We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene as it can get”
Review of Harmandir Sahib

Harmandir Sahib
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.00*
and up
Amritsar Day Tour: Golden Temple and Jalliawala Bagh with Punjabi Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 72 things to do in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Serene as it can get”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The morning ' palki' is something you should not miss. Just sit by the sarovar and hear the sweet gurbani

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shailkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,172
    528
    49
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“n”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hari Mandir leaves you speech less, we had booked a prayer service 4 years ago, and it all performed on time and beautifully done

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank paul55_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sikh Temple Shri Hari Mandir sahib”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My Visit to Golden Temple Amritsar was very good.I enjoyed the Kirtan ,Darshan and Langar.This place is so sacred,Divine and Enchantic .Full of Positive Energy.This temple was started y 4th Guru Guru RamDass Ji and completed by Guru Arjan DEV ji Maharaj.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank punedaljeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, england
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“un-believable beauty”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Sikhs, should be very proud, of this majestic beauty, it should be one of the wonders of the world.
All the people, had smiles, and were very engaging.
And to feed so many people, just shows its, very generous, attitude, to all the visitors.
I would recommend, anyone visiting India, make sure the Golden Temple, is a must see!!!!!!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank carmine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Not bowled over”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Maybe we've been spoilt by all the other wonderful places we've seen around the world, but we were most definately not bowled over by the Golden Temple. I know it is the most important site in Sikhism and I respect that, but I didn't feel much in the way of spirituality about this place.
It is large and reasonably beautiful, but not awesome.
We were both, however, incredibly impressed by the langar. What a feat of organisation and a wonderful thing to do. As comparitively wealthy western tourists a donation is a must, but there was no pressure put on us to make any contribution.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GillJezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmandir Sahib also viewed

Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 

Been to Harmandir Sahib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing