We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saras

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bharatpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Saras
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This property is 0.5 to 1 km from Bharatpur National Park. This is RTDC property. one can book it online.
Breakfast is complimentary with the stay. Dinner served is very spicy but the breakfast is good.But no room service

One drawback is no power backup . 2-3 minutes electricity supply failure in a day.
Staff is helpful

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parushani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    20
    4
    4
See reviews for
16
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Hotel Saras is a safe hotel promoted bt RTDC in Bharatpur. The rooms are spacious. Staff is good. But cleanness is to be improved. The food was average. Really good for friends and family also. Normally Govt guest houses are always safe.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms overlooking the main road. Early morning it feels good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank architectsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

the govt of rajasthan needs to fix up this property. We have stayed at quite a few of the tourism properties and they have been, on an average, 7/10. This one is just a dive. The only good thing is the location but then the other hotels in the region have the same advantage. The front desk was unattended, the staff was not knowledgable and the rooms smelt like fungus mixed with wine. We checked out on day 1. Skip it and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SALondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bharatpur hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived late at night to hotel Saras only to be greeted by bed bugs. There is nothing at all interesting about the hotel building. It is on a very busy road and is frankly filthy. The rooms were revolting. Apart from bed bugs there were cockroaches a plenty. The toilet in my room was broken and the one in my friends would not flush. We refused to stay and went down the street to the very nice Kingfisher hotel which was basic but clean and the staff very polite and helpful. Avoid Saras at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Apparently this is a govt. of india hotel and thats why we booked in here, thinking it will be a nice and safe location and it was. But the rooms are not in god shape, ditto for the property. The staff was quite confused when we asked them questions. The food was not good. We had to go out for dinner because the lunch was a bitter and salty experience (literally!). Nothing much to do around the hotel (its all brick and mortar). We ended up shortening our stay. Look for other options if you can but this is a good otpion if you are willing to eat elsewhere and not be in the room most of the time. pun intended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleAugustus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2011

Bharatpur is Asia’s premier wetland site, so we were not surprised to find it shrouded in mist in the winter. We were surprised, though, to find the mist swirling around the dining room of our hotel. Bitterly cold (guests and staff alike were dressed in coats and woolly hats), with cracked windows, dimly lit and thoroughly dreary, this hotel keeps its guests by insisting on payment in full in advance before you can see what it’s like. Even in January, the place was heaving with mosquitoes, although they seemed too cold to be properly hungry.

Our room was quite spacious and the bed fairly comfortable. The walls had huge patches of damp on them, and electric wires were coming away from the walls and hanging loose. A bizarre decorative feature involved all polished surfaces being covered with folded newspapers, and gaps in the panelling replaced by packing cases with the writing still visible (and, no, this did not look like a trendy Docklands wine bar!). The door to the large echoing corridor had a huge uncurtained window above it. As the lights in the corridor were left all on all night, the room too remained brightly lit. Curtains on the windows to outside did not close properly either.

The sheets were stained and had mud on them, and we asked for fresh but the replacements were no better, with visible oily handprints on them. Although you could see your breath in the room, only one blanket was provided.

We can’t comment on the shower – it was far too cold to think about getting wet!

In the midst of all of this, the chef can knock up a really excellent cheese omelette.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdawson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

If it were not for the location and somewhat clean rooms there is nothing good about this hotel. The table cloth in the dining room I think was bought when they started the hotel - it was ridiculously dirty. Food served was alright but the service is too slow - we waited for ages and paid a fortune for the room and food. Attached bar is the most pathetic I had ever seen.

If all you want is a clean room near the bird sanctuary but don't mind 900rs a night, go here. If you need better experience, don't.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
1.7 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#3 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#12 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#14 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#9 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saras

Property: Hotel Saras
Address: Saras Choraha, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing