We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Darbar View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Darbar View
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was the only time in India that I followed the person on the street bringing me to their hotel. It was a clean room and bathroom with a flat screen television. The staff was friendly and I used their taxi service to Dharamsala. Room service was from a restaurant nearby and tasted good. I paid 1100 for an AC room. Perfect location to see the Golden Temple.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Passionfortravel658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    24
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
28
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A stones throw from the golden temple. Lovely helpful people who catered for our every need. They even kept our bags safe till 8pm after checkout until our taxi came. Great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Olliesequerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slave Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Our experience differed hugely from many reviewers. It took forever for the taxi to find this place and i.
'm sorry he did find it, as it was dirty, loud and unsafe. The room was tiny with a thin piece of foam on plywood substituting for a mattress. No hot water of any kind. No safe and we later discovered some money had disappeared. No restaurant although one was advertised. No idea where this so called view was as our room had no window. Staff used the room opposite for loud TV watching. We bailed on our second night even though we had paid for it. It just wasn't worth it.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Let's be clear with a few things. You get what you pay for except we didn't as the room info is not as clear as it could be. We stayed here for two nights.

The room itself (super deluxe) was a reasonable size and the bed was comfy although there is only one pillow each and it is thin and I ended up with neck ache.

Booking.com advertised the hotel as offering twin beds but the hotel doesn't have twin beds. However, they did offer a mattress on the floor for free which was nice.

There was no hot water at any time, morning, afternoon or evening. They advertise 24 hour hot water so I expect it to be 24 hours or at least available in the morning.

There was no safe, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities or hair dryer in the room as advertised and the cable TV did not work as the box did not have a plug on it. The Internet was ok but needed to constantly log in.

This hotel completely lacked attention to detail. I knew it would be the worst hotel we would stay in during our month long trip in India but it was worse than expected.

The noise from the street was horrendous and constant during all hours. Cars, horns, people, dogs, it was relentless. To make it worse, the congregation of staff at reception after midnight kept us awake and there was no consideration for their guests who may have been sleeping at 1am. Loud chatter with the TV blairing out but to be fair when I went to ask them to turn it down and be quiet they did so. However, should I have had to do that? No. In addition, the other guests were inconsiderate with almost every door banging at 5am. It was the worst two nights sleep (I only got two hours sleep the second night) I have had in a long time.

The plus points were the location. The staff were friendly and arranged the taxi collection to and from the train station although at 500 rupees each way it was exceedingly over priced but being two white girls it is easier to pay the hotel to pick us up to avoid the hassle. The taxi to the Wagaha Border was arranged promptly and was great and a reasonable price. There will always be someone who will do things for cheaper but sometimes we just don't have the time to shop about and it is easier to just arrange and pay there and then. I had no problem with the bill on check out. Everything was detailed and broken down with no hidden charges which was excellent. I needed an Indian plug adaptor and the lady pointed me down the road which was very helpful.

They advertised they did room service but when we asked to order something they said they didn't do food. However, on check out they asked if I'd had any room service and checked their food order book. That annoyed me as clearly they did do food. Mind you, if we had not popped out for that hour to wander about and look for food we would not have met Davinder Singh of http://www.tripadvisor.in/Attraction_Review-g303884-d2646248-Reviews-Amritsar_Heritage_Walk-Amritsar_Punjab.html

I have reviewed that separately.

Overall, it's not a bad hotel but just be aware of expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has some very good staff, the people at the reception, the room service folks and the drivers are extremely friendly.

This hotel is very close to the Golden Temple, located just about 100 yards from the entrance, and the Jallianwalla bagh is also at a walk-able distance – about ½ km may be.

The rooms itself is a concern here. I booked a super deluxe room, but to my surprise, the room is just about 8x8 with an attached bathroom. The room is capable of just fitting a double bed and nothing else. They do however have provided a small coffee table, a small cabinet for the clothes and a flat TV mounted on the wall. We had to literally lie down on the bed to watch the TV screen. It is difficult to even walk freely inside the room. The bathroom was decent.

The amount that I paid for the super deluxe room will fetch me some other nice hotels in Amritsar, may be at a little more distance from the temple

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, then choose a super-deluxe room and the one one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinoy_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ella, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was staying with my son 5 years old in Darbar View for 2 night. Very nice atmosphere and friendly people. Very close to the Golden Temple. Rooms are clean and comfortable. we were enjoying our staying in Amritsar with Darbar View.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a holiest hotel I have ever been in a sacred place in India at an reasonable price. The hospitality of front office is a canopy of holy culture of the local people

Stayed from 17th to 19th April 2013 with my parents, wife and my daughter. This is the hotel for every age in a divine place like Amritsar.

Bhupesh Ch Dey
Guwahati.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhupeshcdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 97 in Amritsar
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#24 of 97 in Amritsar
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#28 of 97 in Amritsar
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#66 of 97 in Amritsar
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#53 of 97 in Amritsar
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#48 of 97 in Amritsar
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darbar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darbar View

Property: Hotel Darbar View
Address: Bazar Mai Sewan, Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darbar View 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all the facilities and services one can not expect in such a low price, our rooms are well equipped with LCD, Air conditioning, Mini bar, safe locker, 24 hours hot/cold water etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Darbar View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing