We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough rooms but awful service”
Review of Hotel Ritz Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Although our initial impressions upon arrival at the hotel were good (clean, nice grounds and helpful porters, decent sized room) we were soon disappointed to notice that our room window was absolutely tiny because there was a huge AC unit right next to our room. I would agree with other reviewers that the beds are on the firm side (generally the case in India) and the pillows are pretty thin. Every channel on the TV seemed to have unbearable fuzz and interference too but at least the mini-bar was well stocked, although it wasn't until day 2 we worked out that it is almost permanently switched off and we had to plug it in to the wall!

We were then dismayed and annoyed to find out that the hotel's pool, which I'd booked more or less on the basis of was closed (we had an extra day to kill and fancied a lazy day by the pool) and didn't open until the following week. No apology was given for this by the hotel manager.

The restaurant did however, have a fairly decent complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, which was well-stocked. At dinner-time, there seemed to be a reluctance to let you order from their A la Carte menu, preferring people to have the buffet. After insisting upon menus, the food was decent but unspectacular. Also, we thought it a little expensive by Indian standards.

The reception staff were uncommunicative and ineffectual to say the least, and the hotel manager was seemingly happy to shout and berate his staff (at both reception and restaurant) in front of guests - it all just seemed really unprofessional. They managed to muck-up our taxi booking to go the India-Pakistan border ceremony (we almost missed it) and we had to ask twice to get our passports back.

As one saving grace, at our early morning check-out to get a train at 5.30am, the deputy manager called Amritsar station and let us know our train was running over 5 hours late - I think my face must have been a picture at this point! This delay was made slightly more pleasant by the fact that the deputy manager then dispatched one of his staff to the station with us to help change our tickets to another train (and possibly lucky given the station supervisor was the guy's cousin!). The guy stayed with us for around 20 minutes as he shuttled between various people before finally getting us a stamp of approval from the supervisor.

For the money (£33 GBP per night) I just wouldn't recommend the Ritz Plaza but I don't think Amritsar is blessed with m(any) decent hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murphy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 289 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2007

This place is the worst managed place. We booked in advance and on arrival from Sydney on a cold and wet evening were told we did not have a booking!!! The manager was rude and so were the staff. They were unhelpfull and arrogant. My adivce to you is keep away from this place. I have also stayed at other hotels on Amritsar and they are all crap. If you are visiting Amritsar, stay at the Golden Temple, you will get a room for almost free (not the best) but still better than being ripped off by the hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sydneymustang_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

The reception was nice and so were the people and the service. The rooms, well they were clean but drab. The mattress hard, the pillows thin and room service had the annoying habit of bringing the ordered items then 10 minutes later the bill. Mind you they delivered things quickly so perhaps it should be viewed a positive.

Overall we couldn't say the hotel or Amritsar was likeable apart from the Golden Temple which was fantastic but then, that's why most tourists visit.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank S&GKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2007

My last stay in amritsar, before flying back home. Booked my room in person 5 days ago. When i arrived in the evening 8pm check in i was shocked to be told that my room was not ready. I explained that i had booked it and i had been travelling for 5 hours. Sunny the receptionist who took my booking said that i would have to wait until 10pm. I explained i was a women travelling on my own. Anyhow he said he would up grade me at the bsame price, but when i checked out he had charged me much more. My room was very plain and boring a crack in the sink stains on the sofas.

I was not very impressed the corridors carpets were very dirty.
Just pleased i only stayed the one night.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank poppy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We went to Amritsar from New Delhi, by train, having been round the heritage sites (Taj Mahal, Jaipur etc) the previous week. We really loved the Golden Temple (absolutely THE best site to see and strangely comforting), the city and the Changing of the Guard at the Ind-Pak border. However the hotel is just a westernised box - for business people really, and not tourists.

it had a nice breakfast, but rooms ae like Travel Inn\Lodge standard.
Nothing bad, just nothing good - no character.

Do yourself a favour and try one of the other venues as, despite the hustle and bustle, Amritsar is a very nice, clean place.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Gepesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank KN20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
The Fern Residency Amritsar
The Fern Residency Amritsar
#55 of 99 in Amritsar
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#29 of 99 in Amritsar
197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#3 of 99 in Amritsar
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Merrion
Best Western Merrion
#11 of 99 in Amritsar
445 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#13 of 99 in Amritsar
383 reviews
1.2 mi away
HK Clarks Inn
HK Clarks Inn
#23 of 99 in Amritsar
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ritz Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ritz Plaza

Address: 45 Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $33 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ritz Plaza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ritz Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Plaza Amritsar
Ritz Plaza Hotel
Amritsar Ritz
Ritz Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing