We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A homely and warm experience”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Well, I don’t agree with the last reviewer as the staff including the owners were very soft and courteous. We had stayed at Svaasa Suit called Dev Chand and were given a replacement once they found that the Geyser wend faulty.

The suit was designed very ethnic infact I guess Dev Chand is the best available suit in the SPA. It was very spacious with a separate compartment for an extra bed. It had fruits and herbal tea available with very nice perfume of Incense spread over the place.

Upon arrival we had a warm welcome with a Mouli (a orange thread considered auspicious) tied on the wrists and a herbal tea. Jasvinder, the front officer greeted us with a smile. Then we were served very tasty and homely lunch - a very very personalised approach.

We almost got everything that we had asked for during the stay except of a shaving cream/razor which they never bothered to arrange inspite of the repeated requests which is less expected considering the rents that were paid.

You must try booking one of the Svaasa Suits as these are spacious with better ambience and decor compared to normal rooms.

We had also loved the ethnic ambience of the place with wonderful incense spread across which made things look as if we were a part of a colonial bungalow.

Inspite of the above good points there were certain dents to this not so luxurious property which was relatively high priced considering Amritsar City.

1. The buffet breakfast was very limited and you may get disappointed incase you are used to 5star buffet. There was only one person managing the breakfast infact on one of the days the bread slice got burnt as the girl was serving other guests.
2. Its a small property incase one is looking for a bigger hotel.
3. There is no TV available in the rooms. So not suited for small children or people looking for such entertainment media.
4. The place is relatively far from Golden temple and even an Auto charges close to Rs. 100 which is somehow difficult to find and rickshaw is also inconvenient considering the condition of the roads.
5. The spa closes by 7 pm which is very unlikely of a hotel as you normally return from your daily excursions after that time.

But upon complete evaluation, it was a worthwhile experience and also one can experience peace and tranquility by staying close to this family which is running this spa.

Needless to say, I also than efforts of Varun from welcome heritage who had booked this property for me.

You may contact Mr. Dadhwal for the local sightseeing, traveling to Wagah Border and visiting Taran Taran a wonderful place 25 kms from Amritsar. On the way our driver drove in-between the local villages which were a wonderful sight in between yellow flower covered farms. Mr. Dadhwal could be contacted on :[----].

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vikkyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 478 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

Well, I don’t agree with the last reviewer as the staff including the owners were very soft and courteous. We had stayed at Svaasa Suit called Dev Chand and were given a replacement once they found that the Geyser wend faulty.

The suit was designed very ethnic infact I guess Dev Chand is the best available suit in the SPA. It was very spacious with a separate compartment for an extra bed. It had fruits and herbal tea available with very nice perfume of Incense spread over the place.

Upon arrival we had a warm welcome with a Mouli (a orange thread considered auspicious) tied on the wrists and a herbal tea. Jasvinder, the front officer greeted us with a smile. Then we were served very tasty and homely lunch - a very very personalised approach.

We almost got everything that we had asked for during the stay except of a shaving cream/razor which they never bothered to arrange inspite of the repeated requests which is less expected considering the rents that were paid.

You must try booking one of the Svaasa Suits as these are spacious with better ambience and decor compared to normal rooms.

We had also loved the ethnic ambience of the place with wonderful incense spread across which made things look as if we were a part of a colonial bungalow.

Inspite of the above good points there were certain dents to this not so luxurious property which was relatively high priced considering Amritsar City.

1. The buffet breakfast was very limited and you may get disappointed incase you are used to 5star buffet. There was only one person managing the breakfast infact on one of the days the bread slice got burnt as the girl was serving other guests.
2. Its a small property incase one is looking for a bigger hotel.
3. There is no TV available in the rooms. So not suited for small children or people looking for such entertainment media.
4. The place is relatively far from Golden temple and even an Auto charges close to Rs. 100 which is somehow difficult to find and rickshaw is also inconvenient considering the condition of the roads.
5. The spa closes by 7 pm which is very unlikely of a hotel as you normally return from your daily excursions after that time.

But upon complete evaluation, it was a worthwhile experience and also one can experience peace and tranquility by staying close to this family which is running this spa.

Needless to say, I also than efforts of Varun from welcome heritage who had booked this property for me.

You may contact Mr. Dadhwal for the local sightseeing, traveling to Wagah Border and visiting Taran Taran a wonderful place 25 kms from Amritsar. On the way our driver drove in-between the local villages which were a wonderful sight in between yellow flower covered farms. Mr. Dadhwal could be contacted on :[----].

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vikkyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My family and I went to Amristar for the religious sites. After a day of touring, we arrived at the hotel. We found a dank hotel with a million steps to climb for our rooms. Once we arrived at the rooms, the bathrooms smelled like a sewer and the toilet was leaking black fluid on the floor. One member of our group is disabled, so after a few of us climbed the steps we returned to the lobby to ask if we could have one room on the first or second floor for her. The reaction at the front desk was like nothing we've ever seen. The owner came bursting out and accused us of trying to escape our obligation to pay! She started yelling and cursing at us for making the request. We were acting quite reasonably...we weren't looking for a discount or anything else. We certaintly weren't yelling or acting in an angry manner. We simply needed a room with less stairs to climb for our disabled and elderly group member. We were stunned when the owner then demanded for us to leave! After travelling all over the world, in hotels good and bad, I've never been ordered out of an establishment. We then went next door to the 'Ritz' hotel where we were able to rest the night in clean, simple rooms for half the price.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hkbhullar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVAASA, Mr. Abhimanyu Mehra - Owner at Ranjit's SVAASA, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2008

Greetings.

It amazes me the way you have fabricated this story. Offcourse, not pertaining in any which way to reality. But we show our grace tjust the way we did the other day when you checked in.
Looking forward to serve you again.

With Bliss

Abhimanyu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

This is a wonderful property. The grounds and public sitting areas are beautifully maintained, relaxing and inviting. Our room was a nice size and tastefully decorated, with a sitting room adjacent. The bathroom was plenty large for two people, had all the modern necessities (hair dryer, plug, and hot water), and nice towels. I'm kind of a princess, and after the Taj Lake Palace in Udaipur, I wasn't sure what to expect. It's not the Taj (what is?) but it did not disappoint. One word of caution: I'm not a foodie, so I did not mind the uninspired menu selections (cheese omelette every day is fine by me). But if you're looking for a great dining experience, I'd recommend eating outside of the hotel. The food is tasty and filling; not much else can be said about it. The staff was very friendly and attentive, but not overly so. Finally, as of November, 2007, they did not take American Express.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoobySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We have lived in India for almost four years and have a good idea what the quality of a room should be at various prices. We paid 7500 INR for a room on the top floor of the Svassa that should have been no more than 2500 INR. The quality of the room was very poor. When we went to our room, lights were burned out, the floor in the bathroom near the toilet was soaked because the sprayer was leaking and the toilet bowl would not fill-up. By the front door, the power outlet had places for two items, even though there was a heater, refrigerator, hot water pot and a mosquito plug-in; four items for two outlets, very poor organization. The first morning, after my wife showered, I ran out of hot water half way through my shower, our daughter then had none. The second morning, I had no hot water and during my daughter's shower, she kept having scalding water then only cold. The breakfast was very limited also for the cost of the room. The dinner at the Svassa was very boring, nothing special at all and very limited selection. Overall, a very disappointing stay at a Heritage Hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rainier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

This was the first hotel we stayed in after arriving in India, and a very welcome start it was.

They have tried to make it an oasis in Amritsar and you do feel that you can relax here, albeit it is courtyards not gardens. It is not far from the sights too.

There were two couples in our party and both rooms were lovely, our friends' particularly so, opening onto a big verandah. The decor is in keeping with a heritage hotel. As it was our first night in India and we were tired we ate at the hotel. The food was acceptable, nothing special but tasty. The restaurant feels like a throwback to the 70s. Breakfast, of a similar standard, was served in a newer more spacious building.

Talking to other people, who had tried to get into this place, it would appear to be the best place to stay if you want to avoid an 'international' hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

This hotel is different to others. We spent Diwali in Amritsar and stayed here for 2 nights. The rooms were clean and we were given two rooms at the top of the building. There is a huge terrace which can be used by all the guests on the top of the building where the staff set off fireworks for Diwali.

The food is lovely and made fresh although the fish at lunch was under-cooked. The prices of drinks and food is reasonable. The staff are helpful and the treatments in the Spa are excellent. The hotel is off The Mall and the sign to find it is quite small. It is in a quiet location but we enjoyed our stay. We would definitely return here although we thought that the hotel was alittle over-priced.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank essex76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#7 of 98 in Amritsar
1,700 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 98 in Amritsar
1,088 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#6 of 98 in Amritsar
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $85 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing