We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Punjabi Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kesar da Dhaba

Kesar da Dhaba
Ranked #3 of 358 Restaurants in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New Delhi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Authentic Punjabi Food”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

If one is traveling to Amritsar, this place calls for at least one visit.

It offers a authentic punjabi food, and that too in a real environment.

Reaching this place is little tricky, as one needs to cross all narrow and congested streets of Amritsar.

Sitting arrangement is of a typical dhaba, but still recommended of authentic punjabi food it offers.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Harshmeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    715
    435
    153
    71
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
“Legendary but needs serious upgradation”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Punjab is the land of Dhabas and Kesar is definitely one of the better ones. But being a non-veg freak, I could not enjoy their butter loaded Dal and Roti as much as I should have. Also location wise, it needs a little more refurbishing. Average is my take on it.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank aayushrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very tasty food”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I was at Kesar da dhaba, yesterday.

Now I am from Jodhpur, so I am not alien to food rich in "pure ghee". But Kesar da dhabba does live up to the reputation.

The food was tasty, a little spicy and cooked in lot of ghee. Yet the cost of food is definitely minimal. The ambiance is rustic, so if you are one of those sophisticated people this place is not for you. You get a taste of Punjab in every bite.

We went in the evening, and menu was not very elaborate. There were about 5-10 curries to choose from, which was more than enough for me as I am not very choosy. I loved the Sarson ka saag, palak paneer, and daal.

Unfortunately they didn't have makki ki roti available when I was there, something that everyone who comes to Punjab for the first time must try.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smalpani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't be set down by the appearance”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We went to try out Kesar da Dhaba but the first time we got there, we questioned ourselves if that simple restaurant could be the one we read on Tripadvisor. We decided to go to another one that day because we weren't too sure if that was really the one.

The next day, we made sure we were at the correct place and went in. The place is very very simple with marble tables and wooden benches. Even thought they spoke nothing of english, the service was good and the waiter was patient and tried to understand us at all costs (which is great when you don't speak the language and you don't know the name of the foods)

The food was amazing! The Prantha Alluwala was the best prantha ever and everything was cooked perfectly. We actually had the chance to go and see the kitchen after the meal and it is all very authentic! It still looks like a restaurant from 100 years ago but the food is just as amazing as it must have been back then.

The problem is how to get there. The address is totally useless since it is in the alleyways and the best way to find the place is to take a tuk-tuk and ask him to take you there. For those who like to have an idea where they are going, I marked the spot on the GPS and the coordinates are 31.624373,74.872618. Enjoy

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gGzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Wow what tasty basic food”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Eat quarter of what your eyes tell you to eat. Food is extremely tasty and heavy. Easy to over eat. Then you wont have place for the sweet firni and the famous lassi ( youghurt drink )

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kesar da Dhaba also viewed

 

Been to Kesar da Dhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing