We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dev Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dev Niwas
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bundi
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our driver dropped us off at the entrance to the fort and the hotel sent a little 'golf cart' to collect us and the baggage. The hotel is within walking distance so we opted to walk down the busy street and were surrounded by puppies, cows, children and bikes. The hotel is just down a side street and has a lovely feel when you enter a large open courtyard surrounded by areas with comfortable shaded seating. The rooms are upstairs. Our rooms were large, airy, comfortable and super clean. Big, clean bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and good hot showers throughout the day. There is a restaurant on the roof which affords one really good views of the fort and other rooftop activity. We had dinner there both nights of our stay and the food was delicious and the service superb. Dev Niwas is managed by a perfectionist and he was always on hand to ensure that we were well taken care of. Thank you! Only complaint would be the poor wifi reception at the time of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BagLadyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    92
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
142
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

There is no parking directly outside this Dev Niwas but one parks in the Palace car park and are met by a golf cart and transported to the hotel only 5 minutes walk away. The haveli is built around a courtyard which gives one total privacy from the hustle and bustle of the Old Town. The establishment is run by a perfectionist manager and consequently everything is run to perfection. Large clean rooms with lovely bathrooms, excellent restaurant with the best view of the Palace & Fort in town. This is a real value for money haveli.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar but there are suites if one wants to upgrade further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennopsrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. Enjoyed the food in the restaurant and what an amazing view of the palace. Staff were very helpful. Would recommend a stay in Bundi and would recommend staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazdoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

A really lovely haveli. Climbing some steps off the bustle of the main thoroughfare of Bundi one emerges into a wonderful courtyard. A beautifully maintained and painted haveli with a good little restaurant. The rooms are large and airy and the service is friendly and efficient. Wi fi access is not always good but you cannot have everything. It is only a short uphill walk to reach the fort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity-Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed one night here; it is owned by the people who own our Udaipur hotel (Jagat Niwas). This place is only a couple of years old and is very pleasant.

We stayed in a "deluxe" room which was spacious, A/C, nice clean bathroom with soaps & shampoo. Service was great, food was good. There is a fabulous view of the fort & palace from the dining room here.

Definitely recommended, especially considering we got a great deal after bargaining (the night of).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ev94305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've stayyed in Bundi in December 2012 when it's quite cold in the morning.Therefore nice hotel was important and this one was indeed!
Very nice rooms, very pleasant service, perfectly located close to town centre!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, clean sheets, nice decoration, quiet atmosphere, good food, fantastisch view, simply a wonderful place with the most charming and caring manager we met in India.
Just go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11mehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#3 of 11 in Bundi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.3 mi away
Nawal Sagar Palace
Nawal Sagar Palace
#10 of 11 in Bundi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kasera Heritage View
Kasera Heritage View
#4 of 11 in Bundi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dev Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dev Niwas

Property: Dev Niwas
Address: Opp Purani Kotwali | Sadar Bazar, Bundi 323001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bundi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bundi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of Sadar Bazaar opposite the Purani Kotwali. There are 21 rooms in three categories (Standard, Deluxe and Suite), all with attached bathrooms and modern amenities. There is a rooftop restaurant serving indian cuisine with a few continental dishes. The restaurant gives a panoramic view of the fort and palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dev Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing