We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Stay...”
Review of Ranjit's SVAASA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranked #10 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
US
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Stay...”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We had a wonderful stay.
The staff was very welcoming. Our room was clean and furnished nicely with furniture that reflected the period and nature of the hotel.
The general open areas were nicely done with both furniture and many period items that added a charming home like feel so that it was not like a commercial hotel.
All the food at the hotel was prepared to order and served with attentive courtesy.
We had a wonderful guide organised by the hotel. We were lucky to see the most holy and special part of the Golden Temple and the ceremony which the sacred book is placed in safekeeping for the night. Earlier that day he had taken us to see the India / Pakistan border closing which was a memorable experience. The next day we again saw the Golden Temple in the daylight (which is a must) including the back rooms and kitchens that serve thousands of pilgrims each day. We also saw two Hindu Temples, a very interesting museum and did some shopping.
I have taken time to highlight the tours because it reflects the commitment of the hotel to provide a full value added experience.

Finally, we had a massage in the spa that was one of the best ever.

We highly recommend this propery for those looking for a more personal experience.

Thanks for your help in making this a trip we will always remember.

Room Tip: The Amravati Suite is beautiful and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsuarez714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    158
    63
    23
    17
See reviews for
122
168
37
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Beautiful reviews on the net and travel books but was a bad experience for me. We reached by train at 6 in the morning. Rooms were not ready- buts that okay as they had said that earlier. They gave us a temp small room to freshen up in. no hot water was there. staff wasnt responsive. towels took a lot of time to come. We just left it and went to ISTA and that was the best decision of the trip. Having said that its a nice heritage property with focus on massages. But if you are having elderly or children in your group the laidback service can be a pain.

Room Tip: heard the rooms in the main building are better and bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManuKaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

As soon as arrived we knew we would love this hotel. Heritage appeal, feels like an Indian country house, good food (will long rememer lemon and coriander soup) and very helpful staff. Add to that a spa where we managed an impressive 5 treatments between 2 of us in 2 days (recommend the strange but wonderful leaf treatment!)
We would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Since we first arrived everyone of the staff have gone out of there way to oblige us in every way..The food has been fantastic,the rooms are clean and tidy..Loads of quiet and relaxing places to sit..Any body interested in an old Indian Heritage Hotel cannot help to be captivated by this enchanting place.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRITISHTIGERMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a charming little hotel right on a quiet leafy lane in Amritsar - located at a handy distance from the sights of the city. It's very peaceful, clean and quaint...full of antiques and old furniture, old photos, memorabilia. The staff is warm, friendly. The reception / lobby area and restaurant with outdoor tables is lovely. We had booked two rooms at the same price; however, one had a TV while the other didn't. But both were airconditioned and stocked with basic amenities (don't expect five-star-style dental kits and nail files!). I loved the experience of staying here. My trip to Amritsar was very short - just a day and a half. I wish we had more time to spend at the hotel...just enjoying the ambience and perhaps using the spa... I would definitely choose to stay here again if I return to Amritsar.

Room Tip: Base category rooms are not shoddy - go for it if you don't want to spend a lot. The direct rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solistice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
291 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This family run hotel was condemned by George as airy fairy but I quite liked it. We were warmly welcomed by the family, who tied welcome bracelets round our wrists, and shown into a lounge furnished like much of the hotel in a mixture of antiques and bric-a-brac. The rooms are large and well furnished. The dinning room was in a separate building with a choice of eating inside or out. The service was a might haphazard but this just seemed to suit the ambiance of the hotel. However our schedule in Amritsar was so intense we hardly spent any time at the hotel except when asleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
248 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Definitely different from anywhere else you will stay. Food is lovely. Owners rather removed.
Rooms very old heritage but quite quaint and vaguely charming. It's full of old photos and furniture and by candlelight looks very pretty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbrWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 97 in Amritsar
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
2.1 mi away
Regenta Central, Amritsar
Regenta Central, Amritsar
#14 of 97 in Amritsar
153 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranjit's SVAASA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranjit's SVAASA

Property: Ranjit's SVAASA
Address: 47-A, The Mall, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#7 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ranjit's SVAASA 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranjit's SVAASA is a creation out of a luxurious refurbishment of the 200 year old British Colonial Haveli, now plush with its characteristic boutique rooms and suites, fully equipped with modern amenities. The property also houses an award winning Spa in its restructured horse stables and cow sheds. The open courtyard plush with landscaped greenery and the rooftop organic vegetation all adorn the small yet beautiful manor. In the heart of the City, Ranjit's SVAASA is a peaceful haven to relax and cherish your holiday with authentic home cooked Punjabi food, with continental options. Enjoy meeting and interacting with the Mehra's, the Royal family descendants who personally manage and run this place making it a rich home away from home experience. Enjoy playing with the family dog or listening to the chirping birds or seeing the green parrots flying around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ranjit's SVAASA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcome Heritage Ranjit`s Svaasa Hotel Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Amritsar
Welcome Heritage Ranjits Svaasa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing