We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lives up to its ranking!"”
Review of Dev Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dev Niwas
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bundi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

When we turned the corner towards Dev Niwas in the backstreets of Bundi I must say I was beginning to have second thoughts.However, when you enter the hotel gates it is just like a Palace hidden away! All of the rooms surround a beautiful central courtyard and the room we stayed in was just beautiful,it was spacious,had a lovely bathroom (although watch your head on the way in!) and although the bed was a bit hard it was more than an adequate size. The location of the Hotel is perfect,just far enough away to avoid the passing traffic and the sound of the motorbikes but close enough to walk into the town to visit the blizzars and shops. The piece de resistance was the rooftop restaurant!, I can truley say that during our 3 week tour of Rajasthan this resteraunt was probably the best. It's Indian food was excellent and when I requested just pasta with olive oil ( as a break from spices) the chef was only to pleased to meet my needs! The prices were excellent value and we could have a meal,drink and dessert for about 900 INR for two people - the equivalent of nine pounds! The staff were extremely friendly especially the gentleman who served us dinner everyday,he really was a true professional. The young men who worked in the a Hotel were always friendly and smiling and the Hotel manager was really helpful and seemed like a nice guy.All in all it was one of our favourite stays in Rajastan and I would definitely reccomend it!

Room Tip: All rooms are slightly different, ask for a choice of two if possible for personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Englishtruereview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 351 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Last Saturday we just packed our bags and hit the roads and decided to go to Bundi. We had spoken to another hotel however after over 5 hours of driving when reached, we did not like what we saw and then on checking TA Mobile app saw Dev Niwas. Since it was already 6 in the evening we thought of taking a chance and checking out Dev Niwas and what a wise decision that was.

We checked into the deluxe category Room and took Room no. 9 and it was a really nice and spacious. There was a nice little alcove to sit and the bed and a dressing area and a big bathroom. Bundi is a very small rural town and this hotel is heritage yet has some essential modern amenities like the Air con & Hot water etc.

The greatest part is the view from Dev Niwas rooftop dining area and terrace. You can see the gorgeous fort and the quaint town in all its glory. The food is to die for and the service amazing. Thumbs up to Dev Niwas for making it a grrt weekend for us!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

very well run and well positioned in the heart of Bundi, the roof top eating is great with a wonderful view of the fort, our room was really pleasant and comfortable and travelling alone as a mother with two daughters we felt very safe and well cared for, would definitely go back, Bundi itself is a very unique experience

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jomorising61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

we arrived to bundi from udaipur where we stayed at the trident for about the same room rate as dev niwas. considering it was low season, the place does not offer good value for money: functional rooms but nothing special, no tv (even thought it should have been provided as per the booking on booking.com), not particularly clean and simple/uninspiring food. the positives are location and view from the terrace.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snooksnmamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A restored haveli in the heart of Bundi old city, the rooms are all very well set out and the AC is a totaly necessity in the hot season! Staff was down to skeleton as it was the offseason but they were all so very friendly and helpful. A few different rooms to choose from, family sizes, singles and large doubles. Every room has it own individual charm, bathrooms are clean and fresh and the restaurant serves some of the best food in Bundi

Room Tip: Many choices of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsharmawinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little bit hard to find (up a side street) but well worth it. The rooms are cheap, but clean and comfortable. There is free wifi available in the foyer. The roof top restaurant has great food at a good price, plus it has an uninterrupted view of the palace. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke_streety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bundi's a small town with narrow streets and getting your car into the old city is a challenge. But the Dev Niwas has a little golf cart like vehicle thet gets you there in less than five minutes. The minute you step into the courtyard you enter a sheltered space that's absolutely peaceful. The reception area is charming and the check in is very smooth.

We stayed in the suites on the first floor which are very spacious, well airconditioned, have lovely stained glass windows and enormous bathrooms. The only thing to watch out for are the low doorways to the bathrooms!

The view from the rooftop and the covered cafe is worth a million bucks. The Bundi fort is lit up every evening and it looks fabulous. Mangilal, the cook, conjures a great meal. The Rajasthani food is obviously very good but I was surprised at the excellent french fries and burger.

You can't go wrong with the Dev Niwas.

Room Tip: The suites are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajn0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#2 of 13 in Bundi
459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
0.3 mi away
Kasera Heritage View
Kasera Heritage View
#4 of 13 in Bundi
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haveli Taragarh Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dev Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dev Niwas

Address: Opp Purani Kotwali | Sadar Bazar, Bundi 323001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bundi
Price Range: $19 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of Sadar Bazaar opposite the Purani Kotwali. There are 21 rooms in three categories (Standard, Deluxe and Suite), all with attached bathrooms and modern amenities. There is a rooftop restaurant serving indian cuisine with a few continental dishes. The restaurant gives a panoramic view of the fort and palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dev Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing