We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Only about 3-5 min drive from Amritsar train station. Very friendly, polite and accommodating staff. The rooms were large, bright and clean. The breakfast choice was excellent, from hot prepared dosa's, puris, idlis and omlettes to cold continental selections. Our son fell ill during our stay in Amritsar and the staff very helpfully prepared a special mild khichdi (mild rice) for him, they also arranged for their car to take us to the hospital.

Location was excellent as only 15min rickshaw ride and then short walk to the Golden Temple as cars/rickshaws not allowed beyond a certain point. We paid approx Rs.80-100 for 3 adults one-way after bartering the price. The hotel does offer a car for Rs.800 that drops you and waits to bring you back.

Be sure to visit Golden Temple by day and by night if you can as both experiences are different.

Wagah (Attari) Border was 30km away (about 40mins drive) and well worth a visit, and its free! Actual ceremony started at 5pm but the lead up music and entertainment started at 4pm so get there in good time to get good seats! Apparently if you have a foreign passport and show it you can get priority seats. Video cameras not allowed but cameras are.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank NorthLondoner101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest

We are delighted to note that you found the hotel location very ideal with excellent rooms, services,food and all the facilities.

Feedback like yours boost our morale and enable us to put our best foot forward. We appreciate your gesture of giving us such good comments, which in turn will encourage our potential guests to visit us.

The entire team of Golden Tulip Amritsar looks forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

763 - 769 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights, found staff very friendly and helpful. Public rooms and our bedroom all in good condition. Large comfortable bed, lots of hot water, an oasis of calm and cleanliness in noisy and hectic Amritsar. Room service very good. Close to Golden Temple and train station, complimentary taxi supplied by hotel to station. 30/40 minutes from border ceremony at Wagah.
Have read other reviews but we did not experience any problems mentioned by other reviewers.
Would happily reccomend hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sintrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time and reviewing about our hotel. Its very encouraging to see such feedback.
It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and our services were to your satisfaction.

We are taking your constructive feedback to improve our services. We look forward to have you stay with us in the future.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The best part about this hotel is the hospitality and welcoming attitude of the staff. The front desk staff were extremely impressive and definitely deserve a special mention. The rooms were rather basic though and the bathroom fittings quite old. The view from our room was non existent with only a brick wall in sight. However, since we were on a short trip and mostly outside visiting the various tourist spots, it did not really concern us. The location of the hotel is quite away from the major attractions in the city but rather close to the railway station and yet is far enough from all the noise and crowd. Excellent for short visits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nycil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

It was our pleasure to host you here and we are delighted to know that our services met your expectation.

Hope you give us another opportunity to regain your confidence on Golden Tulip Amritsar .

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

A welcoming and comfortable hotel good for shortstay visitors. Common areas are nicely furnished. free wifi. Food is predominantly Indian cuisine, well prepared and presented. Comprehensive breakfast buffet and al la carte in evening. Location is not anywhere you'd want to walk to but a short drive from centre and sites. Only concern was our deluxe room was "tired" and much in need of refurbishment - especially the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from front and check when it was last refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest

It was a delight to know that you had a wonderful time at Golden Tulip Amritsar.Thank you for your valuable comments. Our services will only improve, based on your feedback.
We appreciate your gesture of giving us such good comments, which in turn will encourage our potential guests to visit us.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and staff are helpful. The waiters in the dining room are not well trained and service at busy times is haphazard. Our order for six guests was repeatedly wrong. They are enthusiastic but not experienced. The lobby staff are efficient and helpful and the rooms are satisfactory although our bath was showing signs of wear. The description of the spa is somewhat exaggerated.
All in all though a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for sparing time and posting your detailed review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We wish to acknowledge and have internally reviewed your feedback specifically relating to Food & Beverage Dept..
My team ensures that we deliver exemplary service consistently. We apologise for the unfortunate experience faced by you.
Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good location, clean and comfortable. Double glazing on the windows blocked out any street noise which is wonderful as Amritsar can be quite noisy.
Good selection of Indian and international food on the restaurant menu.
A good choice for travelers stopping off for a day or two in Amritsar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

It gives us immense pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.We appreciate your gesture of giving us such good comments, which in turn will encourage our potential guests to visit us.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good location, next to the train station. My partner and I paid around $70 per night and we were not expecting much ($70 in India can go either way). However, we were pleasantly surprised.
The room was clean & spacious. The hotel had an excellent restuarant, the tandoori chicken is a must try and the breakfast buffet is delicious! It has a nice pool upstairs and the staff were fantastic.
During the night it was quiet and heard no noise.
My only tip would be is not to use the hotel taxi as its quite expensive comparing to auto rickshaws and local taxis.

Dont expect 5 star, but it gets the basics done very well - clean spacious rooms, food, wifi. I would reccomend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martapajak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenTulip1, Front Office Manager at Golden Tulip Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on the TripAdvisor.
It was delightful to read that you enjoyed our services and over all dining experience at our Moti Mahal restaurant during your visit.

Team Golden Tulip looks forward to welcoming you on your future visits.

Warm Regards
Neha Kumar Nayyar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 114 in Amritsar
1,222 reviews
3 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 114 in Amritsar
1,863 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 114 in Amritsar
1,189 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.4 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Amritsar

Address: 8 G T Road | Model Town, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 114 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $54 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Amritsar 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the leading hotel chain worldwide “Golden Tulip Hotels Group” has set high International Standards world over and proved as a benchmark for other hotel brands as well.Golden Tulip Amritsar is a upscale 4 star hotel offering unique surroundings and décor providing a refreshing experience and exceptional service. All 52 rooms including 4 suites are one of the spacious rooms available in the city and have been tastefully designed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing