We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maharaja kitsch and bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Maharaja kitsch and bad food”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The hotel, a converted palace, may be worth the visit if you like slightly over the top Indian royal style. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. There is a nice outdoor courtyard bar, and a clean big pool. The dining room is the low point with comically inedible creations in a buffet. Overall not worth what they charge you but It is worth putting up with because of its proximity to the wonderful bird sanctuary.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FisheaterNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    168
    99
    24
    31
See reviews for
112
159
15
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband spent one night in this charming hotel, an ex palace owned by a Maharajah heir - who still lives in -, still preserve the typical architecture, wall paintings and furniture of Rajput and Mughal style. You can enjoy a tchai relaxing in the inner courtyard.
It's clean, food lovely and staff very kind. 

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FaAle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Of all the hotels I have stayed in, none have the spanking gardens and well-manicured lawns that compare with the Laxmi Vilas palace. The constructed hotel part must be hardly 30% of the total property. There are large gardens, a big playground and a beautiful pool area that makes it a pleasure to stay at the hotel. The huge gardens also attract a lot of birds, including peacocks. The call of peacocks adds to the heritage feel of the hotel.

The hotel also has a nice pool table and some indoor games, along with a small reading room, so that hotel stay can be enjoyable. There was also a puppet show outside the dining area on one of the nights we stayed here, which was a real delight for my 2 year old daughter.

Being a heritage property converted into a hotel, the rooms are not upto the mark in terms of modern amenities, but have been done artistically, and are overall comfortable.

On the flipside, the hotel sleeps really early, and no staff is available after 10 PM, which also means there is no service available after 10 PM. Even the playground is locked up after dark, which means little activity is possible after the sun sets.

The hotel is located far from the market, so you do not have any options but to dine in. While the restaurant menu is limited, the food preparation is really good. Hence dining in was never a problem. The dining room is one of the highlights of the hotels, with its traditionally painted walls.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kron9282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

So this place is very near to Bharatpur sanctuary (almost within 1 km radius). The location of the hotel is very deceptive as it seems like you are in a small town but once you enter into the hotel property you feel good.
The property is huge and done very nicely, its quiet big with a large pool, lawns, and small play area. The hotel rooms are nice too, they are not small but fairly spacious.
The biggest negative of the hotel is the food. The food is below average, and the dinners are usually the buffet priced at approx. 850 INR per person, again the food is below average. Unfortunately there are not much options outside the hotel so one gets tied to the hotel only.
We had the booking for 4 nights but left in 3 nights as there is not much to do there.
You can visit Bharatpur sanctuary once or max twice in two days (remember it will take minimum of 4-5 hours) per visit hence not much to do after the visit to the sanctuary.
We travelled by Car to the hotel and then parked our car at the entrance of the sanctuary. we took the guide and travelled through a rickshaw since we were travelling with a small kid.
Overall a Nice stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the play room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrajpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hampton
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My husband and I were booked into this hotel for two nights by Indian tour agency. Hotel has a nice layout out, large pool and basic rooms. The hotel is old and it shows in the room's décor and bathroom. Hotel rooms are past due for renovations. We found it difficult to go to sleep at night due to the bright light installed over the room door. The light came through the top of the stained glass door and there was no way to block it out. We were highly disappointed to find out that many of the Indian and other entrees on the restaurant menu were not available. I inquired with the waiter as to why there were so many items not available and he told us that it took too long to prepare the dishes and the cook didn't want to take the time to do so. We finally settled for chicken and rice that was rather bland. I took a look at the buffet food and it didn't look appeasing either. Breakfast was included with room rate and was very basic.
There were not any activities for guest in hotel other than a drum performance and puppet show in the evening-nothing special. Hotel did have a pool but it was not in use due to time of year. Hotel is located in a remote part of town and due to the ruined down condition of the surrounding area we didn't venture beyond the hotel grounds. We wanted to use the internet but refused to pay the outrageous $160.00 USA per day usage fee. I dreaded having to return to this hotel for a second night because the atmosphere was uninviting and desolate.
We were so happy to leave this hotel and would never return again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayGoEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to visit the nearby Keoladeo bird sanctuary. The hotel is old and very grand. The rooms are large but basic. The barman was lovely, as was the guy who met us at the station and fixed the guide/rickshaws for the bird sanctuary. The girl on the desk was pretty surly, but that may have been a language problem. And there is a great swimming pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnoldbakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepraj_Singh, Owner at Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Arnoldbaker
Thank you very much for your valued comments and choosing to stay with us and how much you liked the place. We appreciate your suggestion about the girls point of view and will try improving on it.
Deepraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Although not officially starred, this is a very good hotel. We have stayed here twice while visiting the nearby Keoladeo wildlife park, for which the location is very convenient. The rooms are quaint and well- equipped although not modernised. Staff are attentive and the food unexceptional but plentiful. There is a great pool and excellent Ayurvedic treatment facility.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riks60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepraj_Singh, Owner at Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest
Thanks for staying with us for the second time and having your trust in us. We do try to give our best and retain our cold clients.Also thanks for appreciating our message center.
Wish you all the best.
Deepraj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#8 of 15 in Bharatpur
237 reviews
14.7 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
60 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#3 of 15 in Bharatpur
303 reviews
1.5 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#5 of 15 in Bharatpur
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel

Property: Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Address: Kakaji Ki Kothi, | Kakaji Ki Kothi, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palace was refurbished and renovated into a hotel in 1994. The specialties of Laxmi Vilas Palace, Bharatpur lies in the beautiful location enhanced by the sumptuous lunch and dinners. We personally supervise the preparation for our extensive A La Carte Menu, offering the true flavors of our continental and local dishes. Here at Laxmi Vilas Palace you would relive the history of Bharatpur, feel the warm hospitality extended to you by our present generation living in the Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laxmi Vilas Palace Bharatpur
Hotel Laxmi Vilas Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing