We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and value for money .....”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #45 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked Grand Hotel after a lot of research online and especially after reading mixed reviews on bookings and trip advisor.

Really it’s just 5mins walking distance from Amritsar station. With the garden attached it gives a very comfortable feeling when you stay. Rooms were ok as it was an old hotel. Owner Sanjay(reach.grandhotel@gmail.com) was in touch with me through emails for all my queries regarding room selection and as per my request he had kept 2 rooms separately (one on ground floor and the other on first floor). He was even too active in the daily matters of the hotel.The daily trip provided by hotel to Wagha Border, Kali Matha temple and Golden Temple was worth the value. It costs 580INR per person for the trip which leaves daily at 3.00pm from the hotel. Around the hotel there are lot of authentic paratha and lassi serving restraunts. Amritsar as such a very nice and peaceful city. One must spend more time in the Golden temple to the peaceful environment. Staff was very nice of the hotel. Please do have amazing parathas at Kesar da Dhaba in Shastri market which every cycle rickshaw person will know. Tandoor chicken lollipop and chawla special creamy chicken at Chawla restraunt at Lawrence road is just too good. Surjit chicken on the same road is a well known place to have, known as it is expensive but due to time constraint we couldn’t manage to be there. Do go to Baba Deepjeet Singh Ji ka Gurudwara, which is again a peaceful place to pray. You can do some shopping in the old Amritsar. Not to forget as we were shopping we ended up in a hand bag shop (Riddhi Selection – from Grand on the way to Shastri market) and the shop owner was too friendly to talk to us and we were treated like guests. When I went to pay for what I purchased he even refused to take money and trust me this is the first time in my life it happened. We paid him the money finally and he was too helpful to direct us to the Gurudwara and for the rest of the local shopping. On our daily travel we even met a good rickshaw driver called Sanju (91-8568876379) who charged us 150 INR to go to airport from Grand. You can contact him for any kind of travel in Amritsar, as such the cycle rickshaws around are really cheap to commute.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianacardoza66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 304 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and had a good time. The rooms are big with WIFI internet and cable TV. The hotel organised a day out to the India - Pakistan border (border closing ceremony), Mata Temple (where we only had half hour due to slacking :) ) and afterwards the Golden Temple with some other guests at the hotel. We had an amazing time and our evenings were filled with good times at the Bottoms up bar. The rooms are a tad more expensive than what you should pay for them, but it is such a nice place to be that you forget about this quick. Had some relaxed moments dreaming away in the gardens. Some of the staff are very friendly, and the other ones you find a bit less but that's in my experience/thoughts because they don't speak English that well. The owner himself is also always walking around there and will come for a chat when he sees you. Thank you very much, Grand Hotel, would stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfinoulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were bitterly disappointed the rooms are basic with bare wires showing. The room was absolutely freezing when we rang reception we were informed it would cost extra for a heater! The general hotel is tired and worn the trip we booked was nothing more than a chauffeur who dropped us at places and stated what time we needed to be back and the following day added extra on to a taxi ride they quoted the day we arrived! The food is semi decent and the staff are ok but would deffinatley not rate this hotel for the money and be aware not to pay more for the deluxe room it really isn't much different to the standard!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicandali80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in a different hotel but wanted to see the Grand Hotel and try their restaurant. Bottoms Up is a good place for reliable Indian classics--- nice wine/beer, and good (Nescafe) coffee. We had a really nice lunch here---and definitely value for money. Also--i had read (on reliable Trip Advisor) that the Grand Hotel had a good car service to the border. Sure enough, we turned up, paid INR 580 each, and had tickets for the 15h00 innova car that went to the border with 6 tourists-- and then on the way back, also stopped at the Mata Temple and the Golden Temple for a night tour. We were back at the Grand Hotel at 20h15. The driver was ok, but aggressive on the horn and in passing other 'vehicles'--- and unfortunately unaware of the use of a defroster, which was desperately needed in Jan given his penchant for toasty car interior.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Compared to the other places we have been, this hotel is not worth 1400rup a night. It wants to look better than what it is. The bathroom in our room was a bit falling into pieces and the room was very dark. Maybe the rooms on the second floor were better. We went for the organized tour to the paki border which i would 100% recommend - yet would perhaps look into other options as the one from the hotel is a bit pricey for what u get.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank driazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Quite centrally located, 5 minutes walking (like reallly :) from the railway station, impeccable food, great hospitality and comfortable and clean rooms. And the best part is that you get all of this in quite economical rates. Hotel staff is very helpful and is at your service whenever you need them. We were a group of five members (family) and had a lovely time. If you are staying at Grand and you do not know much about where to eat around in Amritsar just blindly come back to your hotel and eat at their restaurants Bottoms Up or The Garden Cafe...you will get all your favourite dishes right from chicken tandoori to your continental favs like Lasagne. We actually tried all the Chicken main course dishes and everything was yummy :) Vegetarians - the dal and aloo gobi is really nice..and do try crispy potato tooo
Trust me guys staying at The Grand will just add up to your lovely time spent at Amritsar ...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gunjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Bad service, people was not attentive at all because the owner is just interested in money, he also cheated on us with the taxi service saying that it would cost 500 Rs. when the real price was 200. The room was not clean, with not hot water and extra charge if we wanned to use the heater. At the end the heater was not working and they gave us dirty blankets instead. Breakfast is really no included, at the end you have to pay as extra. WiFi doesnt work. In general the worst experience when we were in India!

Room Tip: Please double check before choosing this hotel! They dont know anything about customer service, hos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Inorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 99 in Amritsar
137 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#43 of 99 in Amritsar
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#36 of 99 in Amritsar
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#66 of 99 in Amritsar
143 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Axis Inn
Hotel Axis Inn
#46 of 99 in Amritsar
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#54 of 99 in Amritsar
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $14 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing