We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great option in Amritsar and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #3 of 132 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“A great option in Amritsar and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late October and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel and the staff. The location is amazing and once you feel game enough to venture out and about, it is also very close to everything you'd want. The Golden Temple is just around the corner and staying so close meant we could visit it several times a day.
The owner organised a trip to Wagah border and then a car to McLeod Ganj and the prices were very reasonable.
Thank you to all at Akaal Residency and we will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleE215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    121
    39
    9
    6
See reviews for
128
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budingen, Germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Hotel Akaal Residency is not exactly cheap by Indian standards. In Amritsar there are definitely cheaper alternatives that offer the same. We had a double room with air conditioning that worked so well that we got a cold. Unfortunately, it has pretty stinky in the bathroom. But the hotel is situated excellent. The Golden Temple is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AjnaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I did alot of research online to find a good, cheaper place in Amritsar and Hotel Akaal Residency didn't let me down. It is clean, quiet and very well located. The Golden Temple is 5 minutes away on foot. The first time you arrive, it takes a bit of navigation but then you realise that access is pretty easy from one direction. Staff were helpful with booking a car and driver to the border. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carnage99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Apart from the fact that getting to this hotel is tricky business, once you're there, these guys are brilliant. We were a group of 4 and we negotiated everything from pricing to rooms. He was very accomodating. The food that they serve is outstanding.. and above all, the proximity to the Holy shrine is just perfect. its barely takes a 2-3 min walk to get there. The rooms are clean and neat. Overall, a great stay. Must try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RDominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Can't really complain about this place. Mr Singh is a very personable manager and is not trying to sell anything. Food was great, although a little slow to arrive (and the coffee could be better). But these are minor niggles. The room is clean and the bed comfortable. Wifi is in the rooms and is fast. Close to the Golden Temple as everyone says.

Only advice I'd give people that are thinking of coming here. Try to arrange a pick up from the hotel. Taxi drivers say that they can't get to the hotel as roads near the GT are closed to them. That's is BS. They can, but it's a more complicated route and they can't be bothered. They'll drop you about 10 mins walk from the hotel which is quite hard to find when you first arrive.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank twocutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

in first line, i have to shout out a big "thank you" to the team and the owner! with their hospitality and kindness they could even try to run a bigger property or at least open up a successful second place (like this)!

1.) when we arrived in amritsar, we were successfully guided very kindly to the hotel by mobile phone, always in touch with the reception desk.

2.) We were offered a tour package upon arrival, which is too pushy in some places. in this case it's only been friendly because we were told what others usually take and so on. it turned out to be very flexible because we had to shift and they changed the tour date without any extra cost to be charged.

3.) Unfortunately one of us got sick pretty bad. They quickly provided us everything needed and even went out to get us some turmeric powder at local shopping rate. diring our stay, the owners highest aim was to make us feel as comfortable as we could due to the fact of sickness. he and his team never gave us the feeling, that they are bothered by anything and were always on our side wih any question.

4.) we had a few complaints which were solved within minutes after telling them. for example the shower head was leaking all around. the same day every rooms showers head was checked and eventually be replaced. One of the issues with our geyser was solved within 10 minutes.

5.) The fact that there are no windows with view is because the hotel is built in a heritage area (3 mins walk from the golden temple) within a busy alley. regarding this fact and the average crowdedness of this and other particular areas in amritsar, you still have a very good sleep and a good feel within the property.

6.) rooms are some of the cleanest ones discovered in whole of india, with good amenities an nothing, really nothing worn down.

7.) the owner himself is present closely everytime and accessible for any kind of question, never saying no to anything. he's keeping his eyes on everything like a real perfectionist (in a lositive way). running a few businesses, to me he turned out to be a proud but decent and good willing man, very friendly and welcoming.

8.) they offer some pretty good food which is elsewhere cheaper sometimes but worth the small extra cost regarding the fact that suffer from it. pretty clean food as it turned out to be.

while this reads itself like an ad from the hotel, it's not! read other of my reviews and be assured that i sometimes give only one dot due to lacking service, bad personel, etc.
it's this teams and rhe owners effort making me wish that everyone travelling to amritsar should discover this place if not staying private!

thank you, akaal :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pansenfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Hi, We stayed in this hotel for two nights .. good thing is that it is very close to Golden Temple, JalianWala Bag and Local Market .. rooms are OK but not that spacious and their tariff is what a 3 star property should ask but its not a 3 star property. They only accept room rent via credit/debit card and rest (travel/food which is outsourced) you need to pay in cash. Hotel staff is courteous but not that cooperative when it comes to clear bill specially when paid in electronic form..They are just bothered about cash..Manager was incapable of generating an original invoice/bill. You can opt for this hotel only if you have no other choice and want to stay near Golden temple.

Room Tip: Dont rely on your creadit card .. have sufficient cash
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandy_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSAmritsar, Owner at HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear sir
Thank you very much for sparing time to express your views regarding our property.We are sorry we could not live upto your expectations as far as payment to Taxi/Travel was concerned.But try to understand that how it is technically possible to issue invoice for the services which we have not provided to you?We only arranged a Taxi for you travel purpose and were in no way involved in its financial transactions.How could we receive its payment in our credit/debit card transaction.But Sir,you have not mentioned in the review that even then we accepted your payment through card only as you bluntly refused to pay cash .As far as your invoice was concerned we prepared your invoice @1765/ per night for Executive room and you paid in the tune of Rs 6300/(including your Taxi Bill),we have to mend the invoice for 2 days charging even the Taxi in our rent (which is not our prerogative),that was the reason original invoice was couriered you later on.I hope if you visit us next time we will try to provide you best of hospitality services.But at least carry an ATM with you if you need some cash withdrawal.only debit/credit cards are not sometimes sufficient to fulfill your requirements ,not all people are like us who accommodate even your Taxi Bill in Room Rent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#5 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#2 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#9 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#23 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing