We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run, and lots of fun”
Review of Falcon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bharatpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falcon Guest House
Ranked #9 of 27 Bharatpur B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Family run, and lots of fun”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Falcon has decent rooms, some with balconies, and nicely made beds. If you arrive and there are rooms free, ask to be shown all the options before deciding on your room. The rooms vary in price depending on size and location in the guest house.

It's a 10 minute walk from the bird park, and about a 3 minute walk to the helpful tourist reception office, the bus stand to Agra, and the train reservation office (next to the tourist reception office).

They all cook the food themselves in the kitchen next to the back yard. The back yard is very prettily decorated, with little tables and lights. There's a covered area for nights, and if there's a few of you out there, ask if they can start the brazier. There's a bit of a lack of concentration with food. Don't expect your food to arrive at any particular time, as it's a family-run thing. They may forget your order, or otherwise forget something else about your order. It's best to try to accept this for what it is and not mind too much.

Beer can be purchased on the opposite side of the main intersection about 2 mins walk from the hotel, as the hotel doesn't provide beer.

The hot water was not quite working when we there, but it may not have been there fault. There is a regular 6am-7am blackout in all of Bharatpur, which you should factor into your plans if you require an early start.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ploops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
9
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Dear fellow travelers,

I mean in no way any disrespect to the reviews of others nor am I one who considers myself to be unreasonable in terms of expectations or someone who is not accommodating. Being is sales, I have stayed in all towns of India, big and small, but traveling alone and with family is very different.

Coming to straight to the point (you can also go to my last paragraph), on reading the reviews I rang up the Falcon and spoke to Rajni, who was pleasant on the phone and informed me that she is sold out but as luck would have it she does have two rooms available (for my family and another family accompanying us) for dates 27th - 28th Jan 2013. So we set off the Bharatpur and mid-way we called again and reconfirmed that we were on our way. Rajni asked if we were coming straight to her Guest House, as I had not paid her an advance or if we were going to check other hotels first. Alarm bells should have rang inside me but I still told her that we would come to her directly.

On reaching we were greeted by Rajni and showed our rooms on the ground floor. The rooms were damp, full of mosquitoes, dark and dingy bathrooms, and far from acceptable linen. Rajni could see our disappointment written all over of faces, but made light of it. As one of the rooms had an Indian style WC, she showed us to a room out front that was even more depressing. We just could not settle for any of the rooms provided. As one of uswent next door (Forest Lodge) as that place looked in better shape, they were unfortunately sold out, but news was quickly passed on to Rajni that we were looking around.

This is when the friendly Rajni, as far as I am concerned, showed her true colors. On knowing that we would not take her sub-standard rooms (I do not know the state of the rooms on the first floor as they were already occupied), she confronted my wife and demanded that we pay for a nights penalty. When we told her that the rooms were no where close to hospitable, she said that she could have easily sold them to someone else and would not let us go unless we paid up. Upon our reasoning with her she then to our amazement and surprise threatened us and said "You people are tourist and from out of town, we are powerful people, so pay up if you know what good for you" The above was said in Hindi and coming from a lady, and in such bad taste that I just took out the money Rs 800, gave it to her and walked out which Rajni still demanding that I pay for the other room also.

Anyway, all I want to say is Beware of this Guesthouse and certainly if you rub Rajni the wrong way. This is a $10/night place and if thats what you are looking for thats exactly what you get but only here its $5/night worth. Very very disappointing.

Apart from this, we moved into better accommodation and thoroughly enjoyed bird-watching at the the Keoladeo National park.

Room Tip: If you are trapped to stay here, maybe the rooms on the 1st floor are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank Anupam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at the Falcon about five years ago and returned for a six night stay in December.It is often said you should never go back but my memory had not played tricks and the Falcon did not disappoint whatsoever.
Tej and Rajni are still excellent hosts and go out of their where to ensure your stay is comfortable.Nothing is too much trouble for them and their cooking would satisfy the most discerning palate as well as being most reasonably priced..It was a delight to breakfast on pancakes in the garden before setting off for a "hard"day in the sanctuary.
The rooms are spacious,spotless and well maintained and are great value for money.For those who cannot do without a computer there is even wifi available.
The guest house is in a very quiet location yet only a brisk 15 minute walk ,or a 5 minute rickshaw ride, to the sanctuary.
Many thanks Tej and Rajni.I am sure you will make wonderful grandparents!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated very close to the Bharatpur Bird Sanctuary, this is a very good option to stay while visiting the park. The rooms are clean and reasonably priced. The hospitality is first class. The best feature which attracted us to this place is its home cooked food. Delicious, fresh and as per our choice, the food is personally prepared by the owners and hence has good quality. For bird lovers, bharatpur can be made the base from which they can travel to Agra, Jaipur etc....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malabar_Hornbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have been going to this place for years and enjoying the stay and food , courtesy of Tej Singh & the dynamic Ms Rajni. Very knowledgeable about the birds and park.love their tea . Rajni Singh's palak (spinach) is excellent.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Even if they were not located next to the most amazing bird sanctuary I've ever seen, I would come here just to enjoy the gracious company, delicious meals, and friendly, peaceful demeanor of Tej and Rajni and their lovely family! I stayed with them for only 3 days and I feel like we are close friends. Their house and yard are beautifully kept and the landscaping and gardens make it the perfect place to sit and relax outdoors or in. They were very helpful in advising me on the best things to see in the area and how to plan my time and get around. The wonderful architectural sites in the area: Fatehpur Sikri, Deeg and the Taj Mahal are all easy day or half-day trips from Bhartpur.

Room Tip: The street is quiet and the house is set back so all the rooms are equally pleasant and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Quite a nice place to stay (double Rs 800). After staying in February 2011, we enthusiastically returned in February 2012. Very clean and comfortable, and excellent value. The owner is quite knowledgeable about birds. Like most Bharatpur tourist accommodation, it is on the same side of town as the bird sanctuary. It is perhaps 400m farther from the entrance to the bird sanctuary than the closest hotel – this mildly complicates the process of getting into the sanctuary early. Has its own excellent restaurant off the p-leasant back lawn and very friendly management.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
0.1 mi away
Iora Guest House
Iora Guest House
#1 of 27 in Bharatpur
175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#5 of 14 in Bharatpur
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#14 of 14 in Bharatpur
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 14 in Bharatpur
60 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#9 of 14 in Bharatpur
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Guest House

Property: Falcon Guest House
Address: Near RTDC Hotel Saras, Bharatpur 321001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Bharatpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a small, family-run establishment. Though we do not yet have any ambitious expansions plans, we sure want to run our setup as efficiently as we possibly can. Tourist flow to Bharatpur is seasonal - December, January, February being the heaviest months; October-November & March-April are less so; May to September is the usual off-season period, and we may offer about 20-30% discount on our room tariff (only). Though we do maintain skeletal room service (admittedly), we encourage all our guests to interact and eat at our restaurant on the ground floor - we ensure that you get absolutely fresh and literally steaming hot food that way ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falcon Guest House Hotel Bharatpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing