We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“live performances, good food and a very comfortable stay”
Review of The Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bagh
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Bombay,India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“live performances, good food and a very comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed on new years eve at the Bagh...and boy it was what they promised. Check-in was a breeze, the room given was what i had seen in the pictures, so there were not many surprises there. Warm and very comfortable. They also put a heater, which quiet saved us from the chill. There was a live band and some performances from local artists as part of the New Year's eve celebration. The food was an excellent spread...havn't had better food in quiet a while. My only crib was that they choose to let a singer singing some american/Brit songs (from the 60s to 90s) over a local artist. The local artist was really good and most foreigners were also hooked on. That apart, the evening was really good.
Next morning , the breakfast was also a good and delicious spread.

Room Tip: We weren't given a choice, but i guess it always helps to check a few rooms before you settle in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBM0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    73
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
73
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Bharatpur is an ideal location for a road trip and weekend trip from Gurgaon/ delhi. We driver by our own car early morning and reached in around 3.30 hrs from Gurgaon. The hotel is located within the city and the road to it is in pathetic condition. But as soon as you enter the property you will get a good feeling

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifetraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Bagh is set in its own woods which makes the setting lovely. Once in the compound, you enter through an arch and then all the rooms, bar, dinning and pool areas are all set within individual parts of this wood linked by walkways. Our travel company recommended this place as we were visiting the Bharatpur bird sanctuary and the Bagh is close to this. The room was clean and spacious (even with the extra bed for our daughter). The bathroom was good, with plenty of hot water. It was cold when we visited and the room only had a small heater, but it we too bad. In hotter weather the coolness of the room might be an interesting, but equally the amount of greenery might make the insect life interesting. We had a lunch, dinner and a breakfast in the restaurant and the food is alright, but not great. They have a lot of choice the meals are buffets although there is an al a carte menu Overall this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJNDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for three days and it was a very homely experience felt very comfortable had gone for a day sightseeing to museum and keoladeo national park which was amazing half day is really not enough for the park if u r here for few days or a day or two then do visit the park for whole day from early 8 to 9 itself the park is very big and closes by 6.00 pm in the evening so u are forced to rush back to the gate from 5.00 pm There are many species of birds in the park from small to bigger unfortunately no more siberian cranes visit the park but the other species of bigger birds are worth seeing due to lack of time we could not go further had heard that we also get to see some animals like jackals and spotted dear near to the road and many other birds.
The stay at the hotel, the blue swimming pool the room was so well decorated with wooden furniture and nice hot water running all the time, even the staff was very courteous and the manager mr rahul and g.m mr tiwari were very co-operative during our stay at the hotel. Overall a wonderful experience in bharatpur with the bagh.

Room Tip: corner rooms r a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent just one night in this hotel. It was very cold in Bharatpur so that we enjoyed the heated room and restaurant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nice bathroom, hot water supplied. The outside area appeared a bit neglected. Food in the restaurant very good but expensive.

What we did not like was that the hotel is far away from the bird sanctuary (30 mins to walk) and very few rikshas pass the hotel. We had to catch a train at 7 am. and the hotel got us a taxi. First they said it would cost 350 Rs. but then they charged 700 Rs (for approx. 9 kms). I do not know whether this was a scam of the hotel staff or not. We had no choice and had to cough up the money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayqubee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We loved this place. Set in beautiful gardens, with peacocks running around shaking their tail fathers (!), this is a peaceful and delightful place to stay. Pool - as ever - chiily, but sunny location.
Food was first class. Breakfast buffet - lots of choice - nice fruit and so on. Evening buffet plenty of choice, including some European dishes. And nan breads were fresh cooked. All the staff were superb. We had an early departure and we had a breakfast box packed up for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Spent just one night here . The rooms are old fashioned and huge . This is however the good part . It has huge gardens but they are choked with weeds and totally unkept . There seems to be no one person in charge of everything . The food at dinner was good after we complained after an indifferent lunch . Plates not properly washed ( I don't think they have a dish washer ) , place mats stained and wilted flowers in every single vase in the dining room.
Staff were quite friendly and helpful but totally lacking in supervision.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Maharookh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#7 of 15 in Bharatpur
237 reviews
15.4 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
61 reviews
2.1 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#8 of 15 in Bharatpur
230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
304 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bagh

Property: The Bagh
Address: Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India (Formerly The Bagh Resort Bharatpur)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bagh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bagh Resort Bharatpur Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
Bagh Hotel Bharatpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing