We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth though expesive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Shiraz Regency
Ranked #17 of 114 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed February 9, 2009

We arrived at the hotel at around 10:00 PM and the booking was clearly stating that its 24hours from the time of checkin.

Further, the room service guy is a bit lazy, for any food items we order he keeps stressing on going to the hotel Orchid which is in the basement. He never served anything!!!

Anyways we had been in the hotel in the afternoon the next day. However, none of them from the hotel informed that they have a standard 12:00 noon checkout.

later at 7:00 they immediately started telling that they tried reaching us by all ways, but couldnt and that i need to pay extra for the stay.

Anyways, this was how the scenario was. But, overall hotel was good. SERVICE STINKS!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank easydelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 565 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2009

I requested our travel agent to book teh Shiraz Regency specifically based on the previuos reviews here. Howver i was really disappinted with the overall standard. On arrival we entered through a very dusty and untidy reception. Perhaps they were replacing their front door which could account for some of teh dirt in teh reception area, but it was a disappointing first impression. Although the rooms were attractively decorated the bathroom left much to be desired, with a 5cm layer of black mould in teh bath stool's legs and bucket, which although we didn't use, we still felt disgusted at the sight. The sheets and towels provided were damp, with the excuse given that the weather was not suitable for their laundry to dry properly. But teh worst was the noice from their banquet room on the 1st floor. There was a function and the music went on till 1am!! With our room on the floor above it felt as if we were in the midst of a rowdy discoteque - very bad insulation.On a positive side the adjacent restaurant served tasty and well priced meals. But my parents are travelling to Amristar next month and i have definetly advised them to book elsewhere.

Stayed: January 2009
Thank SA_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed in a studio room at the Shiraz Regency for 3 nights as part of a sightseeing tour of North India. The hotel was extremely clean and the room and facitlites were excellent - the shower was more powerful than ours at home! Breakfast is taken either in the room or in the restaurant next door to the hotel (but which is actually part of the hotel), and is very good. Staff were extremely helpful, especially the manager, who was always happy to chat and and who sent us to best dhaba in town for breakfast kulchas. Location was fine, just along the road from Crystal restaurant and 5 mins from Golden temple by rickshaw. The only downside was the amount and volume of noise from the corridor at night - the structure of the hotel is such that noise is amplified and and echoes around, which mean that it was rarely peaceful until all the guests had returned for the night. Overall though, a very good hotel with friendly, helpful staff - we'd defin itely stay there again..

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sandra_wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel recently and we were very impressed. This was my first time in India and the hotel made the trip even more excellent.

Airport pickup
Arrived On time and had AC. Driver helped find somewhere to change our cash sterling on a sunday...when banks were shut!!

Location
Near railway station, banks (xchanging cash), good shops around for shopping - womens suits/saris. Best to get taxi to Golden Temple a couple of miles away. Hotel is on a main road, can be noisy but you get used to it. Turn right from hotel and there is a mitai shop that sells bottled water, crisps, pop etc. Turn left from hotel, walk to end of road and turn left...there are shops along this road including a cinema, music dvd shop (15mins walk) department store(15 mins walk).

Check in
Very effiecient. They double booked our room but were apologetic and offered us alternative room options. The room we selected was cheaper and better!

Staff
Reception staff were very helpful. Manish and another young gentleman (with curtain hair cut - works evenings) were brilliant, so helpful and really helped with our stay. They arranged a driver when required and provided directions. Room service staff were also very polite and effiecent.

Room
We stayed in room 3016, had a fab double shower with body shower!! Clean toilet and glass sink...very modern. Bedroom had ceiling fan and AC. Bed was super king side and comfortable.

Food
We didn't try the restuarant, but used room service. Food was fabulous..no food poisening (although only had veggie food) and breakfast is complimentary.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaur_parm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2008

This review is thanks to fellow reviewers who helped me choose the Shiraz Regency during my first visit to Amritsar. It was also the first time I booked a hotel room through an online travel site (Cleartrip.com) and the Tripadvisor ratings system is a real boon, I must say.
Shiraz Regency has almost everything you expect from your hotel while on a holiday--clean sheets, clean towels, tasteful decor, unobtrusive service and above all, the perfect location. It's reasonably close to the railway station but central enough to get anywhere you want to, without being noisy or annoying.
Service levels may not be impeccable, but the staff is well-intentioned and responds promptly.
The room service more than makes up for the absence of a restaurant, which should open anytime now. Our (inclusive) breakfast, which had choices of a Punjabi one (parathas with pickle) and a Western one (omelette, toast, jam, canned juice and tea) had generous portions and kept us going till late afternoon. Including some fresh fruit would have made it perfect, though. Room service is 24 hours, by the way.
It would also be nice if they could provide guests a complimentary quick guide and map of Amritsar upon arrival.
While a car pick up from the railway station to the hotel was part of the deal, the hotel pleasantly surprised us by dropping us back to the station while checking out.
On the whole, a great stay and I would recommend this hotel to just about anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank curios007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We visited Amritsar in the middle of summer, 3 adults, two senior citizens and a 9-year old. They sent car to pick us from station. Hotel was located in a clean locality and not far from the raliway station. Hotel was neat and clean, rooms were spacious and well maintained. Airconditioning was woking all the time. Everyone enjoyed the rooms and the hospitality of the staff. Hotel does not have a restaurant but food is served in the banquet hall apart from in-room service.

If we visit Amritsar again, we will stay in Shiraz. We have already recommended two visiting families to stay in Shiraz.

Mukerjis
New Delhi

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mukerjis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at the Shiraz in August, for two nights. The room was very nice, the sheets white and clean, the bathroom was spotless, the service very good, the AC was a relief.
The public areas here can be improved - the entrance lobby is not so nice well as the hallways. Otherwise its good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna5455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#3 of 114 in Amritsar
1,008 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#15 of 114 in Amritsar
555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 114 in Amritsar
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#24 of 114 in Amritsar
146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#4 of 114 in Amritsar
1,024 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#12 of 114 in Amritsar
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiraz Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiraz Regency

Address: 3 Queens Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $28 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shiraz Regency 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most centrally located hotel, providing all the luxurious amenities at a very decent price, we are committed to providing you with personalized, professional guest service and genuine hospitality. Our "Yes I Can!" service philosophy focuses on empowering employees to make sure that you are completely satisfied with your stay. We also offer complimentary breakfast, free pickup from the local railway station free of cost. Golden temple is just one and a half km from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shiraz Regency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing