We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute Highlight of India” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harmandir Sahib

Harmandir Sahib
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Golden Temple and Wagah Border in Amritsar
Ranked #1 of 63 things to do in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolute Highlight of India”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Golden Temple is one of the most welcoming places I have ever been. In India you are usually charged outrageous entrance prices for attractions but the GT is free. Unlike other religious monuments in India that seem more like a business than a spiritual place the GT shows the greatness of the Sikh religion and people by welcoming and feeding anyone anytime.

It is open 24 hours a day every day of the year. It is particularly magical late at night when there are no tourists and only devout Sikh praying in the sacred pool.

The free meal (donations welcome) is available 24 hours a day. We ate there three days in a row. The food is surprisingly good and we had NO trouble and didn't get sick.

The sikh are incredibly warm and friendly. It is easy talk to locals and learn about their religion. If you are curious about something just ask and suddenly you will find yourself being ushered through a backdoor to see something incredible you never would have seen otherwise.

All I can say is go, it is a refreshing and wonderful place of brotherhood, tolerance, and harmony - and it's beautiful :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank minimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,859
    502
    49
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Golden temple experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing sight - most beautiful in all of India, sun shining off the white marble with the golden temple in the centre, fantastic reflections.
Wasn't expecting to be able to walk round the hugh kitchen area and help make the food - you must sample the free food and tea that is given out to thousands each day.
Disappointed with the 'putting to be ceremony' as it was difficult to see anything through the people crowding round the book.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deborah118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Ultimate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We got here a few days after xmas having spent the initial part of our trip in New Delhi.After the hotel car dropped us off by the roundabout we engaged a cycle ricksaw to take us into the area where the Harmandir is ......The time ws around dusk and street lamp were just flickering on and all you could see were pilgrims and tourists alike mingling in the streets around the temple.Having safely lodged our shoes with the lockers and then secured head coverings for adult and chldren alike we made our way into the temple complex.Having performed the necessary ablutions with warm water which was very welcome on a crisp December evening we made our way thru the arch .Having been there before I was waiting for the oohs and ahhs from my family and I was not disappointed.....We went round the temple and then made our way to the harmandir and prayed with pilgrims at the granth sahib.The feeling of calm that comes into your soul as you pass round the book is beyond words.Everywhere making sure that all was in order are scores of sevaks (volunteers) making sure that the temple is clean,orderly and efficient.We took in langar and prasad to complete our evening and even got apicture of my son with one of the many nihangs that guard the temple.The best part of out trip to India wiothout a shred of doubt ...................

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing temple. beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

must see both during day and night... the best is during the night. make sure females are fully covered and have a scarf fo the head.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Exploringindia2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a wonderful place. In spite the cold weather and having to remove my shoes, washing my feet in a Fountain where everyone else does, and not being allowed to wear my socks it is all worth it :) it is a place like no other. According to my travel guide the place has 750k of 24 ct gold place all over the main building.
Amritsar it is a truly chaotic city but the Olden temple is magnificent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harmandir Sahib also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Harmandir Sahib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing