We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“golden temple”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed December 10, 2008

The rfeception was good. People adjusting and co-operating. Food was tolerable. Cleanliness requires improvement.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnarula47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 299 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2008

Our room in Amritsar was booked online, via an Indian website whose name I forget. We picked this hotel because of its location: right across the street from the train station!! No need for taxis, rickshaws, cycle rickshaws to arrive here.

When we arrived, we were worn out by an 18 hour train ride from Agra. The first thing we wanted to do was freshen up, so the hotel staff took us straight to our room. The room itself was mediocre: somewhat dark, a little cold, but obviously ten times better than the inside of a sleeper car. We tried the pub on-site, and found the food to be pretty good (again, after an 18 hour train ride).

The hotel offered free breakfast, which when included in the room rate (see other reviews for pricing), turned out to be a pretty good deal. A cycle rickshaw ride from the hotel to the Golden Temple took about 10 minutes. The owner of the hotel also helped arrange our trip to the India-Pakistan border ceremony with another couple staying at the hotel. We were able to access the internet on the hotel's public computers for a reasonable price.

What I remember most about our stay was the garden and the pub. We made some friends at the pub, and even had some drinks with the hotel owner!! The next day, the hotel owner was able to arrange transportation to our next destination, and even exchanged a good amount of US cash to rupees for us.

Overall, a good experience, and I would definitely stay at the Grand Hotel again.

Stayed: December 2007
Thank gsa_and_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

My stay was good. I found the hotel rooms neat, the toilets hygenic and the staff pretty helpful. It was made sure tht the rooms were cleaned and the linens changed daily. The garden is good only that the grass needs to be pruned. The airconditioning was good. The food served in the restaurant was far below my expectation. That was my only disappointment in my 7 day stay.
The guys at the reception were damn helpful and highly cooperative .
Anjali
Kolkata

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AnjaliKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Well... first of all, we didn't know if we wanted to spend a night in Amritsar, since we arrived very early in the morning and we were mainly interested in seeing only the Golden Temple.

However, after a bad train sleep, we were pulled into a recommended hotel just in front of the station: the Grand Hotel.

Maybe because we were very sleepy, maybe because the staff was very sleepy, and probably for both, when we were told the quote for a night we heard 250rp, which, after seeing the very nice room and the pretty central garden, we thought it was amazing, so quickly accepted and gone for a deserved little nap.

When we got up, we saw that the price was effectively 1250 rp, which made much more sense for the category of the hotel.

However...this was not any porblem.

Our guide (the Rough Guide) made special emphasis in how helpful the staff was. Trusting that, we asked them for info about buses to Dharamsala, answering that there are no buses til there, and that we'd better take a train. After double-checking somewhere else, we realised that they perfectly are buses.

Also, we were interested in visiting the India-Pakistan border ceremony. We've seen that they organised trips from the hotel, but they were a bit expensive and (once again, trusting the supposed helpfulness) we asked if there was any way to get there by public transport, either bus or rickshaw. To this question, once again, they said that there is no public transport... just taxis. And once again, we doublechecked somewhere else and of course there is other public transport... (in fact... is there anywhere in India where a rickshaw doesn't arrive?).

We got a taxi from somewhere else, much cheaper, and once the man in the counter noticed, began to push with lower prices and a petreous smile rather annoying. So my impression of them was not very good.

And the last one... we gave them our laundry, that was supposed to be ready in the morning, and when we got there they didn't do it, and our bag of dirty clothes was sitting in the same spot we left it the day before.

So!

The hotel is nice, but the staff made our stay a bit unplacid, and I wouldn't recommend it. Maybe we were unlucky, but anyway, that was our experience!

Stayed: December 2007
Thank ultrabert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

To be fair to this hotel, I would score this place 2.5/5 for value for money, however i have rounded it down because management need a bit of a kick up the bum to improve things.

Paid 1100 rupees for a basically clean room, however sheets were stained and overall feel was of an unloved place. Rooms was pretty gloomy and bathroom old and depressing.

Staff at front desk were ok, but could be a bit friendlier.

The internet did not work.

On a brighter side, the breakfast was good and was included in room tariff. the bar looked appealing for those into the "European bar scene", but i did not have time to visit. The hotel is located close to the train station.

I had my washing done here and it arrived back at the agreed time in tip top condition.

I cannot understand how lonely planet gave this place the "our pick" award. Disappointing advice lonely planet!

Overall you can do better elsewhere.

Graham
AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Holidaylad40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Nice place and handy for the railway station (opposite). Nicely laid out around a courtyard garden, we paid 1200rps for an AC double with bathroom (about 30USD). Good restaurant and bar. Staff are helpful and friendly and able to arange trips to see the Border crossing ceremony at Wagga.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2006

This is a rather grotty hotel but with friendly staff and a good bar-restaurant. You can have a choice of deluxe or standard rooms for 1200Rs or 875Rs respectively but given that breakfast is included in the deluxe rate there isn't that much difference in price in the end. We tried both types of room and the difference was a little more space and a window but 1200Rs was well overpriced. Disappointing, both were on the unpleasant side. There is a bright and clean breakfast-tv room and a gloomy restaurant-cum-bar which does great food, fantastic paneer dishes. The hotel is very convenient for the railway station, has a decent internet PC and offers all the usual tours at reasonable rates. Recommended restaurant/bar, ok for a couple of nights at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank raskolnikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#21 of 98 in Amritsar
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veenus International
Hotel Veenus International
#50 of 98 in Amritsar
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Hridey
Hotel Grand Hridey
#41 of 98 in Amritsar
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing