We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good on paper....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Surly staff "welcomed" us with a poor excuse for tea in our room - which we later discovered we had been charged for.

Rooms were not too bad - bed like a slab of slate, as all Indian hotel beds seem to be - and the room was as always in India, dirty. Why the British left without properly civilising the place I will never know.

Surliness of staff continued unabated, never met the owner, food frankly awful and extortionate.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AA_Gull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 463 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2010

I really wanted to be able to big up this place as it's stunningly beautiful and impressive when you drive up. There's a lot of history here but sadly no one available to tell you about it and nowhere to read about it within the hotel either - you have to make it up from the many photographs around the place.

Like others, we experienced the owner/Maharajah completely ignoring his guests - indeed so much so that we were never once acknowledged. Our good mornings went unanswered. A decision needs to be made as to whether this is a home or a hotel as it's clearly not working well as either.

This place could be so good with a decent European manager and some well trained staff. The staff were polite but it was perfunctory not warm and genuine which is a real shame. The exception to this were the two massage staff (brother and sister) who were really good masseurs and were very warm and friendly people.

The food here is just rubbish. Feels like a local chap has gone into the kitchen and put on the chef suit - which doesn't make him a chef.

There's a weird situation too with another more modern hotel next door which looks to tour buses and groups and conferences which appears to be quite in conflict to the older palace.

There is a really nice pool but I felt very self-concious trying to swim with the garden boys watching!

No internet, no room service, no safe, no comp. water, no kettle. Regular power cuts, grey tired towels and luke warm service....A very disappointing stay at the Laxmi Vilas.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minkamonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We visited this hotel only for meals. Food was served hot with less fat and hot spices. It was perfect for every pallet. It was not that costly either. With good surroundings and coolness of the Garden Lawn it was perfect place for a summer outing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank satyendra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I spent 4 nights at Laxmi Vilas in the hot month of April. I can really recommend this for a break of the busy circuit Delhi-Agra-Jaipur. At Laxmi Vilas you find the peace and calm you need to continue your travel. Even in this hot weather rooms were cool and pleasant. Service was very attentive, pool was nice, food varied and the excursions in the neighborhood - to Bharatpur center and to palaces of Deeg is well worth while a visit. Excellent choice, to be preferred to hotels in Agra. Better to make day excursions in to Agra and return in the afternoon to Bharatpur.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at the Laxmi palace villas, and after reading some of the reviews on here I have to admit it was with some trepidation that we anticipated our stay...

However, I now feel I have to balance some of the extremely negative reviews on this site, of course everyones experience is subjective, but our experience of this place is so far removed from other reports on here, that I can't believe it is the same place!
The hotel itself is charming and charactorful, it is slightly tired (nothing a lick of paint here and there wouldn't fix) but still stunning, the rooms are lovely and clean, the dining areas light and airy, the pool area clean and very attractive, I particlurly liked the history of the place in photos on the walls, and the stunning carved bed heads, scalloped alcoves, and original fixtures... It is true it is not equipped with all the mod cons, and if that's what you want maybe here isn't for you, but it has grace, charm and charactor in abundance that more than compensates for the lack of chrome, steel and sterility of modern hotels...

Staff and service: as it was getting toward the end of the season the hotel was reasonably quiet, we found all the staff we encountered to be polite attentive, helpful chatty and friendly, not a hint of insolence, rudeness or laziness! However I have always believed in treating others with the respect you wish to be treated with and generally speaking this has never done me wrong so far....
So accomadating were the staff at Laxmi that they insisted on packing us a breakfast for an early morning trip, even though we said it was ok, and one evening when Delhi belly (which had been a problem before we arrived here) got the better of us and we decided not to dine, the drinks we had including several litres of water to take to our room were offered free of charge in place of our evening meal, as that was included and we had forgone it!! Not the actions of inhospitable and rude people!

The food: When we did dine, we found the food to be well cooked, plentiful and flavoursome, I had a veggie biriani and it was delicious, as was tandoori chicken.

It was extremely hot whilst we were here, and so we didn't have concerns with heating, more keeping cool, the air con was quiet and effective, which allowed us to sleep really well at nights.

Keladeo park: The reason we stayed at Laxmi, Keoladeo is literally 10 mins away, it is a lovely reserve, with stunnig birds, blue bull, very cheeky monkies. It has a novel way of transporting visitors via cycle rickshaw as no moterised vehicles are allowed deep into the reserve, and all in all was very enjoyable, we didn't visit at the best time of year for birds but still it was fantastic...

All in all I would say, that you shouldn't take all the reviews on here too much to heart, yes they are someones obviously bad experience, and maybe there have been some dramatic changes between our visit and theirs, but if you do plan to go, visit with an open mind and a smile on your face and you'll probably have a very enjoyable experience as we did...

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twiga_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel is beautiful and beautifully kept up, housekeeping perfect. Our marble bathroom was spotless, with plentiful hot water, the twin beds comfortable. We spent a nice hour in the inner courtyard having drinks and writing postcards. Flowers everywhere and good service, and you will get a huge kick out of the Raj-era photographs on the walls, giving a good sense of the "Jewel in the Crown" history of the establishment. Perhaps sensitive souls might be upset by the taxidermied tiger heads, "Shot in Bharatpur 1934." We enjoyed walking around the park-like grounds. Absolutely don't miss the Kolodeo Bird Sanctuary nearby.

We were one of few guests there, which led to a slightly empty feel; we wanted to order off the menu but the only thing available for dinner was the buffet. Our only beef was the internet service; we took an hour's worth of time on the available computers to check emails but were charged for two hours because we were two people; if they had explained this, we would have actually used the two hours, instead of keeping to just one.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Horn_Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

A beautiful palace set in lovely gardens. The old palace has character and lovely large rooms surrounding a tranquil courtyard. The new palace matches the old in style and opulence and this is where you dine in style. The service is attentive and the facilities good. The hotel shops need a rethink, sadly you could not buy a postcard and stamp but you could get things the average western tourist is unlikely to be interested in. The low level of water in the bird park is a disappointment, sadly no longer a real wetland habitat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matureadventurer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
14.7 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
66 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#5 of 15 in Bharatpur
246 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#13 of 15 in Bharatpur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bagh
The Bagh
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
215 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#6 of 15 in Bharatpur
283 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel

Address: Kakaji Ki Kothi, | Kakaji Ki Kothi, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range: $78 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace was refurbished and renovated into a hotel in 1994. The specialties of Laxmi Vilas Palace, Bharatpur lies in the beautiful location enhanced by the sumptuous lunch and dinners. We personally supervise the preparation for our extensive A La Carte Menu, offering the true flavors of our continental and local dishes. Here at Laxmi Vilas Palace you would relive the history of Bharatpur, feel the warm hospitality extended to you by our present generation living in the Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laxmi Vilas Palace Bharatpur
Hotel Laxmi Vilas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing