We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night (16th July) only but had an excellent stay.

- They had arranged for a free and on-time pick up from railway station.
- We were greeted with smiles by the front office staff and felt very welcome. Also we had booked executive room but were upgraded to a suite
- The ambiance of the hotel was nice, the staff was friendly and service was excellent.
- The hotel houses Moti Mahal restaurant. The food was really good and the buffet breakfast offered good variety.
- Rooms were spacious, luxurious and very comfortable and the washrooms were clean
- Location was good as its very near the railway station and you can easily take an auto-rickshaw to reach Golden temple.

Since we stayed in the hotel for only one day, we did not get a chance to explore their spa or other such amenities.

In case if we visit Amritsar again, we would love to stay in this hotel .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharingourexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

NAMASKAR !!

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback. Your generous indication of our performance will be a source of inspiration to our staff and this encourages us to achieve even higher standards of service.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.
Thank you and kind regards
Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    393
    88
    19
    15
See reviews for
423
207
62
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I did not chose this hotel, it was selected for me by the travel company I used to book a 9 day travel within India - Caper Tours. Well, thanks, Caper India tours, great choice.

Positives:

1- Room: bed really comfortable and luxurious for a 3 star hotel. Bathroom: marble everywhere. A/C cold. Very important in hot India.
2- Breakfast: Nice variety, very clean and sanitary - thanks. As the hotel assigned in New Delhi was dirty.
3- Professional staff: Thanks for letting me stay extra hours without charging me, as has happened before in other hotels. Better to stay in a clean hotel room with a cold a/c, rather than sitting around at the train station for my train to arrive.
4- Computer: free use of their computer for emails.

I would highly recommend this hotel. If ever returned to Amritsar, I would look no further than this hotel. If ever returned to India, I would definitely deal with Caper India Tours. Contact Mumtaz Khan. Very communicative. Great price for a 9 day tour: Amritsar, New Delhi, Jaipur and Agra for less than $800 USD. Included hotels, driver, tour guides in cities, and more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAM487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar!!

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.

It gives us immense pleasure to note that you had an enjoyable experience. The team at the hotel is pleased to know that they were able to meet and exceed your expectations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Amritsar.

Best Regards,

Rajan.
+919216212144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We recently stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. There was some renovation happening at the hotel, so it was quite noisy. However the front office staff were very friendly and upgraded us to 2 suite rooms. The food in the hotel was simply great. Mr. Rajan from the front office was always there to help and ensured our stay was very comfortable at all times. The hotel even arranged for a car in the middle of the night to take us to the hospital as one of us became quite sick.

Overall great family hotel with excellent choice for breakfast and friendly hotel staff. Would definately stay there in our next visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you get the rooms on the inner side as there is a lot of construction noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajashmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar!!

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments and for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice. We are glad to learn that your experience with food & hotel staff was good.
Your appreciation of the food served, the facilities offered and our services motivates us in our endeavor to create delight for all our guests.

Let me take this opportunity to thank you for support and for kind words of appreciation. My team and I look forward to welcoming you again.

Best Regards,

Rajan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Breakfast, room and service is very good. The rooftop area outside needs attention. The roofgarden is poor, no umbrella and the beds not clean.
The main lacking point is a nice cafe inside the hotel.
The only cafe is a sportscafe, no atmosphere and naturely empty. The big screens in the small space are not easy to ignore.
The garden is not made for relaxing. They miss a lounge atmosphere with a couch or relaxing beds/chairs.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar!!

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your eye for detail and will be happy take up your ideas.

Sir the pool side beds you have mentioned are generally used for the sun bath and had removed the umbrellas on guest's demand.
Hotel does have a cafe called "Caffeine" on the ground floor. Th Sports Bar is the drinking bar equipped with screens so that guest can enjoy live matches along with drinks.

We have carefully noted the points you have brought forward and will bring many more positive changes for the guest's comfort.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip, Amritsar.

Best Regards,

Rajan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

They have arranged a free pick up from railway station by hotel innova for us. We checked in three hours before without any extra charge. Rooms are real good, clean and cool. Buffet breakfast was excellent.Right from the beginning till the end everything was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senthil1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar!!

Thank you for sharing your reviews and recognizing the efforts being made to make the guests stay comfortable. It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Team Golden Tulip looks forward to welcoming you on your future visits.

Best Regards,

Rajan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel is a bit on the old side, but the rooms are comfortable. i was there only for the night to sleep.

the room is sleepable, the tv was too hard to get to work so i did not bother.

the breakfast was excellent and a large variety of indian and amercian food was available and the service staff were very friendly and asked me to write comments in the guest register on the food

my experience at check in was ok, but the guy insisted on seeing my passport (and then keeping a copy on the desk) then they wanted a paper print out of the booking which is so dumb consisdering i booked it from the largest travel agency in the world. this annoyed the hell out of me considering i showed him the bookling on my iphone.

luckily i had a printed copy.

then in the morning during checkout the lady asked if i had paid for the room . this was very insulting to me as if they could not check this in their system.

As a result i am advising all NRI's and Americans to avoid this hotel if you want to avoid an unpleasant check in/check out experience.

they dont understand the american way of doing business online They also dont understand the concept of online booking and payment.

avoid this hotel till they get trained staff.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ksm999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar!!

We thank you for your feedback and for sharing your views through the Trip Advisor forum. We are happy to note that you had a comfortable sleep and found the breakfast lavish one.

Whereas the experience at the front desk is concerned i take the full responsibility for that as it's the norm to ask the hotel voucher or mobile message(in case guest is not carrying any voucher) and front desk staff did the same. It's clearly mentioned on the booking sites that guests should carry their valid I.D. proofs and should present the same at the time of Check In. These rules are set by the government for guest's convenience and their safety.

At the time of Check Out while taking your verbal feedback, she hadn't asked rather had told that your Room Rent is already paid only extras are to be settled directly. Sir, here we always claim and sincerely believe that we are working for the guests in order to make their stay memorable one. So, Please don't take my response in a way that i'm trying to back up the hotel staff because here i'm just trying to clarify the things to save the youths from getting demotivated(because of disheartening comments) on the way of working for the guest's comfort.
Here we ensure the guest's stay (from all the corners of the world) a comfortable and memorable one and hope will be able to prove the same during your next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Golden Tulip Amritsar.

Best Regards,

Rajan
+919216212144.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed there for a family vacation last month. Hotel is located at about 15-20 mins drive from Airport and a walking distance from Railway Station. Visited the main attractions all in a day's time, hotel was a good choice to spend two nights. The rooms are clean with nice and warm interiors. Restaurant is also enjoyable, had good varieties for breakfast and dinner. The hotel staff suggested to visit a a temple which likes at a walking distance from this hotel. I must recommend this temple to everyone. It has been wisely made and consists of miniatures from all the famous temples, shrines of India. Must visit this place. Only disappointment was its swimming pool. With its size, it all looked like a bath tub rather than a proper pool. And with the area of the hotel, it seemed to be like over-priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jveenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest ,
Greetings from Golden Tulip Amritsar !!!!
We thank you for choosing Golden Tulip in the Holy City of Amritsar for your stay. We are grateful to you for having spared a few moments to share your experience and appreciation of our product and services.
Your feedback has been shared with our entire team, and they are delighted to know that they have lived up and exceeded your expectations in making your stay here, a memorable experience. You will also be delighted to know that we are coming up with a swimming pool of 6000sq ft all season pool very soon.
Your genuine and valuable evaluation of our performance inspires us to continue achieving even higher standards of service excellence.
Thank you and warm regards
Rajan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,591 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.1 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 97 in Amritsar
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
768 reviews
2.0 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Amritsar

Property: Golden Tulip Amritsar
Address: 8 G T Road | Model Town, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Amritsar 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the leading hotel chain worldwide “Golden Tulip Hotels Group” has set high International Standards world over and proved as a benchmark for other hotel brands as well.Golden Tulip Amritsar is a upscale 4 star hotel offering unique surroundings and décor providing a refreshing experience and exceptional service. All 52 rooms including 4 suites are one of the spacious rooms available in the city and have been tastefully designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Golden Tulip Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing