We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
38
98
81
49
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
98
81
49
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden templevalue for moneyfood quality isrooms are comfortablenice propertypleasant staybreakfast spreadvisit amritsarmallinfrastructuretoiletriesmarket
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 304 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Good points - room was warm - a bonus on January evenings. And great place to catch up on laundry, as prices around a quarter that of Delhi hotels. Bad points - cheap decor, lots and lots of penny pinching - towels, toilet paper, breakfast all done on the cheap. Staff were friendly but seemed poorly trained.
Ok for the price, but certainly not a hotel that we were sorry to leave behind.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 501places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

The Ritz Plaza gave a comfortable stay close to the centre of Amritsar and was easy to arrange taxis for visits out. The only bad point was that the pool was out of action and looked as though it had been for some time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhdCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel last october.

I have no words to express the amount of dirty this hotel has. The bathroom was not clean when we check-in. The carpet has not been cleaned since the opening of the hotel (1963).

Please, avoid this hotel and your health will be grateful to you.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jlescudero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Although our initial impressions upon arrival at the hotel were good (clean, nice grounds and helpful porters, decent sized room) we were soon disappointed to notice that our room window was absolutely tiny because there was a huge AC unit right next to our room. I would agree with other reviewers that the beds are on the firm side (generally the case in India) and the pillows are pretty thin. Every channel on the TV seemed to have unbearable fuzz and interference too but at least the mini-bar was well stocked, although it wasn't until day 2 we worked out that it is almost permanently switched off and we had to plug it in to the wall!

We were then dismayed and annoyed to find out that the hotel's pool, which I'd booked more or less on the basis of was closed (we had an extra day to kill and fancied a lazy day by the pool) and didn't open until the following week. No apology was given for this by the hotel manager.

The restaurant did however, have a fairly decent complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, which was well-stocked. At dinner-time, there seemed to be a reluctance to let you order from their A la Carte menu, preferring people to have the buffet. After insisting upon menus, the food was decent but unspectacular. Also, we thought it a little expensive by Indian standards.

The reception staff were uncommunicative and ineffectual to say the least, and the hotel manager was seemingly happy to shout and berate his staff (at both reception and restaurant) in front of guests - it all just seemed really unprofessional. They managed to muck-up our taxi booking to go the India-Pakistan border ceremony (we almost missed it) and we had to ask twice to get our passports back.

As one saving grace, at our early morning check-out to get a train at 5.30am, the deputy manager called Amritsar station and let us know our train was running over 5 hours late - I think my face must have been a picture at this point! This delay was made slightly more pleasant by the fact that the deputy manager then dispatched one of his staff to the station with us to help change our tickets to another train (and possibly lucky given the station supervisor was the guy's cousin!). The guy stayed with us for around 20 minutes as he shuttled between various people before finally getting us a stamp of approval from the supervisor.

For the money (£33 GBP per night) I just wouldn't recommend the Ritz Plaza but I don't think Amritsar is blessed with m(any) decent hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murphy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2007

This place is the worst managed place. We booked in advance and on arrival from Sydney on a cold and wet evening were told we did not have a booking!!! The manager was rude and so were the staff. They were unhelpfull and arrogant. My adivce to you is keep away from this place. I have also stayed at other hotels on Amritsar and they are all crap. If you are visiting Amritsar, stay at the Golden Temple, you will get a room for almost free (not the best) but still better than being ripped off by the hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sydneymustang_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews