We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Oasis”
Review of Laxmi Niwas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Laxmi Niwas Palace
Ranked #5 of 27 Bharatpur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small Oasis”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Laxmi Niwas Palace is a quaint place from an earlier era, a well-preserved traditional-style house with inner courtyards. A padlock and sliding bolt locked the double wooden doors opening into my room. The bathroom was modern and clean, the bed reasonably comfortable. The restaurant served an uninspired chicken dish for dinner, but the "American breakfast" was very good, with a generous supply of bacon. I did not try the internet service. The "village" side of Bharatpur (to the right as you leave the main gate; the "town" side is to the left) is interesting and worth a rickshaw ride in late afternoon.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Lovely to be away from plastic 5star hotels and feel a real personal touch to everything from garden, buildings, staff and food as well as puppetshow, massagecenter and perfect help to understand what the best to do in this part of the country can be for a few days relax away from Delhi and other big cities and touristspots.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolfacing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyacint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We travelled in summer months to this place. its quite near around 15 mins drive to the Bharatpur bird sanctuary. The place is clean with nice breakfast. Each room is diffrent . We got the one with a big bathroom with a shower cubicle inside it. So do check few rooms before moving to one. Also the AC of our room wasn't much effective as it required atleast half an hour to make the room somfortable enough during summer months.

The pool is decent though the water gets dirty in the evening due to small insects near it.

Rest the place is good for a small visit.

Room Tip: Check few rooms before moving to one . All the quite different from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mini2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We stayed there for a night in december, was difficult to find as we arrived in the night. The rooms are furnished with antiques, clean, hot water available all the time. Beds mattresses not very comfortable. Don't expect central heating, there was a warm air blower in the room. Very nice dinner buffet in a well heated and restored dining hall, breakfast also included in the price. This heritage palace has been tastfully restored and well maintained. Would readily come back to pass some evenings during spring by the poolside.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms close to taxi/car parking on the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JagMusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2012

One only comes to know the value of a place when faced with adversity. Last night my daughter fell ill. At 0130 the hotel staff helped us with guidance and the personal indulgence of the owner to get us to the right hospital alongwith a guide. My daughter is fine now thanks to them.
The hotel is a heritage building. It has the best of old world charm and modern day efficiency. The staff is helpful and charming and each artefact and piece carefully chosen and tastefully done up. The best place is probably the dining hall. It represents the culture and ethos of Bharatpur beautifully. Great stay will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivchadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Laxmi Niwas Palace, Bhartpur (Oct – Nov 11)

I happened to stay in the Heritage building (Main). I got it booked through my branch office and the tarrif was around 4K/day. They had provided complementary buffet breakfast and buffet dinner as per the package. In case you don’t have sufficient occupancy, be prepared for A la carte.

Puppet shows, traditional Rajasthani music, Pool side stroll are scintillating. New building constructed adjacent to the heritage palace is a look alike Hertige building and definitely a marvel portraying the tradition. Many aspects of the culture are projected painstakingly.
Being the tourist centre, in dining hall, the importance is more to foreign nationals rather than the Indian guests in terms of hospitality and choice of dishes. Even in case of Indian nationals, guest who do not prefer alcohol get a shade less reception in the dining room. To add further, the choice of your table/seat too is not in your hand (even when there is < 10% occupancy) in the marvelous dining room which can accommodate around 200 persons simultaneously. Is it to project that Bharapurians (sorry dining room management) are good in hospitality only to Foreign nationals or any other consideration? .

Health freak – Stay away

Except for this I felt comfortable (stay only).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vssivapprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

True indian atmosphere without five star formalities. Local staff and food makes You feel at home and relax from hectic days at monuments and travelling around...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hyacint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
14.8 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#8 of 15 in Bharatpur
237 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#3 of 15 in Bharatpur
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
227 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#5 of 15 in Bharatpur
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxmi Niwas Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxmi Niwas Palace

Property: Laxmi Niwas Palace
Address: Kakaji Ki Kothi | Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel is entirely new but utmost care has been taken while building it lovingly and painstakingly by the owners so as to let the guests feel like they are still bathed in warm hospitality of the heritage era. No expense has been spared to equip it of finest in all regards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Laxmi Niwas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing