We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location, location”
Review of Hotel City Heart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel City Heart
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

the location of this hotel makes it a perfect place to stay in amritsar ! it is just 2-3 minutes walking distance to the Golden temple and Jallianwala baug. the local market starts just as you come out of the hotel.
About the rooms, we were initially booked under the super deluxe category of rooms. Room No 201 is a super deluxe room whereas 202 is a deluxe room. the difference in the rates between both the categories is substantial, however the rooms are almost identical. Room 204 is really small.. so pls do not opt for 204. None of the rooms have any view so basically all you need to look at is the space inside. please note only some rooms in deluxe category have room heaters.
the food is strictly OK.. but being in amritsar does not leave you hungry as there r plenty of options outside. for those who do not want to eat Indian food, there is Subway and Dominos pizza just around the corner.

overall, stay in city heart if you plan to do a couple of trips to the golden temple and are travelling on a budget.

Room Tip: please take a look at the room first. do ask for options in the same category of rooms as the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shr_Mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    102
    64
    16
    14
See reviews for
95
81
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Okay so there is a doorman, two beautiful elephant statues in the foyer and a lift. The Hotel has an air of great quality but it is a thin veneer. We had a deluxe room (3,150) that was not particularly clean, the wifi was extra. We moved to the City Inn that was (1,550) half the price and much better value.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian-yogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I must stay the HOTEL WAS JUST GREAT( FROM SERVICE TO STAFF TO TEA TO CLEANLINESS) ALL was just PERFECT.
I arrived Amritsar at 6:45AM via flight from delhi and reached hotel around 7:30 AM. They gave me the room in 1/2hr after cleaning it...
Tea was just awesome, good taste....
Rooms was very clean and all basic amenities were there
Biggest advantage " Jaliawala Bagh just 20 meters from hotel and Golden template 150 meters from hotel.All shopping & Resturant places nearby like ( Wholesale Cloth market - 1 1/2km , Amritsari Kulcha 100 meters, Bharawa da dhaba 1 km ) and many more...
Thanks to Mr Baldev who was really nice and polite and Morning Guard man ( i forgot the name) who guided us to the best place at chepest cost.

Room Tip: SPA is Not Applicable and Not AVailable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yati1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

The hotel is not far from the golden tempel so easy to reach by feed. When we arrived, they showed as some rooms on all levels. The rooms in the cellar had a bad smell due to the wet bath and low circulation of air - so we decided to get a room in the first floor.
The rooms are clean and ok for some nights but not worth the price. We asked for Wifi which will be charged on top. The view out of the windows is directly stopped by a white wall.
During the night there was a lot of noise due to families arriveing and leaving the hotel - nobody really cared about that until we opend the door to complain.

Room Tip: Don't choose rooms in the cellar due to low air circulation and a wet smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sap13marco_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

hi im himanshu im sating in city heart hotel its really CITY HEART IN AMRITSAR Rooms is So Good its Neat& Clean Staff IS friendly reception Manager is Good Is Friendly atmosphere Room Is Cheap & Best Rates. only Walking Distance to The golden Temple ...........

Room Tip: corner rooms is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 223himanshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very central location right in the "heart" of it all. Very close to the Golden Temple but also very busy and congested area-like the rest of the old city area. Reserved a "super deluxe room" but in reality looked more like the lesser "deluxe room" from the pics on the hotel's website. Also the pics of the hotels lobby and reception areas appear much more upscale than in reality. Clean and friendly staff. Careful the google map is wrong, hotel is actually where the "Robin Hotel" is ON Golden Temple road, half block before just before it turns at Jallianwala Bagh heading towards Golden Temple.
Older doorman is very genuinely friendly, one of the few people I really wanted to freely tip. Unfortunately he was off duty when we left.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto front - Golden Temple Road are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2monkeys-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel in past and have realised that its location makes it very good. I can walk down to golden temple . The market around is nice and gives feeling of old amritsar.
rooms got beautiful interiors and clean as well. bathrooms are clean so felt that its hygenic, which is most important.
services were prompt, though we didnt got the chance to eat much in the hotel. the breakfast was filling and sufficient .
Will definitely stay in this hotel if we come again to india.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandeep s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 98 in Amritsar
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#26 of 98 in Amritsar
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#74 of 98 in Amritsar
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#42 of 98 in Amritsar
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Robin
Hotel Robin
#35 of 98 in Amritsar
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#16 of 98 in Amritsar
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel City Heart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel City Heart

Property: Hotel City Heart
Address: Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel City Heart 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel City Heart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Heart Hotel
City Heart Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing