We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Getaway!”
Review of The Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bagh
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Lovely resort tucked away amidst greenery. Old world charm, extensive grounds where one can spend hours wandering. Lots of trees and birds of many varieties. Peacocks roaming in the shrub ... great place to unwind and recharge one's body & mind.

Room Tip: Ask for the older rooms or the villas. Some of the rooms have faulty showers and faucets so check th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orbiter007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at The Bagh particularly with the service provided by our associates.

Your kind words are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests on your next visit to Bharatpur.

Kind regards,

Team Bagh Bharatpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Good clean rooms. The lunch and dinner menu gets repeated daily - they cater to large european travel groups for lunch and dinner. That said, the food though a bit on the bland side is decent and they will make you something if your not happy with the buffet. 5 min from the national Park by car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MumbaiIndians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at The Bagh particularly with the service provided by our associates.

Your kind words are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests on your next visit to Bharatpur.

Kind regards,

Team Bagh, Bharatpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

A five hour journey from Delhi turned into over seven hours just to get to the resort. By then, any destination would have been welcome so once we entered the resort, the lush greenery and spacious lawns looked like heaven. What else would you want for a weekend getaway? Yet, the two nights, we spent at the resort were just short of disappointing.
The rooms were comfortable, but I'v seen better at lesser rates. The bathtub was a little stained and the door to the bathroom creaked. Mosquitos were another nuisance. But as far as I'm concerned, the food was the only worthwhile letdown. The breakfast menu did'nt have too many options, but was easily the best meal of the day. For lunch and dinner, either the resorts experienced chefs were on vacation themselves or they hired the most inexperienced ones. The chicken was inedible, daal was salty, bhatora's too oily and some of the vegetable dishes completely unappetizing. Service was random as well... you practically had to stalk the waiter for a glass of water.
The positives for the resort is definitly the location. Barely ten minutes from the sanctuary and the resort is perfect for those looking for some peace and quiet. But its not one of those places I'd ever visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at The Bagh particularly with the service provided by our associates.

Your kind words are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests on your next visit to Bharatpur.

Kind regards,

Team Bagh, Bharatpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed one night in February while visiting the Bird Sanctuary. It was a last minute trip so we had to book the room through a travel agency because according to the hotel there were no available rooms for the night. We paid 10,000 INR for one room with a double bed and an extra bed; breakfast included - way higher then Laxmi Palace's price. When we arrived, we were told they had given us to two separate rooms for "greater comfort" (rooms 14 & 15) . Our son is older but what if we had a little child and we all wanted/needed to stay together? Unfortunately, the rooms did not live up to our expectation: not only were they small and extremely basic but the "double bed" was two single beds pushed together to make one; the furniture old; the upholstery and carpet stained; bed linens very old looking; no TV (not a big deal really but I did not expect not to have one); heating by electric heater in a room with 10-12 foot ceilings; a hair dryer that was falling apart and was a fire hazard; very old electrical outlets, with the no outlet plates or having fallen down and not repaired; there was hot water in one room but not the other but the pressure was so low you couldn't use the shower... Dinner was Indian buffet and it was fine and to their credit they were accommodating to the very hungry tourists who had a hard time waiting until 7 pm. Bu then again, there was no other place in the hotel to "hang out" and relax with a drink or a snack and wait for dinner... It was also nice to find out that breakfast was served at 6 am for the early riser bird enthusiasts. Given some of the reviews, I don't know if we ended up in the worst two room in the hotel.. regardless I don't recommend it and would not stay in The Bagh again... not worth it for what they charge you and it is far from being called a "resort". Can't comment about pool or the outdoor area because of the time of year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank 80DaysAr0undTheW0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Bagh!

We are disappointed to learn about your inconveniences, which truly is contrary to what we strive to achieve at our resort. With the well being our guests as our primary objective, your less-than-perfect experience has deeply concerned us. We want to assure you that we will thoroughly investigate the reasons for the dip in the service standards and tighten the procedures to ensure that there are no future repeats of similar incidents. I have shared your very valuable feedback with my entire team as I feel through your review you have touched a very important aspect of customer service which will remain a learning for all of us, it is always our endeavor to ensure that we constantly pamper our guests with all our services and treat them like Royalty by taking care of their every need.

We thank you again for helping us better understand our offerings with your feedback. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you with the services that have made us a popular getaway destination.

Warm Regards

Team Bagh, Bharatpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, and it was an upgrade from our tour company. The setting is idyllic and very tranquil and the room was out of this world. Wasn't that impressed with the restaurant though, the buffet lunch we had wasn't really that good and pretty cold though in the evening we left the buffet and ordered of the menu and it was much much tastier. Seemed to be used more by older people with cameras with big lenses but the outstanding room made it a lovely place to stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Cliff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at The Bagh particularly with the service provided by our associates.

Your kind words are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests on your next visit to Bharatpur.

Kind regards,

Team Bagh, Bharatpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

After arriving on the redeye from London to a foggy cold Delhi the drive to Bharatpur did not lift our spirits. What did however, was turning in from a potholed, dusty, uninspired road to a wooded garden - flowers and greenery and bird song greeted us and the dusty journey was suddenly a memory. Our huge and wonderfully comfortable room - a vast bed with excellent mattress - was what we needed to start our first trip to India and to begin to unwind. The bathroom was huge and had a good shower - essential for recovering from the journey - we didn't need the equally large bathtub. Strolling through the garden to the restaurant was delightful. The food was good - most hotel buffets have something for everyone but we didn't try a la carte. It is a perfect distance from Agra so that you can see the Taj Mahal and the Fort as well as Fatehpur Sikri on the way back and then the bird sanctuary on another day. The staff were helpful and attentive. It is quite expensive compared with other hotels we looked at but think it was worth it for the chance it gave us to relax at the start of our trip.

Room Tip: We asked for a corner room as we were told they were the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and it is a pleasure to know that you had an enjoyable time at The Bagh particularly with the service provided by our associates.

Your kind words are greatly valued and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests on your next visit to Bharatpur.

Kind regards,

Team Bagh, Bharatpur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Good
1. The entire property is very well designed and has lot of greenery.
2. It was a peaceful resort
3. Room was big and clean (may be they provided us bigger room due to small kids). I did not see any other room.
4. The staff, manager and even the owner was courteous to provide information and in room services
5. Restaurant is big and clean.
6. They have 3 vintage cars and the ride is available at high cost
7. Location is about 3-5 kms from the Bird Sanctuary. Easy 10 min drive.

Bad
1. Food. They claim that the chef keeps the spices mild due to foreign tourist and continental taste. But I think they lack innovation in food as I have stayed in many other resorts of same category (in terms of money) and they serve excellent buffet that satisfies both Indian and foreign tourists.
2. The buffet has limited choices. It is more like a buffet set up for a small office party.
3. In restaurant service is slow and requires regular follow up.
4. At times we felt that staff was instructed to attend the foreign tourists more.
5. The Chef needs innovation.
6. Rs 8500 per night inclusive all meals is over priced.

Despite so many lacking the staff was trying to cover up and was trying to provide as much as they could.

If I visit again I will try to explore other option as well.
In all average rating from my side.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vineet a, Manager at The Bagh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

Dear Guest

Greetings from The Bagh!

We are disappointed to learn about your inconveniences, which truly is contrary to what we strive to achieve at our resort. With the well being our guests as our primary objective, your less-than-perfect experience has deeply concerned us. We want to assure you that we will thoroughly investigate the reasons for the dip in the service standards and tighten the procedures to ensure that there are no future repeats of similar incidents. I have shared your very valuable feedback with my entire team as I feel through your review you have touched a very important aspect of customer service which will remain a learning for all of us, it is always our endeavor to ensure that we constantly pamper our guests with all our services and treat them like Royalty by taking care of their every need.

We thank you again for helping us better understand our offerings with your feedback. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you with the services that have made us a popular getaway destination.

Warm Regards

Team Bagh, Bharatpur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
0.7 mi away
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bharatpur
480 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#5 of 15 in Bharatpur
258 reviews
15.4 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#6 of 15 in Bharatpur
290 reviews
2.2 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
335 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#11 of 15 in Bharatpur
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bagh

Address: Old Agra - Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India (Formerly The Bagh Resort Bharatpur)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range: $89 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bagh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bagh is a heritage hotel set in 32 acres and in two hundred year-old garden in Bharatpur Rajasthan, it is located just four hours away from major destinations such as Delhi, Jaipur and Gwalior. The Bagh offers visitors an opportunity to experience quiet luxury near Keoladeo Ghana National Park, one of the most famous bird sanctuaries in the world. The hotel's 38 rooms are located in three different residential complexes. A restaurant, banquet hall, coffee shop, library and a gym, all situated in a verdant orchard, allow guests to enjoy solitude and companionship in restful indoor and outdoor spaces. Each of the Bagh's 38 rooms is unique. Spacious bathrooms, luxurious fabrics, fine furnishings and the amenities of modern technology let the weary traveler retreat and recoup after a day of sightseeing and bird watching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bagh Resort Bharatpur Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
Bagh Hotel Bharatpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing