We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We didn't have long enough to make the most of this beautiful old family home but it will be on my list to come back to. We were welcomed with a delicious hot drink of herbal something which I would also like to drink again! Beautifully furnished rooms, very stylish and a lovely breakfast too. The only downside was that we were at the golden temple until quite late and the room was very cold when we returned, however, would recommend this as a beautiful place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a heater if there in December
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 482 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in December. The room were great and comfortable for 2 adults and 2kids. The shower was really bad and is the only negative.
The property is old and not very large but still very charming. The staff are most courteous and friendly. The restaurant while having a limited menu offers very tasty food.
Their excursions are very good but pricey.
All in all the place is slightly expensive but definitely a worthwhile experience.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank jswaminat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went the last weekend & i would say our trip was Ok. The hotel was cozy however few things like room service & breakfast was below normal. Yes, i may recommend this hotel to others but obviously not true value for the money spent

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank deeps_mantri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The title says it all.Kerala n Ayurvedic spa treatments and smell in everything 'Punjab'.All male staff is Local but most Female staff is from down south....Wow !it was interesting.Being a heritage hotel we thought it to be a Local Punjabi fare but whoop we forgot what Punjabiyat is all about ....Fusion! Corridors and Sitting areas are museums with all kind of artefacts from around India and the main walkway at the entrance is adorned by pics of the bygone Mehra family and also a larger than life latest COUPLE of the family.....but all said and done its neat, well located,private,period but old and everything 'fusion'..... Worth a try....actually ! To feel what Punjab is all about .Errr the buffet breakfast by the way also was FUSION! Also the staff....I'm still smiling......

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank teenmusafir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We only had one night here but what a lovely place to stay. The hotel is quite central, about 20 mins by rickshaw to the Golden Tempe, but is off the main road at the end of a lane so we didn't feel that we were in the middle of a town at all. Not only is it quiet, its leafy shaded garden is a lovely place to eat lunch or just relax with a book.
It is the epitome of colonial charm. The room was spacious with attractive furnishings and had a small sitting room with TV separate from the bedroom. Our son had a proper bed not a rollaway.
The food was lovely - although service wasn't speedy; the staff were all welcoming and friendly throughout our stay.The shower was surprisingly good, though it was best to wait a little after it had been used to allow the geyser to reheat fully. It was a far nicer place to stay than any standard hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a group tour. All the rooms are individual and full of character. Or room - more of a suite- was enormous and clean. My only quibble was the electrics - some of the sockets were so worn that the plugs fell out of them! The staff were very friendly but obviously overworked especially in the kitchen, It took over an hour from ordering to be served a bowl of soup. The dining room was incredibly dark so it was difficult to see what you were eating from the buffet

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Here is how to do Amritsar - first, check in at Ranjit's Svassa, sip the warm aromatic tea laced with cinnamon, as your luggage is taken to our room. Soak in the atmosphere of a bygone era, faithfully restored. The rooms add to the atmosphere- comfortable, well appointed with period furniture. The Golden Temple is just 10-15 minutes by pedal rickshaws (Rs.50 - 100). Lawrence road and the puri-chole dhabha are just a brisk walk away!

Pay homage at the Golden Temple - to a faith and devotion of a rustic hard-working people. Make sure you take the Nishan Sahib entrance - it is less crowded and on the way back, stop at the famous Jalebi wala. Plan your meal at Brahwan da Dabha. Meal 1 - Kulcha, chole. Meal two, roti and dal. Meal three sarson saag and makki rothi. Shop around the corner at Katra Jaimal Singh. Ask your way to Kesar Dabha - on the way you would pass thru almost all the shopping Amritsar has to offer.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. If it is Amritsar it is got to be Ranjits Svassa.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 99 in Amritsar
1,738 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 99 in Amritsar
198 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 99 in Amritsar
1,110 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 99 in Amritsar
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $85 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing