We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #3 of 132 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
114 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel was not easy to find, we asked a lot of people on the street, rickshaw guys.. it's very near to Golden temple, that's why we choosed to stay here.
We stayed at several hotels and guesthouses in India, this hotel's owner has the best attitude toward the guests. In fact, we couldn't sleep well at first night because there was another big family who has some young children and they ran from here to there yelling and shouting on the aisle even 11 in the evening. Next morning we went out to find other hotel near there but we couldn't find any hotel worth than this one, we came back to hotel and told the owner what had happened last night, even we were only occupying one room, and that big family were occupying 6-7 rooms, the owner of the hotel called all the members of big family and told them about the happening. And he arranged the children's staying room to another floor and let us move to the corner of the other floor. Not only the hotel but also the owner was great. Room was very clean and restroom was also nice, Wifi worked very well too. Staffs were attentive and helpful, overall good but we could find staff's smiling was not very friendly, I mean it looked more like fake smile. In the morning we ordered some food for breakfast, food was great too, it seems like they bring food from other place.
I don't really give 5 star but this hotel is worth for 5 star.

Room Tip: rooms far from the stair are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    121
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
128
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Reading all the reviews, we knew that this hotel was right next to the Golden Temple. Hence we contacted them through their website and booked a room for us. Got a nice deal though.
Being close to the Golden Temple we could hop out to the temple any time we wished, however we were more impressed by the cleanliness that the hotel offered. Rooms were nice and cozy and a nice sleep at night was appreciated.
Though we stayed here only for 1 night as it was just a very short visit to Amritsar just to see the Golden Temple before moving on to other places in the country.
It was definitely worth being at this hotel and visiting Golden Temple at Amritsar.
Would love to be there again sometime.
Thanks for the nice time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brown S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I visited Amritsar with my parents for Harminder Sahib Ji's Darshan and blessings. We specifically wanted a hotel right next to the Golden Temple so that we can visit the temple for early morning and late night ceremonies. We were told by our friends that there are quite a lot of hotels around, though we should be careful with selecting our hotel. Hence, we decided to check the reviews around and found this hotel on tripadvisor ranking 1. We then decided to call them on their toll free number to check out the best possible rates that we could get and were very happy with the all inclusive package offered. The owner of the hotel called us himself and offered an all inclusive package with the trip to wagah border, a few other mandir's around and a super delux room.

The hotel was nice and clean, the washroom were neat and the special amritsari breakfast offered along with the package was really nice. The best part about the hotel was the location, literally right next to the Golden temple, as soon as we moved out of the hotel we were at the gates of the golden temple, hardly 30-40 meters, a few steps away, literally.
Most importantly, we felt safe visiting the temple during early morning and late night ceremonies.
Our visits to Wagah Border and other places was really good as well, especially the Wagah Border visit. Definitely worth a visit.

Overall we feel the hotel and their helpful staff played a very important role in making our trip enjoyable and remember-able.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pritha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This property is very close to Golden Temple - the biggest advantage. The property is average. We stayed there for two nights in March and took one suite and one Executive room. The rooms are OK according to the price. Executive rooms are the best they have and are just basic small rooms with very small bathrooms. Suite size is good enough for four adults. Food is average. The complimentary biscuits kept in the room were expired. The roads outside the hotel are very narrow and parking is a big challenge if you carry your own vehicle. The biggest advantage of this hotel is that it is very close to Golden Temple and we were able to have multiple visits which would not be possible in case we had stayed far away. Overall an average experience of staying there but was a wonderful experience of visiting Golden Temple, Jalianwala Bagh & Wagah Border in Amritsar.

Room Tip: Suites are the best if travelling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jain_sandeep74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Didn't enjoy this Hotel much. Reception disorganised and bland. Room was pokey and one of the beds creaked loudly every time you moved. Some hotel guests who were leaving at 4 am made so much noise in the hallway that we both woke up. This loud talk and chatter went on for a good ten minutes with doors opening and slamming. If the mattresses were any thinner they would not exist. Duck your head in the dining room or suffer the consequenses.......breakfast was poor and it seemed as if the waiter was the one we saw cleaning rooms, carrying bags etc so therefore rushed and impatient. I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Is there are good room, I won't be back to find out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The location is very central and very close to the Golden Temple. The staff were really good and the manager is extremely knowledgeable and very helpful. I stayed here for 5 days and was very pleased with the good service.

Room Tip: They also do twin rooms which a lot of the local hotels did not have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam_Singh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, great value, very close to the Golden Temple and great food. The staff is very helpful, and can arrange pretty much anything you could wish for. The rooms are very nice and clean, plenty of hot water,a dn complimentary snacks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twaize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#5 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#2 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing