We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”
Review of Dev Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dev Niwas
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bundi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a terrific hotel. Gorgeous lobby. Wonderfully decorated - simple but very authentic feeling. Raj is a great manager. Very gracious. The room was very clean and simple little touches that are so appreciated - like a bath mat for slippery tile floors. I found the food on the roof top restaurant a bit toned down but the view is great. THis hotel was our favourite in Rajhastan.
We were so sorry we hadn't booked their sister hotel in Udaipur - Jag Nevas. We toured the court yard there and tried hard to get a room but it was booked solid.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mayo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 330 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights (one day) in Bundi, and found this lovely haveli through TripAdvisor. We could have stayed longer - it's a relaxed town and haveli! The haveli only opened in Nov 2011, so is not yet in Lonely Planet. It's been beautifully restored with smart decor and furnishings. The "standard" room is very good value, although we decided to splash out on a suite, which in the end was not such good value. The view of the old palace from the rooftop restaurant is brilliant. Food is good too, although a bit westernised. Friendly staff ++, esp the manager Rajdev.
I talked to him about the bad experience a previous reviewer had with an arranged car hire. He said the reviewer had asked for a very cheap deal, which is what I guess they got. We arranged the same journey, to Udaipur, at standard price (not cheap!) and we had a great driver with no problems. We spent hours en route wandering round Chittogarh and there was no sense of time pressure from the driver. So, we were happy.
We'd recommend this haveli to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rolandsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed two nights at Dev Nivas in late November. It was defintely one of the two best accomodation we had on our trip. Just to give You a few of the many aspects which make Dev Nivas one of our favorites:

- Dev Nivas is very carefully restored old haveli from the 17th century (if I remenber correctly). Big courtyard. Perfect location (everything in Bundi is in a walking distance). Small side street (rooms towards the street have a very little noise, but that's India (and i'ts realy calm during the night), if You like to stay in the middle of the city and not in hotel at the ouside which is designed for tourgroups.
- They have three kinds of rooms. Standard with now aircon, Deluxe with aircon and Suites. The last are of different sizes and floor plans. We stayed (if I remember correctly) in No. 8 the biggest suite, which ist very, very nice. So we suggest to spent the little money more, especially if You don't go to India every year and if You want to take some rest during touring India. Dev Nivas is the right place for this. The room was very clean. You will get real linen. That's very comfy compared to other Indian hotels.
- The view from the big rooftop terrace. It's perfect. From most other hotels in Bundi You only see one side of the palace. From this terrace You see two sides and all the Indian way of living on the roofs of the houses around. Reserve long times for breakfast, dinner and sundowner.
- The menu is international (a liitle bit limited f.e. concerning the Indian dishes). All dishes we have tasted wonderful. We looked at the kitchen. It is very clean. And You will get nice porcelain and heavy cutlery. That's a real difference to other Indian (middleclass) hotels.
- And last but not least: The staff is very friendly and service orientated. And that means really everybody from the luggage boy, the waiter, the cook to the manager. (Can't remember the name, the name at the prompt emails was Rajdev Singh). We had long and interesting talks with the manager. He invited us for a piece of his birthday dessert etc. And of cause he manages the hotel in a really good way.). At the last day of Havali we had a lot of fun with all the staff with throwing fireworks. They shared all the things they have.

Bundi itself is a small town. Enough for one full day of sightseeing or two relaxing days. It's like Radjastan en miniature. Everything is there: A beautiful palace (only a small part is open for the public, but wonderful paintings), a big fort (only ruins, but so many things to discover), a step wells like a cathedral, a big market and so on and so on. And we were told many sights in the country side. It's not on the main tourist circle of Radjasthan. So enjoy.

We took a Bundi Tour with Mr. Kukki (his email You find at Lonely Planet, his 'office' is on the road to the palace entrance). Very nice experience (and very affordable).

Our summary. Don't miss Bundi and ... dont't miss Dev Nivas. Both will be one of Your tour highlights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TundB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I loved Bundi and the Dev Niwas is the perfect place to stay.

It's well located, just down the hill from the Palace. The open courtyard is an oasis and breakfast on the rooftop is a treat. Rooms are clean and comfi. Price-wise, I found the Dev Niwas to be an excellent value.

Other than some problems with the wifi, I had a great stay.

David W.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Amazing place, worth every penny and more. Great location, great staff! Restaurant on the roof top is ok too. This place is very close to palace and next to nice little laine, with own privasy though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sampo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

I had a four night stray at this lovely guest house. The room we clean and quiet. The staff were really friendly and the food was good. The service at times was a little slow, although quite in keeping with the pace in Bundi. Only a couple of little issues with oversleeping staff when we went for breakfast at 8am the chef/waiter was asleep on the floor. He quickly woke up and greeted us with smile so it wasn't an issue at all.

The only negative thing was when we took a taxi onto Udaipur which was booked through the guest house. The taxi was not road worthy and was falling apart. The driver kept opening the door when travelling at 80 mph to spit his pan out and nearly driving into oncoming traffic. He asked if we wanted to stop for food which we declined but we ended stopping anyway. My partner went to the toilet and we then had to wait why the driver ate a meal and drank chai. Not a major problem but when he finished the restaurant owner told us we had to pay the bill although we didn't eat anything. When I questioned the driver he suddenly forgot how to speak English. After reluctantly paying his food bill and getting in the car he went back into the restaurant to fill up his water bottle and seemed to receive a payment from the restaurant owner that charged us an inflated price for the drivers meal. As if that wasnt enough the driver demanded more money from us when he dropped us off although we had already agreed a price with the guest house. by this time the driver managed to remembered how to speak English. Not the sort of service I would have expected from a taxi booked via the Niwas group.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickersBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I fell in love with Bundi at first sight and finding Dev Niwas just added to the place. Our driver contacted the hotel on arrival into town and was advised to park at the Fort where a golf cart was waiting to transfer us to the hotel, the streets are too narrow for cars. The entrance is in a tiny side street, once inside it opens into the glorious courtyard of this beautiful, newly renovated hotel. We booked a double deluxe room and were rewarded with an immaculate, large room on one of the upper floors, for us it was worth paying the extra for the space. It has been restored to cater for travellers needs but they have retained so many original features.
The view from the roof top is amazing, make sure you are there to take in the view at sunset, its peaceful and atmospheric. The staff are attentive and the service in the restaurant is very good as is the food. I cannot think of a single negative and it provided everything we could want, my only regret is that we only had one night when I could quite happily have stayed for a few days. This is the sister hotel of Jagat Niwas in Udaipur.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was worth the extra cost for us, large bathroom, small seating area and plenty of sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#2 of 12 in Bundi
443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.3 mi away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kasera Heritage View
Kasera Heritage View
#4 of 12 in Bundi
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
0.8 mi away
Ishwari Niwas Palace
Ishwari Niwas Palace
#5 of 12 in Bundi
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dev Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dev Niwas

Address: Opp Purani Kotwali | Sadar Bazar, Bundi 323001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bundi
Price Range: $17 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the middle of Sadar Bazaar opposite the Purani Kotwali. There are 21 rooms in three categories (Standard, Deluxe and Suite), all with attached bathrooms and modern amenities. There is a rooftop restaurant serving indian cuisine with a few continental dishes. The restaurant gives a panoramic view of the fort and palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Dev Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing