We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSPITALITY EVER EXPERIENCED”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat
Ranked #17 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST HOSPITALITY EVER EXPERIENCED”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

had a great time at the green acres haveli this weekend..its a perfect weekend getaway as this place makes u feel relaxed to the core.along with character and charm which the old bricks and the decor reflect..we had all d modern facilities which was not something expected but it turned out to be much better than we had thought..the hospitality of the owner couple is unbeatable.from arranging out pick up to our food everything was so well taken care of by them coz of their PERSONAL TOUCH. i write that in caps as that was the HIGHLIGHT. being from a metropoliton city it is a luxury to be eating every meal cooked in organic freshly grown farm vegetables and fruits...and amritsar is anyways famous for it delicasies and we were luck enough to get all of them straight at the dinning table at the lavish green acres haveli rather than fetching it for ourselves in the city courtesy ravdeep ahuja...from THE FAMOUS AMRITSARI FISH TO TANDOORI CHICKEN,TAWA TIKKAS AND EVEN THE METHI CHICKEN MADE BY OWNERS WIFE WINNIE...THESE THREE DAYS WILL ALWAYS STAY IN MY MIND AS THE MOST SPECIAL DAYS WHEREIN I STAYED AT A HAVELI RATHER THAN A HOTEL AND I WOULD SAY THAT WAS ONE OF BEST CHOICES I EVER MADE THANKS WINNIE AND RAVDEEP(OWNERS)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uday S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2011

On our recent visit from the UK to India, I asked my relations in Amritsar to book a 5* hotel purely because my wife and our friends were concerned about staying in accommodation where bathroom facilities and cleanliness was of a high priority. To our surprise he booked The Green Acres Haveli, which is located close to Amritsar International airport and "WHAT A JOY & MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE WE ALL HAD". A Haveli with a difference....all the traditional landscape and environment, but equipped with all modern facilities! This place is perfect for any getaway and we highly recommend this to all visitors travelling to Amritsar. We certainly will be going back for our future endeavours!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amarjit A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Had a comfortable stay with all 5 star like modern facilities in a traditional set up. The Green Acres Haveli is well located,close to the Airport and Wagah Border . I felt like a king staying in a Haveli ,well guarded with 24 hour surveillance. Was served delicious Indian food , enjoyed the mutton curry,Tikkas with Amritsari Kulcha and Live Barbeque. It was very relaxing to be so close to nature and enjoy laidback time in the green acres, sipping freshly squeezed juices and plum squash. When I got talking to the owner he said there is an added attraction of Bonfire and Punjabi folk songs in Winters , so looking forward to going again sometime in December.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranvir92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

On a recent trip to India we had planned to visit the Golden Temple and wanted to book a five star hotel, but there was only one in Amritsar and only expensive suites were available the night we were to be there. So my friend in Delhi googled around and found this hidden gem. At first we were not sure what to expect given that this property wasn't even listed as a hotel but was charging 5 star rates and there were no reviews.

We decided to give it a chance and am glad we did. This place is more of a homestay / farmstay and all meals were included in the tariff so actually worked out to be a better deal than a 5 star. There was no extra charge for our 4 year old son, and a convenient sofa bed in the room meant no rolling in extra beds.

Quaint Indian haveli setting with a courtyard, lots of open space and fruit trees. We plucked delicious plums that were in season and enjoyed them thoroughly. There was even a play area (swings and slide) where our son played with the owners son and kept happy. Room interiors and washrooms are modern and very clean and comfortable. But took a while to figure out how to operate the shower knobs (water at this time tends to be a little warm during the day so I thought I had turned the hot water tap).

We were only there for 1 day and had to visit the Golden Temple and Wagah Border so didn't get a chance to try out any farm activities other than strolling through the orchard.

Sometimes Indian food can be overwhelming when you're not very used to it. This place had good home cooked food and lavish but not spicy and not oily at all. Though did they have lot of extra fixins like farm grown chillies and home made pickels. Normally we don't eat salad in India but here we got fresh cucumbers, tomatoes and green onions plucked from the organic vegetable garden and had them cut right in front of us. We had dinner together with the owners and chatted with them till late in the night.

Overall an excellent stay ... should be good fun to go there in the winter when its not so hot.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BillySbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.5 mi away
Sadda Pind
Sadda Pind
#21 of 97 in Amritsar
48 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#8 of 97 in Amritsar
1,592 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson, Amritsar Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
6.2 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
142 reviews
5.5 mi away
Johlz Home Stay
Johlz Home Stay
#13 of 140 in Amritsar
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Acres Haveli and Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Acres Haveli and Retreat

Property: Green Acres Haveli and Retreat
Address: 1, Green Acres | Airport Road, Amritsar 143101, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green Acres Haveli and Retreat is a farmstay nestled in amongst fruit orchards yet only 5Km from the city center. The owners have opened up their heritage home and warm hospitality to guests looking for a unique and relaxing stay in Amritsar. Special packages and rates along with variety of activities and excursions are available.. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing