We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dishonest Advertising.”
Review of Hotel Indus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Indus
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed July 24, 2008

I'd made a reservation with this hotel based on their website, where it describes their super deluxe rooms as having
"a direct view of Golden Temple from their Balconies". However, none of the rooms we were shown had a balcony - just a smoked-glass window.

The rooms were small, passable, but quite how we'd imagined.

Furthermore, what the website called a 'Terrace Garden Over Looking Golden Temple' was the flat unshaded roof, whose only decoration was a pile of cigarette butts in the corner.

We expressed our disappointment to the hotel staff, but they refused to return our passport and insisted that we talk to the owner over the telephone. This repeated three times before my wife managed to snatch our passports from the receptionist.

We beat a hasty retreat and stayed at the hotel next door - whose prices were similar, rooms slightly larger, but which hadn't mislead us.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Winstaan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 143 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2008

My wife kids and I had stayed at the hotel and booked 2 super deluxe room. The rooms were cramped but comfortable; and clean too. The staff were curteous and helpful. The food on menu limited but made as per choice i.e. less oil and spicy. The best part of the hotel is its right next to the Golden Temple.
Good place for a 1 or two day stay. Would not recommend it for a long stay.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Sidharath_Kapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Was not impressed with the size of the rooms we booked which were super delux. I booked these because of the views over the Golden Temple but the windows also over looked a rubbish tip. Staff were friendly enough. Menu was limited and the only place to eat was on the terrace but it was too hot so we had to manage in our room and use the bed for a table. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JillBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We made our reservations after seeing the feedback on the property on tripadvisor.com. I must say that the place exceeded our expectations. Very clean and well kept rooms and bathrooms. The proximity to the Golden Temple is it's usp.
The staff were very helpful, polite and courteous. Worth the price

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apukash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed in this hotel yesterday night (23rd April) and were really happy with our stay. The super delux room is small (the property itself is in a very small area) but comfortable as they have managed to put in all the basic stuff like a table chair, TV, mini fridge along with a double bed in the room. The room was spotless with very clean linen and the bathroom had very good fittings and it was very clean too. This is surprising considering similar kind of hotels are not as clean in India (of what I have seen). The room service was also very good and the front desk staff was very responsive and helpful. We asked them where to buy all the local stuff and they were able to guide us to good shops.

The location of the hotel is excellent (right next to golden temple) and the view of the golden temple from the terrace is amazing (check it out at night)! We didn't hear any music played in the temple in our room though.

However, one of the issues with the hotel is that AC control is not in the room but is controlled by the front desk and they keep the AC freezing cold during the night! I would still recommend this hotel but just be very cautious of the AC! You can ask the front desk to turn off the AC in your room even during the night (we did at 3 AM!).

Overall, I would rate this hotel "very good" when you compare it with other similar hotels in India and with the amount of money you pay!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VijayMathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

Great little family run hotel. Very clean and tidy, good value for the location. Literally 50m from the Golden Temple entrance. View from the roof was spectacular, both morning and evening. Staff were helpful, negotiated a good price for a taxi to the Wagha border (this is a must do!)

Golden Temple was very spiritual as you would expect, however we were bowled over by the friendliness of everyone. Amritsar was a great bustling town, very "genuine" with friendly people.

We recommend the 0720 express train from Delhi, returning the next day on the 1700, back in Delhi by 11.00pm.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvsrilanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

It is just OK. It is really close to the golden temple, which is a plus, rooms and bathroom are cleanish, no complaints, but it is just OK. The staff is very very friendly and helpful, though.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank HotelSpy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#65 of 99 in Amritsar
412 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#53 of 99 in Amritsar
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#26 of 99 in Amritsar
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#63 of 99 in Amritsar
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#28 of 99 in Amritsar
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#67 of 99 in Amritsar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indus

Address: 211/3 Car Parking Road | Opp. Golden Temple, Galiara, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $23 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Indus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Air-conditioned. 24 hours running hot & cold water, 1 minute walking distance from Golden Temple. Complimentary tea & coffee sachets in the rooms. Duvets in all the rooms. Lift facility available, even to terrace. Airport railway transfer facility available (charges extra). Direct dialing telephone from all the rooms. Online internet facility in all the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Indus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indus Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing