We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three days in Amritsar and trip to Srinagar”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Three days in Amritsar and trip to Srinagar”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

I stayed three days in Grand hotel, after visiting the Golden Temple or just a chai in the train station (just look at people in full swing is an experience) or shopping in the bazaar to reach the hotel's garden and feel peace and tranquility is quite a relaxing . The service is friendly and attentive and the menu excellent.
I met other travelers at the hotel (a couple from New Zealand who had a year and a half traveling around the world, many Indians with their families and some Europeans) and advised me not to go to Varanasi (my next destination) as it was so hot that I did not know where to go. I asked to the owner of the hotel, Sanjay, he was concerned about my trip and we saw several alternatives, at the end decided to go to Srinagar in Kashemir. Sanjay got me the way by car to Jammu, plane tickets and a houseboat in Srinagar. The trip was organized with great care and attention and for a very reasonable price (take this opportunity to recommend Srinagar, the landscape is wonderful and is a very different environment and culture to the rest of India).
I also made a trip to the border with Pakistan (10 USD) to see the changing of the guard, all a show, you laugh and it is really quite a party.
Excellent place to stay, very nice people to meet, good memories to share.
Namaste
Luis, the spanish guy from Boston.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    112
    69
    40
    23
See reviews for
34
114
50
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in March 2012. The rooms were OK and cleanish, but the ground floor rooms (where we stayed) are a bit of a pain because, despite having huge windows, if you opened your curtains everybody could easily see into your room. The rooms had a musty damp smell. There's no AC and the TV had no English channels. The main problem in the room was the bathroom. Hot water was OK but the toilet barely flushed (and if like me, you have a bout of food poisoning their, a flushing toilet is an essential)...

There were lots of good points about this place too. Some of the staff (especially the young man at reception) are very helpful. They organise a great tour to the Pakistan border and can organise long range taxis at a very good rate. There's also an on site pub/restaurant that serves good food and snacks and they also serve a good breakfast in the garden. The location is also great as its opposite the train station.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank danhux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Near the railwaystation but inside this hotel it's another world. Very quiet, tea watching the green garden. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaLover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel near the end of five weeks in India and found it to be the worst Hotel of our trip. Reviews in both the Lonely Planet and Tripadivsor meant our hopes were quite high for a nice hotel in a garden setting.
In reality the Grand was very rundown, in the middle of renovations that looked like they would take quite a long time to complete. Our room was the most underwhelming of all we had encountered in India, no character, the bed was much to short for my husband (who is just under 6 ft) and even my feet touched the end (and I am of average height!), TV, which was talked up by the staff and apparently meant we had been 'upgraded' had only one English channel. The bathroom was not very clean, the shower a terrible dribble and took ages to heat up.
The garden, and the whole place really, looked like it needed better looking after. The included breakfast (at an extra price) was not tasty, and not cheap, and when we asked after our first very disappointing breakfast if we could have the rest of our stay without the breakfast included the staff said that was not possible, which really annoyed me. The restaurant prices were very inflated and the food average compared to what we found elsewhere. Internet was not included in the price of the rooms, which were quite high, as we had experienced elsewhere on our stay.
The only good thing about the stay was it was close to the train station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I would stay here again. The location is a minute walk across the road from the railway station, highly convenient when arriving/leaving with luggage! Rickshaws into town are passing right outside the door for very cheap to the main sites.
My room was the most basic/cheapest double. It had a good tv, hot water, a good size bathroom & good size bed. Room smelt a bit musty.. The rooms don't seem to get much natural light or air circulation. The garden courtyard is lovely & the food excellent!!
Staff were always helpful and friendly.
The tour to the border crossing/mata temple/golden temple at night was a great way to see the sites comfortably for 500INR.
You can conveniently pay by cash or Visa card.
There is also free wifi for guests.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Decent and clean, with sizable pleasant courtyard (where meals can be taken) as well as enclosed restaurant (Amritsar can be chilly in the winter). All but the cheapest rooms well insulated from the street noise outside. Unfortunately, in our 2011 visit, fouled up our reservation intended to assure us a room and a hot shower when we arrived very early in the morning (but not the rest of our reservation), though we did get into rooms fairly early that day (and ultimately got hot water). In effect, we were charged for a room we didn’t get. Decided to try them again in 2012 and had no problem. Hotel clearly visible from the northeast entrance to the train station parking/staging area. Easily walkable from there, especially if you use the pedestrian overcrossing over Grand Trunk / Queens Rd. just to the south / your left as you reach the northeast station entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I showed up in Amritsar at 2am off the only train from Pathankot I could find. The staff at Hotel Grand let me in even though they didn't have a room for me, and let me rest in the lobby after a long journey. The next morning they had a very clean and nice room for me, with a hot shower and plenty of space. The green courtyard in the center is a much needed oasis from the craziness that is Amritsar and the business of the wonderful Golden Temple. The food in the cafe located inside the hotel was great. The 500 IR tour of the Indo/pak border ceremony+the golden temple at night was a great deal for anyone looking do go there. Most of all, the owner Sanjay and the rest of the staff were always very friendly and helpful with anything I needed. I'm very glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#25 of 97 in Amritsar
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#46 of 97 in Amritsar
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Hridey
Hotel Grand Hridey
#39 of 97 in Amritsar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#42 of 97 in Amritsar
77 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#32 of 97 in Amritsar
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing