We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with lovely people but needs a few things to be sorted...”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed here for two nights and had a suite with a lovely outside seating area on the first floor. Room was spacious and comfortable but the solar powered shower was very capricious! If you weren't getting scalded, you were frozen and on the last morning, the water stopped altogether!
The staff were really nice and helpful and there were wonderful smells all over the hotel. Both breakfast and dinner were excellent.
We visited the Golden Temple, Durga's Temple and watched the closing of the border ceremony-Wagah, which were all excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Amritsar but not sure if we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LostinDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Ranjit's SVAASA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 472 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2008

This is a small and quiet location, with a lovely calming atmosphere. Our guide, who took us to the golden temple, and the Wagh border, was excellent as was the driver. Both provided through the hotel as part of Svassa tours. The rooms have character, and it's worth paying a little extra for a suite if you prefer more space. Our shower wasn't working properly on the first day but they quickly sorted it out. Meals are also very good, and it was one of the only places on our tour where we stayed in for dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Ranjit's Svaasa is a real oasis. A very genuine Indian experience with warm staff and beautiful rooms in a wonderful old house. Having stayed in hotels all over India, this one is really special. Try the ayurvedic treatment while you're there. Not for those who only want Western style - then go for a Taj. Ranjit's Svaasa is a much more intimate environment - so peaceful. I had a really wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mo211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at the Ranjit Svaasa.

Located off the main road it is lovely and quiet.

As soon as you open the doors to the reception you are greeted by a peaceful atmosphere, cool air and the wonderful smell of lemongrass. It is also nice to see that it is well kept and clean.

The decor is colonial style. If you are tired of business hotels that all look the same...you are going to love it at the Ranjit Svaasa!

The majority of the staff were freindly and helpful. Only a couple of the women seemed a littel aloof on a couple of occasions.

The food is very good although I only used the snack menu which is priced very reasonably compared to larger hotels. I can recommend the vegetable kathi rolls, veg biryani, veg pizza, tea and cake and the grilled sanwiches! The buffet breakfast isn't as vast as larger establishments but you will still get a good meal with both Indian and Continental to choose from. I don't remember the name but they do a very tasty Indian savoury pancake in the mornings which should be tried. None of the food I ate here gave me any tummy problems.

I tried the Spa facilities and booked myself in for a head massage. As I had just caught a cold the lady used oils and techniques that would alleviate some of the symptoms. It was 25 mins of bliss and well worth the 500 rupees I paid (approx. £6).

I stayed in the Sunrise room which was humungous! The bathroom was also a good size with a large tub. The room had air con, in room safe, tea and coffee making facilities, etc. Bathroom came with slippers, gown and toilettries. All rooms are none smoking but most have a patio/terrace outside so popping out for a ciggy is no problem.

They have free wifi access although the connection isn't always that good.

Location wise there's not much about. There is a small shopping mall about 5 mins away but it isn't up to much.

The only thing that was mildly irritating was the hot water. As the water is heated from solar panels on the roof it can take a little while before reaching a decent temperature. The shower in my room was also a little feeble.

Should I go back to Amritsar...this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank baozao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2008

August 22-23, 2008

I had wanted to celebrate my birthday a little differently this time, and that's why I decided to pay a visit to the city of Amritsar. Having visited and known the standard of hotels in the smaller towns of India, I was slightly skeptical on the quality of accomodation I would get in Amritsar. But I have to admit I am so glad I made the choice of staying here, inspite of reading the mixed reviews on tripadvisor.

It is a really old house in one small inroad of Amritsar and it is beautiful. The owners have done it up with vintage furniture. Most of the guests are foreigners (to the extent that some local people I contacted before visiting had not heard of it). Considering I did not want to spend my birthday cribbing about unclean and depressing rooms, I could not have been happier to have stayed here.

Having said that, I think it's important to know what to expect from the place. If you are looking for a lavish 5 star accomodation, this is not the place. The towels are not immaculately soft with the threadcount standards intact, or smelling of some pleasant fabric softener aroma. But if you enjoy living at a home away from home, you should like it. It's got terraces, courtyards, a small lawn, all done up very well. I can't disagree that maybe it is a little overpriced, but I would rather pay couple of thousands more than fight with the feeling of going back to a depressing room. Finally, yes, the staff is no doubt friendly - but a little hassled at times - be it at the check in desk or inside the dining hall. I did not think they were hotel management students, but just locals helping out, but to reiterate very polite and pleasant. Like I said, its a more like a house/home and less like a hotel - so the service was not devoid of mistakes - but it's only a matter of chance. I have stayed at other non 5-star lodges, and cottages before, but the staff and service here was much much better than those standards. They also have a small memento for you to take back when checking out.

Finally, if you are looking for a heavy, greasy typical Punjabi feast, step out. The food again is just like you would get at an Indian household (which by the way is not all greasy and oily on an everyday basis). They also have a spa which looked nice, but unfortunately I did not have the time to experience that. The only other thing you may want to step out for is hired taxi's - though they do have standard tours available to see the sights in the city, it is a overpriced. However, if you are not comfortable finding your way through - it's not a bad option.

Overall, I think an excellent place to say - I will definitely go back to visit the golden temple sometime..and this is where I am gonna stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Nice Property but Aloof , we had to go deep into the gullies to reach the hotel. At first we were afraid but after that when we reached the hotel it was okay.

All was good but only the Location was Awful , the Gullies was not what I expected to reach to this hotel. Rest I would say if it had been a Hill Station , i would have been happy at this hotel but in Amritsar , this Hotel is not meant for this city ( i was there to visit places not relax )

I spite of everything I would Rate this Hotel at 2 stars.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hiphopperhip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2008

Ranjits SVAASA is one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. The care and attention of the staff is wonderful - quiet but attentive. You should feel very proud of your hotel and the care you all give to weary travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hansenuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 98 in Amritsar
1,672 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 98 in Amritsar
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 98 in Amritsar
179 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $80 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing