We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware while u use credit card here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pratap Palace
Ranked #9 of 17 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Ankleswar
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beware while u use credit card here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had lunch at the place on 24th Oct. Paid with credit card. Later on was shocked to learn that they have swiped an added Rs18000 along with the actual Rs1800. Was assured by the owner on phone that the mistake was inadvertant and corrective actions would be taken by next two working days. It's been 9 days since then and even after multiple phone calls and verbal assurances the money is yet to be refunded!!!!! Horrific experience. Still waiting for my money.
As for the property -well maintained, good landscaping, food OK, buffet costing Rs 300 per head not worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubendada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    29
    15
    23
See reviews for
32
29
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelkheim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is in comparatively good shape and staff is very friendly. Food is also quite good and the garden is beautiful for lunch or dinner. The rooms have average Indian standard, but they are clean. We had trouble with warm water at 6 in the morning. As they are not using any carpets the noises from other hotel guests, doors, water running, etc are heard at all times. The horn of passing trains on the nearby track can only be survived with solid ear plugs.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToBoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chittaurgarh hotels

Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I stayed in the Pratap Palace for three nights in October 2011. The rooms were spacious and very clean, a pleasant garden to have breakfast and a beer in the evening and the food was good.
But, what made this place excellent, was the friendly and helpful staff.
It is close to the railway track, however, I liked the haunting sound of the trains as they passed through the town.
Good value and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Based on the reviews here at Tripadvisor, I booked this property for a night at Chittorgarh. The location of this property is such that its easily found and is accessible, but very close to the railway tracks and station. This makes it susceptible to noise pollution from the passing trains, engines and grunting locos. The room was gloomy and nothing to write about. Breakfast was included in our bookings, but on asking the options we were told that they could only provide Aloo Paranthas. We ordered Tea and Aloo Paranthas, and got served with Toast and Butter. Paranthas arrived after 45 mins and despite reminders, tea was not served even after waiting for 60 mins. No one bothered to listen to our needs.

Room Tip: Next to railways, so no tip might be enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipinsawhney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I arrived in Chittaurgarh at 4.30 in the morning and got a room here for half the normal rate. A bit much for only a few hours sleep but on the weight of it, probably worthwhile.
The room was fine - bit of noise from the railway, but nothing too bad; fairly clean; bathroom fine. The place doesn't look as fresh as the photos might suggest but if all you're after is a bed then this is quite reasonable.
As far as I could tell there wasn't a huge amount going on in Chittaurgarh so I wouldn't worry about being away from "the action". It's a small place anyway, easily navigable by auto-rickshaw.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 369 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

Hotel Pratap Palace is located near the railway station so it is always noisy. It is well past its heyday and well in need of a major renovation. It is not close to any restaurants or shops so you are forced to eat at their fairly high priced restaurant. The Hotel is used by large tourists groups passing through while visiting the Chittorgarh fort on a flyby tour, mainly as a lunch stop. There are few guests who stay more than one day. The staff while trying to be helpful are smothering in number and their inability to allow people to make decisions without hovering over them. There is no lift. Rooms on the second and third floors therefore require trundling up several flights of stairs.
The most interesting thing about the hotel are the number of historical photographs and lithographs around the corridors and the owner's dusty collection of valve radios.
The floors though said to be tiled in local marble, are worn and deeply scored. There are many holes in the corridor ceilings and lizards lurk around attempting to get into your room if they are not already there!
The rooms on the top floor have small window alcoves with cushions and a hazy view of the immense fort. The room is somewhat cramped with open style hanging places for your clothes. The bathroom is dark and also cramped. Although hot water was supposed to be readily available, it often took about a half hour to flow and Rajasthan being a desert area we felt guily having to waste buckets of water before getting the hot water. The chrome on the bathroom fittings were all rusted. The room does at a pinch if you are only staying one night.
Meals are served inside a large dining room (used by the tour groups) on the verandah or on the lawns. The latter is the best place to have breakfast while watching squirrels, hoopooe and the 7 sister birds flitting around looking for grubs and surrounded by beautiful bouganvilla.
Breakfast is somewhat meagre with just two slices of toast and butter or jam. You can get poached eggs. Lunch (a la carte) is expensive by Indian standards but of good quality. There is also a fixed priced buffet when the trour groups are in town.
The hotel cannot provide a decent map of the town and has limited information on what to see other than the fort. Information on the sound light show which appears to be in English only at the whim of the curator is essential, as tourists come just to see the fort and the sound and light show in English is almost a necessity if the town wishes to attract more tourists.
If you have a car and driver there is limited parking outside the hotel alongside the railway line. We had a great driver Kan Singh who was recommended to us and we are in turn, very happy to recommend him. Contact us for further details.
The only reason we stayed at this hotel was because the better hotels (including its sister hotel - Castle Bijaipur) were 40km away and were too far to drive back to see the Sound and Light Show - which in the end did not eventuate!

Room Tip: View the rooms before you make a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasputin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was great value for money. Great location, just couple of kms away from the fort as well as the railway station. It is actually at the junction of all the main roads. We stayed in Super Deluxe room. The rooms were big, beds were clean and toilets were clean as well. For 1500/- we got the room as well as breakfast included. They have a small parking so if you are traveling by car, you needn't worry about parking it. There is an attached restaurant by name Shakti. As compared to the hotel tariff we found the food prices slightly on the higher side.Not that that was a deal breaker, just a thought that crossed my mind when I looked at their menu card the first time. The staff was courteous esp Shailendra. I have my thumbs up for this hotel. We stayed here twice and would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
3.8 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
25.5 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
21.7 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
11.5 mi away
Castle Bijaipur
Castle Bijaipur
#1 of 31 in Chittaurgarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pratap Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pratap Palace

Property: Hotel Pratap Palace
Address: Near Head Post Office, Chittaurgarh 312001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pratap Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pratap Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pratap Palace India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing