We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““good place to stay a couple of nights””
Review of Rajmahal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rajmahal
Ranked #13 of 23 Bundi B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
““good place to stay a couple of nights””
Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week on double room in 3rd floor. Staffs were very kind (2 brothers) and they cooked breakfast everyday for guests. I think value per price is excellent. Guest lounge in second floor is very clean and nice. I had coffee and watch TV every night with other guests and staffs. Thank you for wonderful stay :)
They also helped in planning for rest of my trip!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shin-Rohit-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    12
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
19
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I WAS THERE ! That's a so nice guest house to stay! People are awesome, the room are clean and quiet, the rooftop is perfect for your yoga session in the early morning. I got wonderful time with all the family and friends there: ice cream near the lac, motorbike to discover the market, dinner on the couch having wonderful Thali!!! the place to be!! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meli j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Arrived late at night wondering where on earth we were. However from the time we got up the next day we couldn't fault this guesthouse. A family run business headed up by the two sons. The room was the best we had in India, large clean, hot water, western toilet. Window seat. The sons spent time with us working out the best use of our 24 hours in Bundi and helped book our onward travel without asking for loads of commission.
The food was excellent, cooked by the mother. We diddn't expect so much from a budget hotel and would reccomend it to anyone. We were just dissapointed we couldn't stay longer

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Rajmahal is an affordable, well-located, reasonably comfortable place to stay in a small town, complete with sleepy, small-town feel. It could be better if its owners were motivated to spend an extra 1-2 hours/day working on it. But it could be much worse if they were more motivated to squeeze the most profit out of it - it's got a homey, true "guest-house" vibe. The rooms (we stayed in two, as the first room was too hot without AC) were basic but reasonably clean, and the menu was quite limited but what they did serve was very very tasty. (The menu is more important here than in larger cities because, especially during the tourist low season, there aren't that many dedicated restaurants to choose from.) As an important added bonus, the matron was happy to let me join in the cooking. Overall, a good choice. A little more attention to detail (slightly tidier, consistent wifi signal, expanded menu) and it could be great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We arrived to Rajmahal in the night after a long train trip. Just entering the place we found to young guys - the manager brothers- laying down in a filthy couch watching TV. They showed us our rooms.... It was absolutely dirty, the bed, the bathroom, the walls, there were spider webs in the walls, hairs in the bed, stains in the bed covers, dust everywhere: really bad.

When I pointed this out, they said "well this is India, that is the way it is" (!!!). We are budget travelers, we traveled for 3 months in India! The only thing we expect for a guesthouse is to be clean, so we said we couldn't stay there, the guy was upset and said that he had "a lot" of guests who enjoyed staying with them even if those conditions. I wished them luck and RAN out of there to the guesthouse just in front, (Shiva) who was in fact much much much better and gave us a better price.

This place seems like 2 brothers "playing" to have a cool backpacker guesthouse but it is in fact a lazy, heartless, dirty place. Wouldn' recommend at ALL!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BereMunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at te raj mahal for 3 nights and I would have liked to stay more! The family that runs the hotel are lovely and always looking to help with any aspect of your trip in India. Simpu l, one of the sons, was fantastic! He booked us trains, organized rickhaws, gave us suggestions every day and his English was amazing. The hotel is spotless as are the rooms and the bathrooms. There is hot water and the rooms were amazing value. The view from the roof was amazing - could see the lake, the palace, and the fort. The food took a while to prepare but it was some of the best I have had in India (they made it all from scratch). They even went out one night and got us some fruit to keep in their fridge. Stay here! You will not regret it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0lden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

One of the best hotels ever stayed, with friendly atmosphere, kind staffs, and most of all, amazing breakfast.
Run by a family which will make you feel home away from home.
They can help you out with all your needs. The best is its location, which gives beautiful view of the Bundi fort and the famous Bundi Lake "Chota Talab".
If you are going to bundi then this is the place to stay !!

Give it a shot, its much worth than you will spend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shin-Rohit-Ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.4 mi away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 11 in Bundi
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haveli Uma Megh Paying Guest House
0.0 mi away
Shivam Tourist Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.2 mi away
Bundi Inn - A Heritage Haveli
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#3 of 11 in Bundi
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rajmahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rajmahal

Property: Rajmahal
Address: Suraj Ji Ka Bad, Balchand Para, Bundi, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bundi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raj Mahal Guest House is our friendly family Guest House located in Bundi. It's a charming haveli heritage house near the lake, 5 mins walk from the palace. We have 9 clean and neat rooms available from : 200 to 1000 with a view of typical rajasthani balconies called jharokhas. Some rooms have a lake side view with window seat.Some rooms with outside balconies. We have some family rooms also. We provide home made food and have a roof top where you can relax and see the lake, the city and the palace. We provide facilities : Laundry Free WiFi Bus/Train booking Pickup from Bus/Train station Ayurvedic massages Henna making ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Rajmahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing