We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”
Review of Hotel Darbar View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Darbar View
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our experience differed hugely from many reviewers. It took forever for the taxi to find this place and i.
'm sorry he did find it, as it was dirty, loud and unsafe. The room was tiny with a thin piece of foam on plywood substituting for a mattress. No hot water of any kind. No safe and we later discovered some money had disappeared. No restaurant although one was advertised. No idea where this so called view was as our room had no window. Staff used the room opposite for loud TV watching. We bailed on our second night even though we had paid for it. It just wasn't worth it.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Darbar View
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Let's be clear with a few things. You get what you pay for except we didn't as the room info is not as clear as it could be. We stayed here for two nights.

The room itself (super deluxe) was a reasonable size and the bed was comfy although there is only one pillow each and it is thin and I ended up with neck ache.

Booking.com advertised the hotel as offering twin beds but the hotel doesn't have twin beds. However, they did offer a mattress on the floor for free which was nice.

There was no hot water at any time, morning, afternoon or evening. They advertise 24 hour hot water so I expect it to be 24 hours or at least available in the morning.

There was no safe, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities or hair dryer in the room as advertised and the cable TV did not work as the box did not have a plug on it. The Internet was ok but needed to constantly log in.

This hotel completely lacked attention to detail. I knew it would be the worst hotel we would stay in during our month long trip in India but it was worse than expected.

The noise from the street was horrendous and constant during all hours. Cars, horns, people, dogs, it was relentless. To make it worse, the congregation of staff at reception after midnight kept us awake and there was no consideration for their guests who may have been sleeping at 1am. Loud chatter with the TV blairing out but to be fair when I went to ask them to turn it down and be quiet they did so. However, should I have had to do that? No. In addition, the other guests were inconsiderate with almost every door banging at 5am. It was the worst two nights sleep (I only got two hours sleep the second night) I have had in a long time.

The plus points were the location. The staff were friendly and arranged the taxi collection to and from the train station although at 500 rupees each way it was exceedingly over priced but being two white girls it is easier to pay the hotel to pick us up to avoid the hassle. The taxi to the Wagaha Border was arranged promptly and was great and a reasonable price. There will always be someone who will do things for cheaper but sometimes we just don't have the time to shop about and it is easier to just arrange and pay there and then. I had no problem with the bill on check out. Everything was detailed and broken down with no hidden charges which was excellent. I needed an Indian plug adaptor and the lady pointed me down the road which was very helpful.

They advertised they did room service but when we asked to order something they said they didn't do food. However, on check out they asked if I'd had any room service and checked their food order book. That annoyed me as clearly they did do food. Mind you, if we had not popped out for that hour to wander about and look for food we would not have met Davinder Singh of http://www.tripadvisor.in/Attraction_Review-g303884-d2646248-Reviews-Amritsar_Heritage_Walk-Amritsar_Punjab.html

I have reviewed that separately.

Overall, it's not a bad hotel but just be aware of expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Purdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel has some very good staff, the people at the reception, the room service folks and the drivers are extremely friendly.

This hotel is very close to the Golden Temple, located just about 100 yards from the entrance, and the Jallianwalla bagh is also at a walk-able distance – about ½ km may be.

The rooms itself is a concern here. I booked a super deluxe room, but to my surprise, the room is just about 8x8 with an attached bathroom. The room is capable of just fitting a double bed and nothing else. They do however have provided a small coffee table, a small cabinet for the clothes and a flat TV mounted on the wall. We had to literally lie down on the bed to watch the TV screen. It is difficult to even walk freely inside the room. The bathroom was decent.

The amount that I paid for the super deluxe room will fetch me some other nice hotels in Amritsar, may be at a little more distance from the temple

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, then choose a super-deluxe room and the one one with a balcony
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vinoy_joseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was staying with my son 5 years old in Darbar View for 2 night. Very nice atmosphere and friendly people. Very close to the Golden Temple. Rooms are clean and comfortable. we were enjoying our staying in Amritsar with Darbar View.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

It's a holiest hotel I have ever been in a sacred place in India at an reasonable price. The hospitality of front office is a canopy of holy culture of the local people

Stayed from 17th to 19th April 2013 with my parents, wife and my daughter. This is the hotel for every age in a divine place like Amritsar.

Bhupesh Ch Dey
Guwahati.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bhupeshcdey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

It's a 5 star for a 2 star price, we enjoye every bit of our stay. Right next to golden temple, durgiana temple is also 10mins walk from the lanes . The best punjabi kesar ka Dhaba is 2mins walk. Helpful staff good location clean rooms value for money. Hotel has airport transfers / border trips equally reasonable price, better than getting cheated by the local auto rickshaws. Owner (Gaurav) has total involvement to keep everything well maintained and makes sure you depart satisfied. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Let's be clear. This hotel is ok because of the position. It is just behind the golden temple and it is into the old city. The room are good size, but not particularly clear as the bathroom. A lot of noisy from the other rooms or from the streets fro 6 am.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#67 of 98 in Amritsar
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#26 of 98 in Amritsar
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#70 of 98 in Amritsar
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 98 in Amritsar
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Darbar View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Darbar View

Address: Bazar Mai Sewan, Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $23 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Darbar View 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer all the facilities and services one can not expect in such a low price, our rooms are well equipped with LCD, Air conditioning, Mini bar, safe locker, 24 hours hot/cold water etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Darbar View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing