We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Setting a good example” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Setting a good example”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

What a gem Amritsar is! Initially not part of our holiday, we were persuaded by our travel agent and have no regrets. The Golden Tulip is an exceptional hotel to stay in. Check-in was quick and went smoothly. Sahil at front desk even showed us to our rooms and told us about all amenities. Rooms were clean and refreshing. The restaurant was beautiful and the food good enough to write home about. The Amritsar kulcha we had at breakfast is one of the best dishes we had on our trip.

The bar was inviting and reasonably priced. What was even better was Wifi was free in this hotel!!! We stayed for 2 nights and were lucky to get Sahil at reception daily. He is very knowledgeable and really puts guests first. On checkout we had a few hours and waited in the lobby for our transport as it was too hot outside. Sahil arranged for us to have coffee in the lobby and checked up on us to ensure we were alright.

Golden Tulip is a very commendable hotel. The rooms and restaurant are great but its the service that is exceptional!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us and the services extended by my team exceeded your expectation.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you, awaiting a comfortable and invigorating experience every time you visit the hotel.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    382
    83
    18
    14
See reviews for
408
199
62
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night for our pilgrimage to Golden Temple. The hotel is a bit jaded. The room and lobby needs better lighting and perhaps new lick of paint as well as furnishings. The breakfast had good variety and was of good quality. Service is typical of a three star hotel. Overall, good value for money but a bit of renovation may add spark to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Excaliburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Namaskar

Thank for your Valuable Feedback.
We have noted your observations and shall look into the same.
Please give us an opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Amritsar and showcase the best of our hospitality.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 3 am and had to pay an extra night just to get earlier access to our room. We had asked for 8am check in, which the hotel said they were not aware of., our room was ready but we could not have it earlier without paying for an extra night. Pretty low,I thought. The front desk was pretty rude as well to my mother, even lower. However the restaurant was fab, as were rooms and service thereafter.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penrs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly inconvenience is highly regretted.

As far as this issue is concerned, we had informed the travel agent about early check in charges intimating that our check in check out time is 12 noon and he was agreed on that telling, he'll intimate guests about the same but being professionalized personnel of hospitality industry it was our humble duty to ensure that because of this communication gap whether it was by travel agent or by us, guest shouldn't have bothered for this petty issue.

We are looking forward to have you with us in the future ensuring that your stay will be smooth with us from check in till check out, which we always try to do. Once again sorry for the inconvenience.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a terrific hotel and at a very reasonable price. Rooms are excellent and mu restaurant motimahal serves great food . rooms are spacious ,neat and clean. Gym is good and WiFi is very good and easy. Location is appropriate for holiday travelers.
i loved the small pool on roof top & they have very good SPA service as well.
overall i would say its a excellent property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honey0077806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and reviewing about our hotel.

Our team is delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facility and services, especially the comfort of the room as well as the dining experience at Golden Tulip Amritsar.
.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Amritsar.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I had booked two rooms in Golden Tulip for one night 31st March 2013. 100% payment was made in advance through bank deposit. I had to follow up with them to get confirmation about receipt of payment ( Sheetal wrote to Neha and Neha forwarded the mail to finance and finance replied that they had confirmed the payment receipt couple of days back and same mail was forwarded to me – This itself shows lack of co-ordination among them or they don’t have automated booking system).
The payment was done for triple occupancy including one extra bed in each room which has been also clearly mentioned in their confirmation mail. From the time we checked in till late in the evening we followed up several times for the extra beds to accommodate our children but attempts were in vain and finally we had to go to reception at 9.30 PM and catch hold of people there to get the extra bed in both the rooms however our children were already asleep when the bed was delivered to our room.
Next day morning we wanted to check out early as we had to travel long distance however our check out was delayed as the staff started arguing that we have not made and advance payment and asked us to pay full amount which was also more than the agreed tariff provided in our confirmation mail. He was rude and stating that it is written there in the file that we will be making the full payment directly at the time of check out. I asked him to call Neha and give the phone to me and for my surprise she was talking in sleep and the call was not fruitful. The front desk staff also started arguing that we have to pay additional amount for the extra bed too and finally I felt no point in talking to this kind of low grade staff. I asked him to check the mail but he said it is in system (No match for the behavior of this staff). Finally I had to unload my luggage which was already loaded into taxi for the email print. Now the front desk staff started abusing me stating that it is my mistake that I have not provided the printout earlier (I was just wondering that if anybody provides the fabricated prints, this staff may accept!!).
The food prices are also higher than the star hotels of Delhi or Bangalore.
I don’t have to make any further comments but would like to conclude that ranking given in the trip advisor is not worth for the standard of service and the hardship we underwent during our stay. Don’t get duped by the ratings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

We except the communication gap and sincerely regret for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.
Your comments on the Payment and extra bed issue is taken constructively and we will make sure that in future non of our guest has to face similar issue.

Request you to take it as a exceptional case and Our efforts as a team at Golden Tulip are always aimed towards giving our guests the best facilities and services.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Amritsar.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location Is good. It is just around 3 kms away from Amritsar Railway station and almost same distance from the cities main attraction The Golden Temple. The reception was good. We made a phone call to the hotel a day before arrival about pick up from the Railway station. It was promptly attended to. A car was waiting as a courtesy pick up without any charge.
We can not comment much about the room quality as the hotel was fully booked and we were given a suit instead of our booked room. However the overall experience was extremely good.

Room Tip: It is situated on the main road. No special view on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyban07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us.
It’s inspiring to know your over all stay experience and comments on our facilities and services.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

A quality place to stay and enjoy your leisure time. The room is awesome, very clean and with quality features. The staff are friendly and the breakfast was excellent. The dining room is awesome. The hotel itself is very luxury and very welcoming. The location is good because it is not too far from the city and railway station.

Ushmendra Hardeo, Auckland, NZ.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ushmendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable comments. Our services will only improve, based on your feedback.

We are delighted to note that you found the hotel location very ideal with excellent rooms, services,food and all the facilities.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at Golden Tulip Amritsar.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
5.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.1 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Amritsar

Property: Golden Tulip Amritsar
Address: 8 G.T. Road | Model Town, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Amritsar 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the leading hotel chain worldwide “Golden Tulip Hotels Group” has set high International Standards world over and proved as a benchmark for other hotel brands as well.Golden Tulip Amritsar is a upscale 4 star hotel offering unique surroundings and décor providing a refreshing experience and exceptional service. All 52 rooms including 4 suites are one of the spacious rooms available in the city and have been tastefully designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Tulip Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing