort Begu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

If you are looking for a modern five-star hotel with all attendant facilities, then this is not the place for you (there is no TV in the rooms, but there are lots of books that one can read by requesting the owners). Fort Begu gives one an experience of staying amidst history - where the facilities have been adapted to modern needs but have not been converted to a modern hotel. The rooms retain the old world charm - paintings on the walls, glass inlaid in the walls et al. The rooms are airconditioned, but since we visited during the winter, they were not used. The toilets are modern and clean. However, the most fascinating thing about Fort Begu is the hospitality. The owner, Mr Singh, and his son Ajay really go out of the way to make the guests comfortable. We were almost embarassed at the constant care and attention that they bestowed on us, and the energy they displayed in showing us around their properties (including the Rajgarh Fort). The food during lunch and dinner were excellent examples of Rajasthani cuisine and one must complement Mrs. Singh for the quality and the tasty fare. Another thing we enjoyed was the evening bonfire with never-ending snacks accompanying the drinks (the drinks are naturally charged extra - all other food were included in the package rates). However, this review will not be complete without mentioning Arjun, the Bell Captain. From the time he met our car in the village and guided us to the Fort, he and his men seemed to be always at hand to look after our needs. What was a real and pleasant surprise was when we were taken by the Singhs to visit Rajharh Fort, an old and uninhabited property belonging to the same owners. When we reached, Arjun and his men were already there, having carried tables, chairs and refreshments from Fort Begu in a car ahead of ours. Really fantastic and all with smiling faces !

We have stayed in many modern star hotels in many parts of the world (including India), but this was an experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Ask for Sheesh Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piyalimajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed one night in this wonderful and tastefully restored fort. The hospitality of Mr. Singh and his son was impressive and we enjoyed the trips to the family's cenotaphs, temples, and especially their mesmerizing water palace. We were the only guests at the time and since we were staying only one night the program was a bit overloaded perhaps and the attention we received at times slightly overwhelming. In all, however, a very memorable and enjoyable stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nucool24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is a wonderful and fascinating place to stay...and turned out to be one of the more memorable stops of our month-long trip through Rajasthan. We arrived at this beautiful old fort for lunch and were amazed at the spread laid out for the two of us. My partner was especially impressed with one of the dishes, a meat curry, which he quickly announced was the curry of the trip for him! But it's not just the food that's wonderful...the hospitality is incredible. We learnt so much from Mr Singh and Ajay...about their family history, the history of the fort and their big plans for its future. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip out to the family temple and lake, and it was fun wandering through the town with a friendly member of their staff. That evening, we ate another fabulous meal in a beautiful courtyard setting and enjoyed the comapny of our hosts. And as for our room...it was probably the most beautiful we have stayed in anywhere. I felt very sad as we drove away the next morning, one night just wasn't enough.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a special and unique quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

An amazing experience. I loved the property and the room where I stayed. The charming Mr. Singh and his son Ajay are extremely hospitable hosts who pay great attention to detail. The overall ambience of the hotel is beautiful. There were fresh roses in the room. Peacocks roamed the garden. The food was delicious and organic. We were even provided a memorable tour of the family's temples and lake. A quality experience worth every penny!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
10.0 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
24.3 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
121 reviews
27.1 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
20 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Kirti Plaza
Hotel Kirti Plaza
#5 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
29 reviews
25.8 mi away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#6 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Begu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Begu

Property: Fort Begu
Address: Raj Mahal, Chittaurgarh 312023, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fort Begu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Begu India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing