We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
38
98
81
50
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
98
81
50
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden templevalue for moneyfood quality isrooms are comfortablenice propertypleasant staybreakfast spreadvisit amritsarmallinfrastructuretoiletriesmarket
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 305 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is comfortably done with all the required necessities available. The room was spacious with a mini bar, TV, sofas, dressing, and a clean bathroom. The A.C was quite effective in the room. The hotel also has a restaurant that served a good choice of buffet breakfast. Ala cart was a bit over-priced for the portion sizes.

The hotel had a guest parking and lots of greenery around. The swimming pool seemed to be enjoyed by the guests too. The staff was polite and interested in customer service. The hotel seemed popular with foreign tourists as well as Indians.

The location on the mall road is quite convenient. It is less than 15 minutes from the Railway Station and the hotel can arrange for transfers at an additional cost. There are several shops and malls right opposite the hotel, including eateries like KFC etc. It is also close to the Lawrence road market and Queens road market.

Overall, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tg_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

During my visit to Amritsar this aug 2010, I stayed in this hotel for a day. I really liked the restaurant and their bar. Room service was so fast and food quality was decent.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumit1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

What gets most points in RITZ PLAZA is the friendly, very helpful and courteous staff - Mr Piyush Kapoor, General Manager oversaw all our stay arrangements and I will like to complement him and his entire team - for making my stay so comfortable and taking so good care of me.

HERITAGE HOTEL: This is what I felt like on first evening I arrived - the hotel is spacious, lobby, corridors, rooms, bathrooms, restaurants and not to forget POLARIS - the most luxurious couches i have ever seen in such places, to relax while you unwind. The Ranjit's Restaurant is equally good - the mutton dishes in particular, and AMRITSARI FISH was so mouth watering. The Tandoori Chicken as well is tastefully cooked, and needless to say that in the heart of Punjab, they too offer mouth watering Punjabi food menu!

The rooms are also very comfortably done, very comfortable sofa couches, study table, well lit (natural light), and spacious - with wifi internet in entire hotel space (although at a high price! 150 or so per hour!). Cheaper internet option is to take your laptop to reception lobby and they have a small business centre where there are computers available or you can plug your laptop and surf for half the price at which wifi is available otherwise. I worked here for hours, so it is quite good connectivity and very friendly and supportive staff. HOWEVER I will really recommend an upgraded business centre, and free wifi at least in the lobby as European hotels give as well! The time for so expensive internet is surely slipping by so fast RITZ PLAZA!

The Hotel chauffeurs are very fluent in English, Hindi, Punjabi, at least, and the Hotel cars are undoubtedly very well kept. I had a Hotel pick up and got a radio cab while on way back - so can tell you the huge difference. Radio cab was so shabbily kept, really bad maintenance. Hotel cars and chauffeurs deserve a pat for highly professional and thoughtful service they provide to their guests.

Buffet breakfast is also reasonably okay for the price you pay here, coffee is good although instant coffee only (hmmm, for coffee lovers).

This hotel surely needs renovation - but then it will double triple its price too! So the stack rates of this hotel, are surely worth for the 1990s charm! TV in the room reminded me of our family's first colour TV set with remote! Same goes for most of the furniture and other decor of this hotel. But this is not to say that it is not convenient, rather the rooms are very convenient, and the furniture at times is more luxurious than one can imagine! Try Polaris couches if any one has a doubt! It is like business class suites with great service and food there!

LOCATION: the best one can think of - The Mall Road is the downtown, and hardly 5 minutes walk from Lawrence Road, which is yet another happening part of Amritsar. Bang opposite RITZ PLAZA are many shopping malls or other eating joints near by. The Golden Temple I tried walking to is about 3 kilometres - it is not advisable to walk as after a kilometre or so, it really gets into the thick of old city of Amritsar and can be inconvenient in hot weather! On the contrary I shared experience of another guest over breakfast who took HOTEL CAR to see Golden Temple - and that guest was full of praises for the gold standard Hotel car service to Golden Temple, their guidance on dos and don'ts and also on timings when to go etc, and of course, as every other visitor to this temple, full of charm of the spirituality and peace this temple reflects.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbyramakant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Ritz Plaza Amritsar in April 2009 whilst en route to Dhramsala .
We had travelled by non A/C train( that was said to be 1st Class). The journey was horrendous as it appeared that the carriage had not been cleaned since Independence. We arrived in Amritsar tired ,dirty and quite unwell having consumed bottled water purchased at the Haridwar train station. We suspect that it came from a tap at the station.
The hotel was immaculately clean , the staff were excellent though the food was a little unimaginative.The hotel also had an excellent bar where one could watch the IPL cricket.
The hotel organised a trip to the wonderful Golden Temple and a trip to the Wagah Boarder which should not be missed.
They also organised an excellent driver to ferry us through the Punjab and on to Dhramsala.
I would recommend this"jem" to all who travel to Amritsar.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

the best thing of this hotel is you feel like its the best bargain. spacious clean rooms and toilet. food is tasty and reasonable cost. a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veenla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews