We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, Helpful, Clean Haven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat
Ranked #19 of 143 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Green Acres for a few days in January 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We were a bit ill when we arrived and so didn’t feel like the meal we’d asked for in advance, but Wineet (sp?) was very kind and accommodating, giving us some lovely fresh soup, which made the world of difference, and sending out Moti (a really helpful and smiley member of staff) to buy us some bananas, especially. Green Acres continued to be the perfect place to convalesce and within a couple of days we were feeling much better.

All the food was exceptionally fresh and healthy (many of the ingredients grown on the farm and cooked with very little oil) and our hosts made us feel very much at home. The only thing I would say is be a little careful if you are on a tight budget. Because we felt more like guests of the family than customers (eating meals with the family etc) and because we never saw a menu, we weren’t aware of any of the prices of food or drink (there may have been a price list in our room, but we didn’t look at it if there was). Though delicious, the food was quite pricey, and the cost of the wine was truly shocking (presumably because it’s imported). It was our own fault for not asking about prices, however, and we only mention it as some guests may want to ask about the cost of wine before splashing out!

The haveli has been refurbished to a high spec and was very clean. We stayed in one of the luxury rooms and the bathroom was one of the best of our two and half week trip (clean, hot water, and a good shower). The bed was also very comfortable, and I think there was a small safe for valuables. The only discomfort was caused by the cold at that time of year. Very few places in India have central heating because the cold months are so short-lived, so we were sleeping in thermals and woolly hats! However, Green Acres was the only place we stayed to offer us an electric heater and hot water bottles without our having to ask, and these made a big difference.

We definitely didn’t regret our decision to stay outside Amritsar itself. Green Acres felt like a haven after the chaos of the city, and we thoroughly enjoyed our tractor village safari and helping Javed feed the hens! It only takes about 10 mins to get into the city for sightseeing and Wineet and Ravdeep kindly suggested we call them if coming back late at night to give them the number plate of the taxi in advance for the sake of security. We were also very close to the airport and Wineet drove us there at the end of our stay herself. It was little touches like these that made us feel very well looked after at Green Acres and would make us recommend it to others without hesitation.

Thank you Wineet, Ravdeep, Javed, Moti, and all for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theworldisadewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Green Acres Haveli and Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 37 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Me and my husband visited green acres haveli this December for a quick vacation. We zeroed in on green acres as we did not want a conventional hotel and a farm stay sounded wonderful. This was the best decision we ever took. The haveli is outstanding, the food they serve is better than any other hotel. They really take care of you as a family and we ended up getting much more than we actually expected. Ravdeep and Vineet are wonderful hosts and they did everything to make our stay worthwhile. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to go to Amritsar. It is much better than any 5 star hotels around.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tulip785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had planned a visit to Green Acres Haveli six months back ! It was like a dream come true for all of us ! The Hospitality , The Yummy Home Made Food , the warmth of the Hosts was really amazing ! We all were overwhelmed by the entire atmosphere! I will always recommend a stay for atleast two nights to get the combination of Nice relaxation as well as The Sightseeing at Amritsar !
We wish All the Luck To the Wonderful Family & very friendly staff ! All in all its a perfect ten on ten !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ambarish_hombali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We made a sudden plan to visit Amritsar and were pleasantly surprised by the Green Acres. It is a beautiful, squeaky clean, vibrant and warm place. The food is just outstanding home cooked food. It's got a very ethnic feel outside and yet has the best of modern comforts in the rooms. Just amazing.

The special thing about Green Acres is the wonderful hosts. Ravdeep, Vineet and Jaiveer are the best possible hosts. Vineets cooking is outstanding and the way she manages the family, the guests and the staff is to be seen to be believed. She is a star, actually, the whole family is a star. Super helpful, non intrusive and yet warm, the best of all worlds.

For anyone looking for a place to stay in Amritsar, I don't think you can do any better. We looked at the Ista which is decent but there is no comparison. This place rocks.

We look forward to visiting them again....soon.

Wishing the family all the very best in their future endeavours (including the cake shop),

P.S: don't miss their home cooked food even if they recommend some of the special places in Amritsar. Their food is better than any other place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BhaktaPatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Green Acres Haveli is a pleasant place to stay in Amritsar away of the noise of the city, still within the city limits (around 10kms from the center of the city). Rooms have all kind of comforts and people available at hand all the time to take care of you. Hospitality is unparalleled. Food is delicious and home-made based on your own preferences, with very less oil, ghee, butter, etc for Punjabi standards, still retaining the taste of it. Only downside is that the food is steeply priced, probably because of the personal touch given by the owners themselves.
Backyard is a big garden with lots of fruits and veggies. Good for nature walk. Tractor ride and village tour are the added attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank raghubhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you want to stay in a non-hotel in Amritsar, look no further!
It is a self contained Haveli converted into a Homestay.
The rooms are excellent. Special mention must be made of the food, though - can't get a better taste of home-made and organic food of Amritsar.
Distances in Amritsar are not that great so doesn't pose a huge problem when visiting points of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravichandran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This was my first time with Mahindra Homestays and it certainly won't be my last. Green Acres Haveli was a beautiful house recently renovated by the owner and my room lacked nothing with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The food was delicious home-cooked fare, made from fresh home-grown produce. The family could not have been more hospitable and attentive and as a solo traveler made me feel totally welcomed and at home. So much nicer than staying in a hotel where nobody speaks to you. It is very convenient being only 2 miles from the airport and also close to the city for sightseeing. The garden is very nice to sit in and there is also a shady terrace if you need to get out of the sun

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.5 mi away
Sadda Pind
Sadda Pind
#9 of 98 in Amritsar
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
8.0 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 98 in Amritsar
1,671 reviews
6.2 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 98 in Amritsar
178 reviews
5.5 mi away
Johlz Home Stay
Johlz Home Stay
#13 of 143 in Amritsar
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Haveli and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Haveli and Retreat

Address: 1, Green Acres | Airport Road, Amritsar 143101, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range: $40 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat is a farmstay nestled in amongst fruit orchards yet only 5Km from the city center. The owners have opened up their heritage home and warm hospitality to guests looking for a unique and relaxing stay in Amritsar. Special packages and rates along with variety of activities and excursions are available.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing