We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing is the view from the rooftop terrace”
Review of Hotel Indus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indus
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We booked the luxury room with views ot temple. Huge waste of money, the view is not great at all, you can barely see the top of the roof of the Golden Temple. And the room was TINY. This was the filthiest room we had in three weeks in India. It also was incredibly damp. This probably was once a nice hotel, but they let their standards go completely. The staff tried to be helpful, but they just didn’t know what to do. The view from the rooftop is great, but that’s about it. This hotel shows what difference it makes if the owners are actually there to manage the hotel on a daily basis. We would certainly not stay here again, maybe the more expensive hotels at the edge of the old city are better. (Apparently a new Ramada just opened a few hundred yards from the temple.)

Room Tip: Don't waste money on the rooms with a "view".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0E_D0E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 141 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is budget hotel near to langer hall golden temple.Only & only good thing about hotel is its proximity with golden temple and view of Harminder Saheb from its roof top.Lots of improvement is required in property.Rooms are average bathroom is smaller in size. On name of restaurant some chairs on its roof top but beautiful part is view of golden temple.If one will go by stair will see seepage on walls , patches. broken tiles. Hotel is not being maintained properly.Reception and lobby area is very small and not much impressive.I am very much thankful to the lady on reception who made me call as I left some of my luggage in room and return it in very good manner.So I can say staff are honest and helpful too. I stayed here only one day and then checked in other hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The proximity to the Golden Temple was the best part about the hotel. And even though it was right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, it was quiet in the room. The room was nice and dark but could benefit from a window as it was a bit stuffy and there was a bit of a damp smell in the air. The roof top views were sensational but the rooftop itself wasn't very nice, it was old and didn't have any atmosphere so we didn't want to sit out there too long. We think the hotel could make the space more attractive. Overall, it was a good budget hotel and we got what we wanted out of it.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Good option for Amritsar visitors, discreet and well located, quite clean rooms for indian standards, great overlooking the golden temple, just few steps from it, has wi-fi and friendly staff. Room is quite small, but okay. Enjoy the food and drinks around the area, just be carefully with the cleanliness!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joasphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Amritsar is a large and busy city with a lot of hotels.
After scanning a number of hotels we reached hotel INDUS and fell in love! Rooms are clean and elegant, the staff assistant and helps with any questions.
The hotel's proximity to the Golden Temple is a significant bonus and you can reach there within 2 minutes walk.
And the icing on the cake: the view is breathtaking from the restaurant floor (especially at night)!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I read lots of reviews and did some research before visiting Amritsar about hotels there. I chose Indus only and Only for its strategic location. Indus is a budget hotel by its size and standard, but manages to charge a 3* hotel rate, simply by encasing its locational advantage. The hotel is right opposite the Golden Temple. We booked a Super Deluxe room. I'd already read reviews here (and which I must say were very helpful and accurate), hence I was prepared for the very standard / budget category that was presented to us. I don't say they were cheating, infact the hotel manager was extremely helpful and polite, but the overall hotel doesn't simply have anything that can be categorized as higher than standard. The specialty of the Super Deluxe room (there are two of them) is the view - you see the Golden temple from your room window.
however, if you miss this room during peak season, there is the view from the rooftop, open to all guests. The first full view of the Golden Temple, as we climbed the rooftop after checking in, was simply breathtaking. There was the temple, its gold glittering in rain washed daylight, in the middle of a clean, blue, glistening lake and surrounded by other white structures / temples in the complex. And the location gave us the advantage to visit the temple as many times we wished, and at all hours in the day - you just need to walk out of the hotel, cross the road and enter the temple complex.
The rooms and bathroom are as clean as you can expect from a standard, budget room. We went in the rainy season and heavy rains caused water to seep from the top floor and flood the corridors and enter our room, but the hotel staff was prompt to clean whenever asked for. Food is ordinary, we had most of our meals from the mouth watering eateries in the area outside.

I would recommend Indus for the view and the location.

Room Tip: Always ask for the Super Deluxe, temple view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayM1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly located across from the golden temple, the view from the rooftop restaurant cannot be beat in Amritsar. The place itself is definitely budget quality, though the account works quite nicely. The deluxe room I had did not have any windows but was good enough for the money and location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hokiegenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#70 of 98 in Amritsar
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#55 of 98 in Amritsar
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#29 of 98 in Amritsar
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#68 of 98 in Amritsar
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#65 of 98 in Amritsar
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indus

Address: 211/3 Car Parking Road | Opp. Golden Temple, Galiara, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $23 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Indus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Air-conditioned. 24 hours running hot & cold water, 1 minute walking distance from Golden Temple. Complimentary tea & coffee sachets in the rooms. Duvets in all the rooms. Lift facility available, even to terrace. Airport railway transfer facility available (charges extra). Direct dialing telephone from all the rooms. Online internet facility in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indus Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing