We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful garden house hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse
Ranked #6 of 132 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful garden house hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2006

Mrs.Bandari is 98 or more now. She still runs the hotel in Amristar. I never got to see the lady as she was sick while I stayed there.

This is small hotel of about 10 rooms in a secluded compound with a lovely garden to walk around. It is located out of town but not far away. The atomosphere is one very relaxed and lazy days.

As soon you enter the main gate you are welcommed by a this unusal scene - a group of Indian buffalos munching their lunch in the stable ! I wondered where on earth have I been booked into by my travel agent. It turned out the main enterance is on the rear side of the house/hotel where the stable is.

The room was very spacious. They are maintaining the rooms in such a way to maintain old world ambience or everything is simply old. I do not know. But I liked it. The bathroom was large with very old bath tub and sink. However it was of functioning order.

There is a small swimming cold water pool on the side. Will be good in the summer. But in winter the water is too cold to enjoy.

The small walled garden is just enough to walk around and relax. The garden was well maintained and manicured.

They do basic breakfast like Omlette and toast.

We stayed there for one night. The whole experience was like visiting your grandma - that was the ambience of the Mrs.Bandari's house.

Nice place to stay if you like a quiet place.

  • Liked — The location and the small garden to walk around and relax.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kentheteaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    44
    13
    5
    6
See reviews for
20
31
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
india
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2006

We stayed four days at Mrs. Bhandari's and loved it. It is low key, has great lawns and gardens, and a good restaurant area under shade looking over one of the lawns. Service was very good, and the food delicious. The driver met us on the platform at the railway station, so getting to the guest house was easy (and free). If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with internet connections and all that, this is not the place for you. But it is if you want hospitable people and a place to retire from the bustle of Amritsar. The golden temple is only 20 minutes by cycle rickshaw. An added bonus are the water buffalo that keep the grass short.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank carbonara9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2006

We recently stayed at Mrs Bhandaris guest house and were very disappointed.
From start to finish the service was poor and terrible value for money.
Our station pick up had no name card and did help us carry any of our many bags the long distance to where he'd parked. It took 45 mins of waiting and farting about from arriving at the station to get to Mrs Bhandari's.
If you like sterile English 1950's school decor then Mrs Bandari's is for you. To us it felt like staying in a prison or some other institutional establishment.
Upon arrival you are presented with a welcome pack (good idea in theory) which contains, however, at least 5 or 6 pages of 'charges' for room service, taxi's, sightseeing, food etc. This set the tone for what was the worst value for money of our entire 10 week trip.
The food is ridiculously over-priced and of average quality; - 300 rs for a bland veg thali!!
Everything about this place seemed to be focused on extracting as much money from you as possible.

I would not recommend staying here unless you had little other choice.
Unfortunately Amritsar is not blessed with many great places to stay, but I'd recommend staying a night or two in a cheaper place and saving the money for a good stay at a better value for money establishment somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
9 Thank JezLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2006

For a month in late Winter, 2004, I found escape and great service at Ms. Bhandari's Guesthouse. I heard about it because my fellow yogis stay there whenever visiting their kids at Miri Piri Academy nearby. I was there on sabattical, teaching at that school. My room had two large windows, bright with views from one to a garden and the other to a side yard where the guest house staff brought the property's cows to graze. The place was full of birds and, yes, a few tiny lizards. The food was incredible; tasty paranthas (bread stuffed with potatoes, cauliflower or whatever you wanted). Great milkshakes, chai, spinach, veggies and deserts. For recovery after a steamy day in India, the grounds has a pool for swimming or floating. There's an internet connection for communicating with loved ones or business friends. The staff can hire a taxi to take you for hours to your favorite destination, whether it's Goindwal's gurdwara steps, Ananpur Sahib's quaint town near the mountains, the border with Pakistan to see the ceremony, the Golden Temple at the moonlit hours of 3am, or deep into the Himalayas only 4 hours a way - perhaps to see the Dalai Llama at DharmSala. I enjoyed the hospitality of the Bhandari household, their playful couple dogs, the cows, the food, the pool, the gardens, everything....Sat nam,

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2005

Had read loads of reviews of this place in guidebooks and on the web, and everyone seemed to be in consensus that this was THE place to stay in amritsar, so we went along with the majority view and tried it out.

It did deliver on some promises- the colonial style was in evidence. In that nothing has been updated since 1920, so the rooms are very basic. No AC, no heating, no mod cons etc, so if you like your creature comforts then not the place for you. We also had an extra tenant in the shower that we couldnt get rid of- a wee lizard that seemed to dislike the thought of humans next door.

We tried the food for brekkie and dinner and would not even chance eating any of it. Most of the condiments were out of date and we thought that the mould on the butter etc was there as an added extra.

Overall, we werent impressed, but to be honest amritsar isnt spoiled for choice with regard to hotels. The place was clean enough, but that would be all i could say for it.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank King_Henrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#11 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
2.1 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse

Property: Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse
Address: 10 Cantonment, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mrs. Bhandari`s Guesthouse Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing