We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for railway station, decent accommodation”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Grand is located very conveniently for the railway station: about two minutes' walk. It's not the most picturesque area: most of Amritsar, apart from the Golden Temple, is pretty ugly, and this seemed to be in the auto / mechanic district. The Rough Guide criticises it for "only having inward-facing rooms" although that's a plus point for me: outside is not nice, but the Grand's central courtyard is a pleasant, quiet green space. Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic, clean and comfortable, though more a budget standard at a lower-mid-range price, so not great value. It's not very close to the Golden Temple, but easy to get an autorickshaw there. The hotel also organise a combined trip: Mata Temple, Wagah border ceremony, and Golden Temple at night, which is recommended. Overall, a comfortable stay in a very convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thephenocryst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is a 15 mintues bike ride from the Golden temple. There is a quiet courtyard and a nice restaurant. The rooms are big, clean and quiet with a good bed. The biggest bummer is the mould in one of the walls of our rooms which you could smell. I recommend the Wagah border trip that they organise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZRiderGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

As a base in Amritsar this hotel worked for me.
It's away from the central bit though that's only a short rickshaw ride (80 rupees).

The professional photos is not what the place looks like. It's not well lit, and came across as a bit dark. Mind you, it was a wet couple of days in Amritsar at the time.

The staff are helpful enough. The room is not what you'd expect with mod cons - you have to switch on you water to heat the tank for 20 mins. But the bed is good enough and I didn't spend much time in there anyway.

Next door, as part of the hotel, is the Bottoms Up Bar & Restaurant - lovely food. There isn't anywhere else close by.

The only real criticism I would have is the location, not central and away from things.But otherwise it was fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is very close to the railway station. In terms of cleanliness is was just ok. I did not find anything to complain about but still thought that the for the money I was paying I should have got better maintained rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Don't stay here. I have pretty modest expectations when I'm traveling, especially when traveling on the cheap in India. I don't mind a little dirt or general unkemptness.

The room I received at the Grand Hotel took me to a very dark place. The room was generally decrepit and musty, with cracked walls and an old smell. But like I said, I can live with that. Things got worse when I found the enormous mold culture growing in the toilet. And then things became intolerable when I discovered FLEAS all over the bed.

On top of that, the place had no heat so was quite cold on the rainy winter Punjabi night I stayed there.

Needless to say, I left after one night. On the plus side, the front desk staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were willing to give this place a go despite the worrying reviews and it was clear that either they had heard the last review and listened or it was a very bad day when the previous people went.

We went last night and although there were only a few people in the places the service was very fast and efficient. We had some vegetable pakoras, followed chicken tikka and a tikka marsala with nan bread. The food was good and the service was excellent. We also had some Indian wine with the meal that was also good. So the food was very good and the total costs was about 1400 Rupees.

The atmosphere was subdued ( there were only two other people in the place) but it was certainly a pleasant place to hang out without hassle.

Well done for listening to the last reviewers

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Brian had actually preselected this hotel from Make My Trip. I was yet to sync in to Indian travelling mode. Close to the railway; literally walk out, cross the split in the road and turn right. No need for a cycle or auto rickshaw, but you still need to run the gauntlet of the touts. Our room was functional if a bit dark, and the bathroom was just okay. Water, water everywhere in these wet rooms. It’s the Indian way. I learned to ask for an extra towel, straight away, to satisfy my need for a bathmat ... and in the interests of safety on the ever wet and slippery floors. The hotel is in the hubbub but really quiet inside plus less dusty. Built around a central courtyard with the outside restaurant at one end. Ask for a ground floor room and enjoy. The Grand was probably once very grand and for a first stop it was introduction to budget hotels and hotel restaurant food and service in India. The staff were genuinely supportive and helpful in booking the major Amritsar sights ... Next stop Himgirri, Naddi/Macleodganj

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open onto a green clean courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabineYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sun City Towers
Hotel Sun City Towers
#63 of 100 in Amritsar
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#23 of 100 in Amritsar
140 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#44 of 100 in Amritsar
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#34 of 100 in Amritsar
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#54 of 100 in Amritsar
63 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Sakhi Inn
Hotel Sakhi Inn
#37 of 100 in Amritsar
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing