We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, based on LP and Tripadvisor reviews. Was a good choice overall.

Our room was on the ground floor around the courtyard - was nice and big, good AC, cable TV, nice bed, very clean. Also shortly after checking in our tv stopped working and they immediately moved us to another room, even though it must have been hassle for them as we had already used all the bedsheets etc.

Location is excellent! Very short walk from the train station, which makes things very convenient. Also a 3-wheeler to the main centre/golden temple area doesn't cost very much. We met a few people elsewhere in India who told us to avoid guesthouses/hotels in immediate golden temple vicinity, so this fitted the bill.

We also did the border/hindu temple/golden temple tour in the afternoon. We thought it was reasonable value, tour left at 3pm and we got back quite late, maybe 9ish.

We ate their food both nights and whilst possibly slightly expensive, was very nice and good sized portions.

Staff were also friendly - I was unwell during our stay and they kept enquiring with my partner if they could help/call a dr and when i was better also kept checking on me.

Would be very happy to stay there again & would recommend.


Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple, AC double room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed our stay. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, especially the manager. The hotel organises a fairly priced tour to the Pakistan-India border crossing and the golden temple at night. This is well worth it, and you avoid any possibility of being victims of touts. We were given a room upgrade on arrival free of charge. It was will equipped with a tv and aircon. Would recommend to couples or groups back-packing but for looking for something a little nicer than the standard Rs400 rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophielg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel located almost in front of the train station, has a very nice and calm garden and newly refurnished rather big rooms with all the confort, but also a good restaurant and a friendly staff. Remember to travel light as no big bags are nowadays allowed at the border, wait on the left side and go gate 3 which is the gate for the tourists... Beside the obvious golden temple (to visit at night as well), go to the Mata temple, but also to the Museum park before 10 AM to see the bats hanging in the trees near by...
If you can find a (brandnew) rickshaw driver named Sonu who form time to time waits outside and who speaks good English as he worked for the US Army in both Irak and Kabul, ask him to show you around (and say hello from me/LOL).

Room Tip: The best room are uppstairs as they are bigger thazn those located around the garden...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arleyriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

First of all, Amritsar is a busy, loud city. The old city area is insane, however, the location of Hotel Grand is strange. It's close to the train station so you can get out but its in the motocycle and car parts market. No restaurants around so you have to eat at the hotel. Food is ok but pricey plus VAT and service charge. Good tap beer.

The rooms are a bit pricey but of course you are paying the Lonely Planet 'top choice' premium. Rooms are clean. Courtyard blocks the billions of car horns outside.

Owners a good guy. Makes sure your happy. Same with the other staff. Low pressure upsells for tours which are worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahenders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Good value rooms, great staff, and an awesome pub attached! We booked a double AC room for a few nights, and it was just perfect. Our ground floor room opened out onto the courtyard, and was quiet and peaceful. We had a fridge, comfortable beds, television, and hot water. We arrived after 1 am (after train and bus delays), but the staff was still there to let us in, and was cheerful and welcoming on top of it all! The owner organizes excellent tours and we visited the Mata Temple and the Golden Temple, and saw the India-Pakistan Border Show, on a tour organized by the hotel. It was a great value, and lots of fun.
The restaurant and pub attached are really great. The food was really excellent (I loved the malai kofta), and the Kingfisher draft was perfect after a long day.
If you're staying in Amristar, this is a great value all around, and perfectly located only a few steps from the train station!

Room Tip: The ground floor was great, and being on the far side (away from the bar), made evenings quiet and p...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed recently at the Grand Hotel and here is my review of the same..

- We took the AC Deluxe rooms at 1680 rs per night.. Nice double bed, split ac, refrigerator and flat screen TV, neat and clean bathroom and hot shower all day. Definitely value for money at that price. There are other categories of rooms at various prices. We booked and paid online on the hotel website and showed the printout of the same at checkin. We even arrived early on the Volvo bus from Delhi at 8am but the staff were kind enough to give us the room, ahead of the 1pm checkin time.. No hassles at all and much appreciated..

- The hotel has a nice garden/courtyard and is set in a haveli style with all the rooms facing the garden. It's really quiet and calm and it's really nice to just sit outside the rooms on the chairs and enjoy the weather. Very nice change from the hustle and bustle of the city.

- Clean sheets and towels were provided. The hotel has a nice restaurant - chairs and tables near the garden where guests can eat. The pricing is average - not too high, the quantity is really good and the food tastes great as well. The menu has a nice mix and variety as well. Room service is charged 10% extra.

- Our dealings with the staff and the manager, Mr. Sanjay was nice and courteous. Sanjay responded promptly to emails and his staff were courteous and nice.

- We took the 580rs per head tourist trip that includes the Mata Temple (waste of time, very artificial), the border ceremony (nice even to watch but the rush is horrible so be prepared for that + phones dont work at the border) and a night visit to the Golden temple(amazing). Tours start at 3pm from the hotel and return around 9pm, in a nice AC car and a very nice, well behaved driver. Yes, you could get it cheaper outside I guess but it's convenient and the price is fair and the tour is well conducted.

- Points for Improvement: Would be very nice to have some power points near the bed for guests to charge their phones etc. Only one congested power plug was available near the TV... Also, would be nice to put a insect killer in the garden near the tables of the restaurant.. Also, good to have phone numbers of the reception, kitchen etc pasted on the phone.. It would also be a nice idea for the driver to be trained to talk a bit about the places we are visiting - that would be informative and could be easily done..

- All in all, definitely recommended, value for money, clean, calm and neat hotel. If my friends or family were to visit Amritsar, would highly recommend Grand hotel..

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor open straight out into the garden and that would be my choice.. the on...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shrewonzmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked a double AC deluxe room for 1 night, and stayed on the ground floor opening into the courtyard. Plenty of staff around to deal with requests for extra bedsheets and advice on the electrics, most were civil and I would feel safe if I was without my boyfriend. Booked through cleartrip and room was ready when we arrived around 9am on the bus from Delhi which was good. Well known hotel, location is quiet at night but you need a rickshaw to get there from bus station. there are cheap restaurants next door, though not for the faint stomachs! Room was spacious with about 2 feet of clear space at foot of bed to bathroom. AC worked perfectly, furniture dated and worn out, as are the towels. Shower room is also spacious with high ceilings. Overall an acceptable hotel, clean enough with appropriate furniture (TV, bedside table, cushioned chairs and coffee table, jug and glasses), but it has not been refurbished for awhile and could do with a good scrub on the floors and a paint job, but the price reflects it. Bed was firm but pillows rather flat as typical of India. Reception is friendly and can assist with standard tourist queries including advice on rickshaw prices to the Golden Temple. Restaurant was efficient in taking orders and delivering the food, prices are on average 20% more than an AC quality restaurant on the street, food is decent and we did not suffer any "delly belly" the next day, though we stuck to bottled water instead of accepting the water provided in a jug. Don't miss the exhibition of famous people who have stayed there and the display of prices of food over a period of 20 years or so.

Room Tip: No lift, so best stick to ground floor if you have heavy luggage
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adit3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#21 of 98 in Amritsar
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Veenus International
Hotel Veenus International
#50 of 98 in Amritsar
62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Hridey
Hotel Grand Hridey
#40 of 98 in Amritsar
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing