We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Golden Temple is awesome”
Review of Harmandir Sahib

Harmandir Sahib
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Amritsar Day Tour: Golden Temple and Jalliawala Bagh with Punjabi Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Golden Temple is awesome”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Much is said about the beauty of this wonderful temple, and of course the magnitude of feeding so many thousands of people each day....both of which are absolutely staggering...the beauty and the feeding of so many..but I was struck by the immense generosity of spirit which makes this temple so special for me. Hundreds of people give out dishes,prepare vegetables, cook vats of food, serve food, and clean up after all who visit. The spirit of seva..service is absolutley humbling for a westerner like myself. The spirit of whichever God you chose to follow is truly alive and serving humanity in this wonderful place. I feel grateful to have had such a wonderful experience. The Golden Temple is now perhaps my most memorable sight in India.

Helpful?
2 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,172
    529
    49
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Temple is in the center of the complex on water. They serve food to all day and night-the poor can eat and sleep at all the temples. It is so kind of them to provide for the poor. We were able to see putting the book to bed ceremony at 10 p.m.. They read the holy book continuously for 48 hours taking one hour shifts. many volunteer and the kitchen alone is a huge undertaking to feed that many people so smoothly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank matwhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Truly blissful”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am blessed to have bene here.. be prepared to walk a lot as four-wheelers cannot go till the end.. while hand rickshaws are available.. even when inside the premises be ready to walk atleast a kilometer and a half if not more..

Stand peacefully.. crowds galore.. but the visit is worth

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kapil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Md. USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome visit. Don't miss it!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beautiful temple and fascinating operation feeding lunch to thousands of people. Friendly people and a chance to see Indians enjoying a Saturday family outing. Interesting introduction to the Sikh religion. Nothing to dislike!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RoxiePotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting cultural experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The Golden Temple is an experience as much as it is a destination. To enter the temple, you must behave as a religious pilgrim would: after covering our heads with shawls, we checked our shoes at the counter out front, washed our feet, and walked barefoot into the Golden Temple grounds. We were ushered into packed lines of people which rotated through the various buildings. The 'temple' is actually more like an enormous city square constructed of white marble. It has a huge pool in the middle (complete with 20-inch fish) where many of the religious pilgrims take a spiritual dip. In the center of the pond is the temple itself, which is completely painted in gold. The Golden Temple lives up to its name; it is one of the most impressive buildings I have ever seen. Whereas the Taj Mahal is majestic in its size, the Golden Temple is breath-taking in its details and the effect that it has on its visitors. Silent reverence comes naturally while in its presence.

We ended our temple experience by dining in its public dining hall. It is one of the world's largest free kitchens, feeding upwards of 50,000 people PER DAY. Once inside the huge warehouse-sized building, you are handed a plate, bowl, and spoon, and then directed to sit on the floor in long rows. The kitchen volunteers walk through the rows, giving each person a piece of bread, or spooning a ladle of lentil soup (from a bucket) onto each person's plate. We were given about 10 minutes to eat before our whole row was shooed away to make room for the next round of hungry visitors. The food was good, but the experience was better.

Overall, I think that the temple is not only a great site to see, but visiting it is also a great way for westerners to introduce themselves to the Sikh culture. Admittedly, we had not done our homework on the religion before we visited, but everyone we met there was extremely nice and willing to share their culture and spiritualism with us. We are grateful and will always remember it.

Helpful?
1 Thank GotMilkanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmandir Sahib also viewed

Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 

Been to Harmandir Sahib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing