We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 149 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a B&B that started in the 50s. Everyone I know who has visited Amritsar has stayed here! What you will notice is the beautiful lawns and garden. The rooms are clean, service good. You will be required to pre-order meals which are cooked in the main house kitchen. They have buffaloes on the ground and I find the place absolutely charming.

If you are travelling with kids, no second thoughts. There is a playground and place to play outside!

You will not get bored of this place!

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the guest house office. They have a better feel to them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Somshashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 132 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The overall stay turned out to be much better than we expected. For decades now, Mrs. Bhandari's Guest House has been a haven for global travellers coming from Europe via the land route - Campers, Motorbikers and foreign tourists who start their Indian journey from this border town of Amritsar.
The rooms have the old world charm. High ceilings, period electric fittings, switches. All have mosquito proof netting as there is lots of greenery of a house constructed 70 years back. Bathrooms have modern fittings and we were very comfortable. The staff was exceptional in the service they provided. Breakfasts provided not only good food but great conversations with the global guests. We were fortunate to meet Mrs. Bhandari's daughter, Ratan, who is the current owner and got to know more of the history of the 1900s Amritsar.
Do not miss the Golden Temple and Wagah Border evening ceremonies.

Would come back again to this quaint lil home away from home!

Room Tip: Choose an AC room for just Rs.500 extra. Daytime can be warm, though nights were cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I stayed here in 1999 - and the memories just came flooding back. Fabulous gardens - a sense of silent history, genuine warmth and a wonderfully understated elegance. It feels like a portal in time - a window into old world sensibilities and I would recommend it thoroughly to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyrus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We spent two nights here and both were great. The rooms are dated, but that's the point. Anyone expecting tv's and modern rooms will be greatly disappointed. The rooms are spacious and cool and the interiors remind me of the old houses in the Karoo (in South Africa). Everywhere are photo's of the family and it makes you feel like you're visiting family, not just another paying guest. The room was clean and we got fresh towels every day and our bed made.

The staff were incredibly friendly and the food was really good. I loved visiting the buffalo in the mornings and eating breakfast while enjoying the scenic garden was great.

Yes you still hear some honking, but you're staying in a city...in India, it's part of the experience. We took earplugs with us, so it wasn't a problem for us.

I would definitely recommend Mrs Bandari's Guesthouse if you'd like a nice peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlissOnEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We - 2 adults and a toddler- stayed for a weekend (Fri-Sun) at the end of May.
The guest house was a cool oasis for us when it was very hot in Amritsar. We really enjoyed the large gardens and the pool, both were super great value when travelling with a small active child - he could run around freely instead of being cooped up in a hotel room. Peaceful and easy-going atmosphere. Our room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and cool (ac). The staff was friendly and helpful, especially in helping us to reunite with our iPad which we forgot at the hotel when we left... They can also arrange for fixed-price haggle-free transport in Amritsar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venlal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

This place comes comes with a big reputation and didn't quite hit the mark for us.

The rooms are large but letdown by noisy aircon and bed bugs. The bathroom has nice tiles but a rundown bath and shower.

The compound is reasonably quiet but you still hear the ubiquitous honking from the street.

There is a pool which is good for a dip but not something you'll be lounging around.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samurai_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Great location, 10 min's from the railway station. Staff is friendly and helps you in any possible manner. Well maintained and clean rooms and bathrooms. You feel so relaxed here, close to the nature, with it's fantastic gardens and open space. Ultimate destination for relaxation. 2 nights a must. Early check-in etc is not a problem.

Room Tip: Close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#2 of 100 in Amritsar
988 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#13 of 100 in Amritsar
589 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 100 in Amritsar
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#86 of 100 in Amritsar
361 reviews
4.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.1 mi away
Ranjit's SVAASA
Ranjit's SVAASA
#11 of 100 in Amritsar
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs. Bhandari's Guesthouse

Address: 10 Cantonment, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: $26 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mrs. Bhandari`s Guesthouse Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing