We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a flying paradise”

Keoladeo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Day Trip to Bharatpur Keoladeo National Park and Abhaneri Stepwell from Agra...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Bharatpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bharatpur bird sanctuary is home to over 350 species of birds.
Noida, India
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“a flying paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

The Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary or the Keoladeo Ghana Sanctuary is a small and dense forest with nearly 400 species of migratory and local birds, out of which about 50 are easily found. The season is from November to March. Many migratory birds come here from entire Asia, Europe, particularly Russia, some parts of Africa. Many animals like Sambhar, Antelopes, different varieties of deers, snakes, cats, monkeys, Nilgai and monitor lizards. If you want to have a memorable experience, take bicycles or rickshaws and go to the Keoladeo temple and take a round in the core of the park. Refer to the books available at the entrance. Overall, it is an awesome for a one - day family outing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank anantjain26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    847
    395
    68
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Guide are Useless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is a great Bird Sanctuary simply one has to go and take the feel .surprisingly I took guide of first day he charged 150 rs per hour and also gave a very little details of the dirds and sanctuary,but second day I hired riksha ,to my surprise he took Rs100/- per hour and talked and describe every minute details ,locations and bird species .Great to see in a riksha .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank deepakundanlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great day even for non bird watchers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

As part of our Golden Triangle tour we had half a day at the Keoladeo Park and even though we are not Bird Watchers we had a really great time.Our guide Didi was excellent and his eyesight was amazing,as he spotted things at a distance that we had difficulty spotting with binoculars.The park was full of birds and we noted approx 50 different birds during our 3 hour stay.If you are bird watchers this place is a must.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeyStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best birding experience in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Be it the morning, or the afternoon... the place (if the year had a good monsoon) is AWESOME and best place for birding in the world. From migratory birds.. waterbirds.. birds of prey ... pythons.. and nilgai.. spotted deer.. this place is heaven for a wildlife enthusiast.. and either you walk or rent a bicycle or a rickshaw.. in EVERY WHICH WAY BUT enjoy. This is one beautiful and must visit place

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SatyakiD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Haven, vt.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good viewing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our rickshaw driver/pedaler was knowledgeable and helpful. He stopped and took us off the path several times to see some special bird. He also knew where to look for the best views and he didn't try to sell us anything. The park is beautiful, filled with wildlife including two kinds of deer, monkeys, cows of course and lots of birds. The highlight for me were the dozens and dozens of nesting storks and three kinds of kingfishers.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoladeo National Park also viewed

Bharatpur, Rajasthan
Bharatpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Keoladeo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing