We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience make it better in dec”

Keoladeo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$83.00*
and up
Day Trip to Bharatpur Keoladeo National Park and Abhaneri Stepwell from Agra...
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Bharatpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bharatpur bird sanctuary is home to over 350 species of birds.
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience make it better in dec”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great place if u r bird lover and want to have look on birds from world, pls dont forget binocular , pls take battery operated car

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RAHUL2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    846
    395
    68
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
213 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“A birder's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Formerly known to birders worldwide as the Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary and formally known as the Keoladeo Ghana National Park ('Keoladeo' is another name for Lord Shiva by which he's worshipped at an old temple in the park, and 'ghana' is a local word for the thick forest once supported by the area).

These wetlands are not entirely natural, so remain dependent on monsoons and a regulated water supply, mainly pumped in from a reservoir outside the park boundary. There's a system of dykes and sluices, some now powered by solar panels, to provide areas of varying water depths and, as the park is strategically located in the middle of the Central Asian migratory flyway, it attracts large congregations of birds of all kinds during the winter months. We looked forward to making acquaintance with at least some of them during our three-night stay.

We stayed at an excellent small hotel, one of several grouped together just minutes by cycle rickshaw from the park's entrance. Yes, I said 'cycle rickshaw'. You see, while you can take a car just a mile or so into the park, you then have to choose whether to walk, hire a bicycle, or take a cycle rickshaw with seats for two. You can arrange for one of the rickshaws to come to your hotel and transport you around the park for a few hours, or for a whole day, if you wish. The rickshaw wallahs displaying a yellow plate are authorised to double up as guides and have a good knowledge of the birds and mammals and of their whereabouts. The two we employed had been doing the job for more than 20 years, but still only charged Rs.100 (£1.25/US$2/€1.50) an hour.

The best locations are through the dry scrub area to the verdant shallow lakes, about an hour's rickshaw ride from the entrance on rough but bearable tracks. If you'll excuse the pun, for the best bird-watching opportunities you have to be an early bird. The park opens at sunrise. Entry costs non-Indians Rs.400 (£5/US$8/€6) per visit. If you go out, then come back again in the same day, you'll have to pay twice! If you want a naturalist to guide you, as we did on our first day, this can be arranged through your hotel and will cost about Rs.1500 (£18/US$28/€21) for the whole day - a very worthwhile extra. Oh, and he'll ensure you only pay one park entry fee if you choose to go back to the hotel for lunch half way through the day!

We saw only a fraction of the hundreds of species of birds and mammals which call Keoladeo home. Although we still saw absolutely loads, we were able to photograph only some of them, like bee-eaters, bulbuls, owls, ducks, storks, monitor lizards and monkeys.The very small birds that true birders call LBJs (Little Brown Jobs) refused to pose nicely!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Bird sanctuary is a real bliss for nature lovers . Lot of birds and very peacefull. We couldn't do boating this time but heard its a very nice experience. Kuds really loved the rickshaw ride and I enjoyed the cycling inside the park.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vandana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bird watching at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I visted this place in Nov 2012 and i must say this is an amazing place for bird watching and natural beauty. The place is well maintained with nominal entry fee. Start early around 5 am and you get to see birds at its high energy level. Hire a paddle rickshaw inside the park which doubles up as a guide as well, they charge around rs.100/hr.
Make sure not to litter around and carry your water bottles and other stuff as cafe inside the park have limited options. You can do 2 safaris in a day, evening and morning.
I stayed at Rtdc'c Hotel Saher which is at a walking distuance from park's entry. It was ok with basic ameneties and affordable.
You can also plan a visit to Fatepur Sikri in Agra as it is just 45 min drive from Bharatpur.
This is a good place to spend your weekend.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VikAni0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good but better after rains”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

it was good time in the bird park. it was dry during this time but still we manage to see some birds . but overall a very peaceful time . Guides and rickshaw guys are interesting creatures .

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RaviK281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keoladeo National Park also viewed

Bharatpur, Rajasthan
Bharatpur, Rajasthan
 

Been to Keoladeo National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing