We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Ramada Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Amritsar
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great hotel”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Slightly out of place in the ramshackle skyline of Amritsar, the hotel is a very new and immaculately kept. Whilst horse and carts, rickshaws and donkeys plod past the gated Ramada the hotel somehow still fits in with the surrounding streets' chaos. It is located just a five minute rickshaw journey from the Golden temple.
The lobby is full of grandiose sofas and elaborate figurines which were slightly over the top but the coffee bar was comfortable. The restaurant was clean and bright and the staff went out if their way to help.
The bedroom and bathrooms were spacious and clean with a lovely walk in shower and plenty of complimentary items. Probably one of the best Indian hotels I have stayed in, making my visit to this holy city all the better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SukhiA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    425
    123
    41
    32
See reviews for
473
226
62
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed being in a decent, clean, well-designed hotel in the walled city of Amritsar. Food quality was good, and the servings generous. The staff was very courteous and keen to serve. It was pleasant not to find anyone hovering around for a tip.


  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Arvind K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel has great location (right in middle of Hall Bazaar). Many food and shopping options right outside the hotel. And above all Golden temple was just 7 mins walk from this hotel. The staff we came across need to show some enthusiasm. We came across many folks but handful made impact or welcomed with smiles. One was their guest relations manager Ms. Natasha Bawa. She went out of her way to get us the cab arranged to Beas last minute. Even the darbaar (door men) and security folks were very friendly. They said hello every time we walked in and out of the premises. The hotel was clean, well maintained and complimentary breakfast was delicious (plus lot of variety).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisvilleRamadaGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_ROHIT, Manager at Ramada Amritsar, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

The entire team at the hotel joins me in thanking you for your feedback. We are delighted to know that our property, service and our employees have left you with such a favorable impression about our hotel.
It is especially rewarding for Ms.Natasha Bawa, to receive your commendation - to know that she exceeded your expectations is a wonderful achievement!
I am glad to know that you enjoyed overall services provided by us. Greeting and meeting the guests is our prime concern so that guest feels relaxed and comfortable. However we will definitely work on the areas you have mentioned as feedbacks from guests like you encourages our team to work hard and give prompt services.
Thank you very much for you feedback on trip advisor, looking forward to serve you better once again.

Many Thanks, Rohit Wilson Tr. Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is a newer hotel inside the walled city. It is about 10 minute walk to the Golden temple and a bit less to Jalianwalla Baug. The hotel is very clean and well maintained, although the decor is a bit garish. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Breakfast in the morning is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank USP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night with a friend to visit the Golden Temple.

The Pros:
Hotel is in a good location if you want to be in the heart of Amritsar and enjoy the hustle and bustle the town has to provide. It is situated in Hall Bazaar itself.

The hotel is a 15 min walk to the Golden Temple – however if you are foreign, I would avoid walking through Amritsar traffic! We took a cycle-rikshaw that was waved down by the hotel staff for us. Expect to pay Rs30-50 for this short but eventful journey through the chaos of Hall Bazaar!

The property itself is new and the interior is of a high standard. I’m not sure why, but the deco is very Venetian (?) not what we were expecting in Punjab! The rooms are slightly on the smaller size and only have double beds (no twin rooms). WiFi is complimentary and was good. Iron and iron board is available on request. There is a tea/coffee maker in room. Complimentary breakfast had a good selection of North and south Indian dishes.

We ordered room service on two occasions. Food was good and was delivered within 30 minutes.

Now for the Cons:
We tried taking a shower in the morning (around 6am) – there was no hot water!

We booked a hotel taxi to the airport for the next morning. At the time of check out, we enquired about our taxi - the front desk staff had no idea and casually told us to wait 15-20 minutes. In return I told them that the plane will not wait for us and we need a taxi immediately. The gent assured me that he will arrange a taxi in 5 mins and how the hotel will foot the bill as compensation. Taxi arrives 15 mins later and now the same man has decided to change his mind saying ‘no madam you will have to pay because this is not a hotel car it’s a local taxi’. I explained to him that we booked a hotel taxi but clearly they couldn’t provide one so why on earth should we have to pay for this? Obviously we did not have more time to argue as we were running late already. I think this kind of foolish behavior is unacceptable for an international chain hotel and also for a property that is charging 4 times more than any other place in Amritsar. If he couldn’t pay the taxi he should have taken off our room service charge as compensation.

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Ramada, the room was clean and well appointed and the food was good. However the lack of organization and management at the end of our stay has a left a bitter taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lil_punjabi_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W_ROHIT, Manager at Ramada Amritsar, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for this unintentional delay in the service.
I completely agree that the travel desk management has diluted the Ramada Amritsar experience for you.
We are adequately staffed across all areas however due to high business volumes over a few days certain services would have got impacted and I do apologize for that.
I assure you that I have personally taken this up with the seriousness it deserves with the relevant department heads. We shall most certainly be taking the necessary steps to ensure that this is not repeated.
I sincerely hope you will give us another chance to showcase the improvements and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Many Thanks, Rohit Wilson Tr. Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Hi, we were 5 (4 adults and 1 kid), went to Amritsar on 14th of December, 2013 and booked two rooms at hotel Ramada for one night. The hotel is very beautiful and a very positive point, that it is located very near to The Golden Temple. Rooms are very big and spacious. Hotel staff is very courteous. Tasty food and very hygienic too. I would recommend this hotel to every one who would like to visit Amritsar. Overall, Awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shikha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,591 reviews
6.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 97 in Amritsar
949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
767 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Amritsar

Property: Ramada Amritsar
Address: Hall Bazar, Amritsar 143006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Amritsar 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing